We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy, not clean, overpriced”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #36 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Flushing
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Noisy, not clean, overpriced”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our family stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Was very disappointed with the accommodation for the high price we paid. One bath was so small it had just a toilet and extremely small sink. The furniture was not comfortable for lounging around, was very stiff and formal. Everything seemed dirty, kitchen was grungy, the walls were covered with marks and the bathroom wall hadn't been cleaned for a long time. The carpet had a thick ring of grey dust all around the room. When serviced during the day I think all that was done was a towel exchange and the bed made, the carpet never got vacuumed. Internet was expensive so we skipped it. The street noise was very loud and continued on Friday and Saturday nights until about 5 a.m. Parking was a hassle. I honestly can't say a positive thing except the lobby was pretty. Out of a 2 1/2 week trip through New Zealand and Australia this was the worst room, and nearly the most expensive. Skip this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GostateFlushing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMLGM, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us.

We are reviewing with the team your comments regarding the cleanliness and servicing of your room and I can assure you this is not consistent with Mantra standards. Given our very central CBD location we do at times experience some street noise however we will always try to assist our guests with rooms on higher floors if it becomes a problem. Our 2 bedroom apartments have just the one bathroom and a separate powder room, alternatively we do have dual key apartments which offer 2 bathrooms.

Please feel free to contact me at anytime on regan.shawcross@mantra.com.au if you would like to discuss anything further and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Regan Shawcross
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    813
    202
    65
    36
See reviews for
530
637
88
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is very close to everything Melbourne has to offer. I had a 1 bedroom apartment. Whilst the rooms are a little older they are very clean and spacious. The service was great and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely stay here again weather it be for Business or on a shirt break to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocco85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed with 2 other friends over the Easter weekend. Got a great deal - about $70 each/night. Hotel room was like an apartment with a kitchen and appliances. We had a double bed and sofa bed - sofa bed wasn't the most comfortable thing.

Service was ok - although they did say they wouldn't be servicing the rooms over the Easter period unless requested which was slightly annoying as you had to do this by a certain time, which we forgot!

As for location, you pretty much couldn't get any better. Short walking distance to everything central! There is this great Greek place to eat on the corner or Russell and lonsdale sts which is open 24 hours. I think it's called stalicites. Nothing flash but GREAT food at a reasonable price - and it's byo.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Friendly helpful young staff make this a relaxed place to stay. 1 bed apartment had everything we needed and was clean, nicely decorated. Large balcony/terrace overlooking street. Arrived in middle of Greek Festival, lots of fun and PM Julia Gillard & Tony Abbott showed up. (bonus? or minus?) Short walk to David Jones, Parliament House, Chinatown is opposite and best Greek restaurants. So much to do. Breakfast in Mantra's slick new dining area quite good. Would definitely stay again. We got a super deal on their own website.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, but I would go a little higher next time to avoid some strong odours fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philostratus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at Mantra for a three night mid week escape.
We had three adults and two young children and we can't fault the place. We had dinner in on two occasions and were very impressed with the food from room service. It was quick, tasty, and good value and would rate better than a number of five star hotels.
Beds were comfortable enough but would say the pillows were my only negative, very flat!
Apart from that though the location is great and the staff were extremely hospitable and helpful.
Finally the pool is a really great asset when staying there with young children who bore pretty quickly of shopping!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here April 6th to April 9th 2012. This is probably the worst hotel I have stayed at in several years. The mattress was so worn, we were uncomfortable and had sore backs. The noise from nightclubs outside stopped us from sleeping every single night, all night..it never stopped. The room air con was not controlled within the room but from somewhere central, so we were alternately freezing or sweating. The room apartment was not properly clean and things were broken eg safe, extractor fan, lift. The lights were dim and the water pressure weak. Unenthusiastic staff. TERRIBLE weekend, we were so disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, 12 February 2016
Dear Carol M,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I have reviewed together with my team to ensure that we mitigate some of the issues you experienced.
I do apologise that you were negatively impacted during your stay and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you the fantastic hotel and friendly service that we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Booked this hotel from Wotif's no named bargains and was very impressed. Great location and good value for the size of the room. Was fairly clean inside and the bar was quite impressive. Overall not a bad stay for a cheap Sunday night with really good service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H4ck3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#71 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Property: Mantra On Russell
Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing