We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #35 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on a Saturday night as we were going to the football. We booked the hotel as a Wotif special for $140 for a studio room including a bottle of wine and late check out. The room was very spacious and clean. We were on the 14th floor and still did have some street noise as mentioned by other reviewers however it was definitely not something that kept us awake. As mentioned by other reviewers the water pressure and temperature of water was a little bit annoying but we were only there for one night so it didn't bother us too much! The location is good right on china town and only a short walk to bourke street mall! We caught a taxi to etihad stadium and it only cost $10, on the way back we decided to walk and it only took around 30 minutes. This hotel is great value for money and I would go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank need2travel_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,295 - 2,301 of 2,552 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment on numerous occassions over teh last 2 years.

Mantra on Russell is tucked away on Russell with an unassuming facade. Being cenrtally located it suited me and my wife very well.

We had north facing units on each occassion, half way up the building which gave a bit of natural light and being central to teh building, appears to suffer less from street noise and Chaina town on the south.

Rooms at free internet connection plus tastefully decorated and furnished as was teh bedroom and bathroom.

Had room service when we didn't want to eat out with no complaints.

Breakfast in the resturant was generous with no complaints.

Would recommend you give it a go.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the northern side back from Russell and up high. Melbourne airconditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xlcapris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and found the 1 bedroom apartment to be spacious and tidy! Happy with location, walked to the casino and also the "goal" tour. Staff at the hotel were Great and more then happy to help with any questions. Only thing I can fault was having the shower placed over the bath which wasn't the best otherwise i was very happy with my stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel's location is brilliant. Chinatown and Lonsdale St restaurants are 1 minute's walk away as are cafes and convenience stores.The reception staff are smiling and helpful and the rooms are modern, very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid noise on a Saturday night just ask for a room not facing Russell St. Friday an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateandLob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Our stay didn't have a very promising start. Our room smelled of cigarettes, didn't have a twin bed as requested, and had a dirty towel on the bathroom floor. We immediately returned to the reception desk and informed them. The staff at the desk were very helpful and pleasant. They quickly organised a new room for us. We stayed in a studio apartment that had fantastic facilities. The hotels location is perfect with easy access to the Bourke St mall.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creamcheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at the Mantra for three nights in early May on the 13th Floor in a 1 bedroom appartment with a balcony overlooking Russell St and looking towards Chinatown.
We enjoyed the city views from the Balcony particularly in the evening.

The Reception staff were very friendly and always had a smile,
The appartment was very comfortable, spacious, the bathroom was large.

We did encounter some noise on the first night which was a Saturday but not bad enough to keep me awake - my Daughter said she did not hear the nightclub at all. On the following nights noise was not a problem.

The position of this Hotel, within walking distance to Bourke St Mall probably 5 minutes, and of course Chinatown on your doorstep and the smells were incredible, and it is close really to all that Melbourne has to offer - would stay again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: I did not have a problem with noise and I am a light sleeper. I enjoyed having a balcony which of c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshineqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating, offering an immediate check in despite my early arrival.
The 1 bedroom apartment was roomy, warm and lovely comfy bed, flatscreens in both the lounge area and the bedroom. Fabulous having a washer, dryer and dishwasher. The crockery was a bit light on but I`m quite sure if I`d needed more they would have readily supplied more. I did however find the hot water not so hot especially in the evenings, in fact quite tepid and definitely not hot enough for a bath or shower on a cold Melbourne night.
The Friday and Saturday evenings I stayed here were a little noisy as there are some clubs close by so just be aware if you are a light sleeper, or request a room on a higher floor. The location for shopping is fabulous and literally round the corner from Chinatown.
All in all I had a lovely stay here and room service was great..the burger so yum!!

Room Tip: High floor if you want to try and avoid the nightclub noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#55 of 161 in Melbourne
1,960 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#84 of 161 in Melbourne
1,560 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £87 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing