We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra On Russell
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
The Exford Hotel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Carlton Club(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quest on Bourke(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
QT Melbourne(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,674)
Filter reviews
2,674 results
Traveller rating
1,237
1,049
259
80
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,237
1,049
259
80
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationone bedroom apartmentclose to china townstreet noisegreat place to staycentral locationpool and gymfull kitchenbuffet breakfastbourke st mallfree wifiroom servicegood sizethe air conditioningthe heart of the citywashing machinegreat room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,423 - 2,428 of 2,674 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed in mantra on Russell in the beginning of may 2012.the staff were friendly & helpful when we wanted to leave our bags at the hotel before our check-in time & when we asked for directions.the room had everything we needed & was modern & clean.I'd have no hesitation in staying here in the future for sure :)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaZ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMLGM, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Jimmy,

Thanks so much for your great comments regarding your stay and our staff - I will certainly be sharing this with the team!

Glad to hear you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Regan Shawcross
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here on Thursday and Good Friday on a Wotif deal that saw the room upgraded to an 1br apartment. The location is great....close to some great restaurants in Chinatown and Lonsdale St, as well as being a short walk to a lot of the Comedy Festival shows. (The Exford Hotel is directly opposite....I recommend seeing the "Best of British" show there!!)
The room was clean, tidy and well presented. The amenities in the room would be handy if you were there for a long stay....kitchenette, washing machine, tumble dryer etc
The only downside was the noise from nearby nightclubs on Russell St on the Thursday night....we were on the 13th floor and could hear the music and crowd quite clearly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mafman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMLGM, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thanks so much for your lovely comments and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

The hotel is certainly in a great location, central to most of the city's attractions. As such, at times we do experience some street noise however guests can request higher floors at the time of booking and we do have a Duty Manager on 24 hours to assist if there is a problem.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Regan Shawcross
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have stayed at the Mantra on Russell several times now, and with each visit can notice the gradual decline in the property. The staff are always friendly and helpfull, the location is great, the rooms are just a little average. Double beds in the master bedroom, too small, and the general cleanliness is just average.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMLGM, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Rod,

Thank you for your post and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occassion. We have certainly noted your comment regarding the cleanliness and this has been passed onto the appropriate departments to monitor.

In regards to the bedding, none of our rooms have double sized mattresses. All rooms have either a queen or king zip mattresses so I am a little unsure as to your post. Please feel free to contact me directly on regan.shawcross@mantra.com.au and I can then look into your stay a little further.

Glad to hear your positive comments regarding our staff and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in Melbourne.

KInd Regards,
Regan Shawcross
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our family stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Was very disappointed with the accommodation for the high price we paid. One bath was so small it had just a toilet and extremely small sink. The furniture was not comfortable for lounging around, was very stiff and formal. Everything seemed dirty, kitchen was grungy, the walls were covered with marks and the bathroom wall hadn't been cleaned for a long time. The carpet had a thick ring of grey dust all around the room. When serviced during the day I think all that was done was a towel exchange and the bed made, the carpet never got vacuumed. Internet was expensive so we skipped it. The street noise was very loud and continued on Friday and Saturday nights until about 5 a.m. Parking was a hassle. I honestly can't say a positive thing except the lobby was pretty. Out of a 2 1/2 week trip through New Zealand and Australia this was the worst room, and nearly the most expensive. Skip this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GostateFlushing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMLGM, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us.

We are reviewing with the team your comments regarding the cleanliness and servicing of your room and I can assure you this is not consistent with Mantra standards. Given our very central CBD location we do at times experience some street noise however we will always try to assist our guests with rooms on higher floors if it becomes a problem. Our 2 bedroom apartments have just the one bathroom and a separate powder room, alternatively we do have dual key apartments which offer 2 bathrooms.

Please feel free to contact me at anytime on regan.shawcross@mantra.com.au if you would like to discuss anything further and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Regan Shawcross
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is very close to everything Melbourne has to offer. I had a 1 bedroom apartment. Whilst the rooms are a little older they are very clean and spacious. The service was great and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely stay here again weather it be for Business or on a shirt break to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocco85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews