We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected delight”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #35 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed in Melbourne overnight for a work conference. I have stayed in a number of hotels in Melbourne over the years, and decided to stay here as it was close the the venue. I arrived at the hotel early, and wanted to just check in and drop off my bags. To my surprise the room was ready and so I went up to drop off the bags. A one bedroom apartment, very spacious, good kitchen, large living dining area, nice bed room. The bathroom was a little dated but functioned well. It also had a concealed laundry. I would certainly stay here again. They also have two bed apartments which would be great for families.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    869
    214
    69
    40
See reviews for
574
689
96
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We recently stayed in a two bedroom serviced apartment in this hotel with our two teenage kids. The apartment had everything we could possibly require and it was very spacious and well equipped. We appreciated the extra toilet and the terrace which was nice to step out ocn to check out the views of the City. The beds were firm and comfortable and the pillows were great too. The kids loved the pool/spa and gym complex and that was a hit with them when we took a break. Tne location is perfect with just a short stroll to the Greek cafes and also China Town. In fact there was a lot to do just a short walk away. Our rental car was safely parked in the carpark building next door to the hotel with an internal access between the park and the hotel. We also received discounted parking through the hotel. We did not try the restaurant as there were too many other food places nearby that we wanted to explore. Service desk was friendly and helpful. The weekend was quite busy so prices were not that cheap. However, we could not find fault and would definitely pay to stay here again. The two bedroom apartment gives good privacy with teens who shared a bedroom with two single beds.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

On our first night we stayed at Oaks on Lonsdale, around the corner. We checked out after the first night because our "one extra large double" bed was two single beds joined by a strap and with blankets on top to cover this. Apparently in the whole building they do not have 1 double, queen or king size bed and their staff are very rude. We barely slept the first night!

Nevertheless the next day we checked into Mantra on Russell who were only too happy to provide us with a great deal, a normal queen sized bed and late check out! The staff were very nice and as a result I vow only to stay with the Mantra group. It made the world of difference to have nice service and a proper bed.

The studio apartment was beautiful and exceeded our expectations. I would definitely return and hope to be met with the smiles and friendly service I received previously.

Room Tip: Beautiful staff, beautiful rooms, great value for money A+++
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here again while attending the Australian Tennis Open. Mantra on Russell is a great location and handy to many activities & shops, restaurants. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment with our son, the room was great, clean and the staff were friendly. We used the swimming pool lots and the gym. Overall we were happy with our stay and would certainly come back again when staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have stayed at the Mantra on Russell three times in the last year, with our young kids. It's outstanding in terms of service, cleanliness, and affordability. We especially love being able to take the kids to the pool each time we stay, with it's beautiful sky light glass roof - the kids find it hard to check in and drop off our bags at the room, they just want to head straight for the pool!

Room Tip: We love the apartments, kitchens are well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our 1 bedroom unit on 9th floor was fantastic - clean, organised, perfect. Most importantly the bed was as comfortable a hotel bed that you can get. Attention to detail & friendliness are strong points about the staff at this hotel. Location is great too - very central. A late check-out to match our flight times was no problem at all! Next time in Melbourne we're not even going to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CastellCoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We only stayed here for a night on Christmas eve and was quite pleased with the 1 bedroom apartment.
Very spacious, clean and the location was brilliant.
Although we did have to pay for parking but thought $30 was not to pricey as we were only staying the night.
We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thavy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,737 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,088 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Property: Mantra On Russell
Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing