We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at a great price”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #35 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed with 2 other friends over the Easter weekend. Got a great deal - about $70 each/night. Hotel room was like an apartment with a kitchen and appliances. We had a double bed and sofa bed - sofa bed wasn't the most comfortable thing.

Service was ok - although they did say they wouldn't be servicing the rooms over the Easter period unless requested which was slightly annoying as you had to do this by a certain time, which we forgot!

As for location, you pretty much couldn't get any better. Short walking distance to everything central! There is this great Greek place to eat on the corner or Russell and lonsdale sts which is open 24 hours. I think it's called stalicites. Nothing flash but GREAT food at a reasonable price - and it's byo.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,350 - 2,356 of 2,593 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Friendly helpful young staff make this a relaxed place to stay. 1 bed apartment had everything we needed and was clean, nicely decorated. Large balcony/terrace overlooking street. Arrived in middle of Greek Festival, lots of fun and PM Julia Gillard & Tony Abbott showed up. (bonus? or minus?) Short walk to David Jones, Parliament House, Chinatown is opposite and best Greek restaurants. So much to do. Breakfast in Mantra's slick new dining area quite good. Would definitely stay again. We got a super deal on their own website.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, but I would go a little higher next time to avoid some strong odours fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philostratus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at Mantra for a three night mid week escape.
We had three adults and two young children and we can't fault the place. We had dinner in on two occasions and were very impressed with the food from room service. It was quick, tasty, and good value and would rate better than a number of five star hotels.
Beds were comfortable enough but would say the pillows were my only negative, very flat!
Apart from that though the location is great and the staff were extremely hospitable and helpful.
Finally the pool is a really great asset when staying there with young children who bore pretty quickly of shopping!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here April 6th to April 9th 2012. This is probably the worst hotel I have stayed at in several years. The mattress was so worn, we were uncomfortable and had sore backs. The noise from nightclubs outside stopped us from sleeping every single night, all night..it never stopped. The room air con was not controlled within the room but from somewhere central, so we were alternately freezing or sweating. The room apartment was not properly clean and things were broken eg safe, extractor fan, lift. The lights were dim and the water pressure weak. Unenthusiastic staff. TERRIBLE weekend, we were so disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Carol M,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I have reviewed together with my team to ensure that we mitigate some of the issues you experienced.
I do apologise that you were negatively impacted during your stay and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you the fantastic hotel and friendly service that we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Booked this hotel from Wotif's no named bargains and was very impressed. Great location and good value for the size of the room. Was fairly clean inside and the bar was quite impressive. Overall not a bad stay for a cheap Sunday night with really good service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H4ck3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed at the Mantra on Russell for one night in January. Was a wotif.com mystery hotel with an upgrade to a one bedroom apartment, was impressed with the room and even more so the price we paid for the room. I would recommend and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lestats_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Chose this Hotel for the location it was on and it was ideal for what we wanted to do in melbourne.
13th Floor but we did face the main street and there was a night club down the road that went to all hours in the morning.But the rooms were spacious but very dark. they have those power saving bulbs in the light fittings and it made the rooms so dark and uninviting. For the price they charge they should go with the brighter lights.
Had a screaming loud noise that sounded just outside our room three times and we complained each time as it was really awful. They tried to tell us it was the water pipes.
Rooms were clean so we didn't have any problems in that department.Bed was comforable. Wouldn't have wanted to do much cooking in the kitchen as it was very basic with plates and glasses etc. Only two of everything.
Found reception was helpful and one young lady put us onto a Cafe for breakfast, which was Cafe Insieme in Little Collins Street. Great full breakfast with Bacon, two eggs,tomatoes, toast $12.00
Best coffee in melbourne.
Just over the road is a Greek resturant Stalatites, and that was good value as well. very busy so could pay to go early.Did other food besides Greek.Steaks etc.
Would stay again here if we wanted to do the CBD again.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the nightclub blaring out at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancescaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#55 of 161 in Melbourne
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#84 of 161 in Melbourne
1,581 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £93 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mantra On Russell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing