We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #36 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location but.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

My recent trip to Melbourne was enjoyable but the location of the hotel meant that it was very noisy. To be specific, there is a nightclub/disco that played music until at least 6:00AM and the bass beat was easily heard in the room. Needless to say, not much sleep was had.
Having said that, the service was professional and friendly and the room clean and serviceable (2 BR apartment). However, with the noise issue, I probably will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, 12 February 2016
Dear KBS61,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I have reviewed together with my team to ensure that we mitigate some of the issues you experienced.
I do apologise that you were negatively impacted during your stay and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you the fantastic hotel and friendly service that we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    747
    186
    63
    30
See reviews for
478
576
83
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed in the 2 Bedroom apartment. Fantastic stay!
Rooms were so spacious and well set out. The view was incredible! Had a balcony that overlooked the whole Melbourne skyline. Great price for what we got. So close to Melbourne central and a whole lot of restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed in mantra on Russell in the beginning of may 2012.the staff were friendly & helpful when we wanted to leave our bags at the hotel before our check-in time & when we asked for directions.the room had everything we needed & was modern & clean.I'd have no hesitation in staying here in the future for sure :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaZ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMLGM, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Jimmy,

Thanks so much for your great comments regarding your stay and our staff - I will certainly be sharing this with the team!

Glad to hear you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Regan Shawcross
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
357 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here on Thursday and Good Friday on a Wotif deal that saw the room upgraded to an 1br apartment. The location is great....close to some great restaurants in Chinatown and Lonsdale St, as well as being a short walk to a lot of the Comedy Festival shows. (The Exford Hotel is directly opposite....I recommend seeing the "Best of British" show there!!)
The room was clean, tidy and well presented. The amenities in the room would be handy if you were there for a long stay....kitchenette, washing machine, tumble dryer etc
The only downside was the noise from nearby nightclubs on Russell St on the Thursday night....we were on the 13th floor and could hear the music and crowd quite clearly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mafman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMLGM, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely comments and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

The hotel is certainly in a great location, central to most of the city's attractions. As such, at times we do experience some street noise however guests can request higher floors at the time of booking and we do have a Duty Manager on 24 hours to assist if there is a problem.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Regan Shawcross
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have stayed at the Mantra on Russell several times now, and with each visit can notice the gradual decline in the property. The staff are always friendly and helpfull, the location is great, the rooms are just a little average. Double beds in the master bedroom, too small, and the general cleanliness is just average.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMLGM, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Rod,

Thank you for your post and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occassion. We have certainly noted your comment regarding the cleanliness and this has been passed onto the appropriate departments to monitor.

In regards to the bedding, none of our rooms have double sized mattresses. All rooms have either a queen or king zip mattresses so I am a little unsure as to your post. Please feel free to contact me directly on regan.shawcross@mantra.com.au and I can then look into your stay a little further.

Glad to hear your positive comments regarding our staff and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in Melbourne.

KInd Regards,
Regan Shawcross
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our family stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Was very disappointed with the accommodation for the high price we paid. One bath was so small it had just a toilet and extremely small sink. The furniture was not comfortable for lounging around, was very stiff and formal. Everything seemed dirty, kitchen was grungy, the walls were covered with marks and the bathroom wall hadn't been cleaned for a long time. The carpet had a thick ring of grey dust all around the room. When serviced during the day I think all that was done was a towel exchange and the bed made, the carpet never got vacuumed. Internet was expensive so we skipped it. The street noise was very loud and continued on Friday and Saturday nights until about 5 a.m. Parking was a hassle. I honestly can't say a positive thing except the lobby was pretty. Out of a 2 1/2 week trip through New Zealand and Australia this was the worst room, and nearly the most expensive. Skip this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GostateFlushing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMLGM, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us.

We are reviewing with the team your comments regarding the cleanliness and servicing of your room and I can assure you this is not consistent with Mantra standards. Given our very central CBD location we do at times experience some street noise however we will always try to assist our guests with rooms on higher floors if it becomes a problem. Our 2 bedroom apartments have just the one bathroom and a separate powder room, alternatively we do have dual key apartments which offer 2 bathrooms.

Please feel free to contact me at anytime on regan.shawcross@mantra.com.au if you would like to discuss anything further and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Regan Shawcross
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is very close to everything Melbourne has to offer. I had a 1 bedroom apartment. Whilst the rooms are a little older they are very clean and spacious. The service was great and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely stay here again weather it be for Business or on a shirt break to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rocco85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Property: Mantra On Russell
Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing