We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #34 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 5 who stayed for one night in a 2 bedroom apartment. We found it very clean and spacious. The reception girls were lovely and always had a smile on their faces. Breakfast buffet was very substantial. Great location. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Funster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    840
    208
    66
    38
See reviews for
547
663
92
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Doesn't look like 4* rated hotel. The 2 bedroom apartment was pathetic. The kitchen was not complete and too small. The cutlery & kitchen accessories were not cleaned. Even kitchen drawers were kept dirty. The bathroom accessories looked like a non rated hotel. Two bedroom apartment had just one bathroom.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nishjayesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, 12 February 2016
Dear nishjayesh,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I apologise that we didn't deliver a positive guest experience. I have reviewed together with my team to ensure that we identified where we can improve and have reviewed our procedures.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you the fantastic hotel and friendly service that we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
288 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Started here for business, room was nice, clean, had separate cooking facilities. Hotel is in the middle of the good end of Melbourne if you want to go shopping or want to eat, this is an ideal location. Heaps of restaurants outside the hotel.

Shower was over a bath, but high enough for a tall person to stand underneath abd had good water pressure. (One of my musts)

Pros, had fresh iced water in the lobby to drink, great after a long day.

Only drawbacks, carpet in the lifts was very tatty and the ding on the lifts was quite loud and could be heard from the room.

Would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Oren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stay here periodically for business, Last stay was 2-4/6/14 and noted improvements were more engaging Reception staff; both Check in and out were smooth, friendly and professional. Breakfast offering is good with plenty of fresh fruit. Poached eggs are available on request to compliment the cooked buffet breakfast options. Room was clean and well presented with a good variety of teas for a refreshing cuppa. I like the central location too; adjacent Chinatown where there are some great restaurants eg Dragon Boat and is just around the corner from Her Majesty's theatre. I will definitely continue to stay here if the standards are maintained.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubei, China
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I hv a good time here 4 two nights,the services here r quiet good,nd the room is comfortable just like mini home,if u want u can cook urself. nd here has gym so u can exercise very convenient. The breakfast is good 2,next time maybe I ll still choose them

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SkylarYe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff at the Mantra on russell were very welcoming & made our stay very enjoyable, with hints on where to get the best dumplings & a big smile whenever we left or returned to the hotel. Our 2 bedroom apartment had everything we could want & very close to shops & restaurants & chinatown, we will be back next time we come to Melbourne for sure !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On a recent visit to Melbourne to attend a wedding a friend and I stayed at Mantra on Russell.
Although we arrived too early from the airport to be able to check into our apartment we were welcomed very warmly and left our bags while we went to have coffee after receiving a map and hints on where to go.. On arriving back our bags were in our apartment and the staff were so friendly again.. The apartment was great although we were not in it for long periods. Very spacious and clean and close to everything in the city. Would definitely stay there next time in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Higher floors are exellent and some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
1,658 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
1,057 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on the Park
Mantra on the Park
#68 of 159 in Melbourne
1,843 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Property: Mantra On Russell
Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mantra On Russell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing