We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right near China Town”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #37 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Ideal accommodation and location in the city! Close to China town, and QV. I had the one bedroom appartment, which I thought was excellent for the price. Front desk were friendly and helpful and serviced 24 hours. Didn't eat at the restaurant, because there were too many other places to eat in Melbourne that were cheaper! Melbourne is open late at night, so it's pretty hard not to find somewhere to eat! The Mantra is also close to the major theatres, and approx 15-20 min walking distance to Rod Laver & MCG

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KellieJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,024 - 2,030 of 2,591 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Whilst accommodation and location are good make sure you have your mini bar checked before you leave. We have twice been billed for unused items. I don't know what system they have in place but it ends with the customer footing the bill for a housekeeping error. When questioning the account with staff you are made to feel guilty unit proven otherwise, then it's their word against yours. I have recently been in Hawaii. The service EVERYWHERE was impeccable, even at the corner store.....Mantra you have a lot to learn.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kalinda59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Kalinda59,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I apologise that we didn't deliver a positive guest experience. I have reviewed together with my team to ensure that we identified where we can improve and have reviewed our procedures.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you the fantastic hotel and friendly service that we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I choose this due to its central location. Great one bedroom apartment. Excellent breakfast. My only gripe is in this day and age not having free wi fi in all rooms. Disappointing.i hope management does something about this. One public computer is not what people want.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our room as booked had a too-soft bed for oldies with crook backs so we asked and, after trying another bed (same room type) the front desk found a firmer bed for us in a different room type that was perfect. For 4 nights this made all the difference. Located close to lots of great restaurants and cafés lunch and dinner were only a problem in trying to choose. Couldn't be happier. Free newspapers in the foyer and a 711 shop opposite were also really good. Our room on 18th floor facing South was quiet and recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank thorpedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Conveniently located, with nice clean rooms. Rooms are fitted with large screen TVs, full kitchen, whsher and dryer. There's also a gym and swimming pool. It's also in downtown Melbourne and easily accessible to shopping, restaurants and sites.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarakit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

this is the 2nd time I have stayed here but first time in a one-bedroom apartment. Last time was in a studio on a solo trip. This time with my husband and son we found the one-bedroom apartment ideal for our needs. Even with the pull out sofa bed fully extended we still had plenty of room. I found the air-con easy to control and certainly did not find the bathroom cold like a previous reviewer. Our housekeeping also did our dishes which wasn't expected! We were on the 10th floor and did not notice any street noise. We were joined by family 2 days into our stay and found a note from reception under the door telling us they had checked in and what their room number was which I found a nice touch! Great location for us as we ate out in the Greek precinct quite a lot and walked most places though a couple of times used the free tram which we got on a couple of blocks walk away. Well located for the theatres. Also used the pool, jacuzzi and gym. Would happily stay here again and recommend to others. I had seen previous reviews saying it was looking tired but didn't notice much. Our floor appeared to have been newly carpeted as has that 'new carpet' smell!

Room Tip: 1002 was good size one bedroom even with sofabed out - still left plenty of room. overlooked lonsdal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndAkiAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Room was brilliant but seriously Mantra, how do you think you are going to get away with no free wifi in this day and age?

To be honest the room was way above my expectations but it really was spoilt by not having decent wifi especially in s place that is marketing to business travelers

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Niall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Niall B,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I have reviewed together with my team to refine how we ensure that all of our guests have fantastic stay.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you the fantastic hotel and the friendly service that we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#55 of 161 in Melbourne
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#83 of 161 in Melbourne
1,581 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £93 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mantra On Russell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing