We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel on City Circle Tram route” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #17 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel on City Circle Tram route”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The hotel common areas are delightful. The rooms are quite spacious and clean and welcoming. Unfortunately the room we had looked into a multi-level carpark so the natural light was non-existent in the room and we had to go out of the hotel to find out what the weather was like! The free City Circle tram stop is opposite the hotel and very convenient. We enjoyed our stay here but would inquire about having a room with some sort of outlook if possible.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Taraterrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to learn that you found the hotel areas to be ‘delightful’.

In relation to your room and positioning – we do have deluxe rooms available at the front of the property, facing Flinders Street that have an abundance of natural light which maybe more suitable for your requirements.

We hope that on the basis you enjoyed your stay and our prime location – that we can look forward to welcoming you back.


Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    303
    63
    11
    4
See reviews for
60
468
51
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Quirky hotel and not for those who like big swish and glamour packed. It is incredibly well located from a business perspective and small enough to make you feel a bit cosy and special in busy old Melbourne. The rooms are large but mine had a completely underwhelming view of the back alley although it was nice enough decor and fittings to make that less of a concern. The bathroom is a bit tired but still nice with timber floors and plantation blinds. A very good g&t in the bar that was small and personal enough to feel like home was a bonus. Breakfast was excellent and unpretentious with good service and serious sourdough toast. All up very pleasant stay and I am booked in again in the coming month. In summary very comfortable, upmarket and tasteful decor with friendly unpretentious staff, a winner.

Room Tip: Only the front rooms have a view but will be more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

It is so great to hear that you appreciate that fact that we are a small unique boutique hotel.
We can’t really do anything about the outlook from our rooms as we are small in terms of stature and surrounded by tall buildings.

We hope we make up for this in other ways! Great to hear that you enjoyed the bar and breakfast.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nice hotel with beautiful rooms. Hotel was in the course of a "soft refurb" of which we were made aware of at checkin. We had a room towards the side of the hotel facing the building next door so we did not have an outside view at all (making it difficult to even see if it is raining or not outside...) Room was quite noisy. You could hear next door neighbour's water running in the bathroom and the noise of the snooker table downstairs at night... However, the staff were very friendly and the level of service was appropriate. Breakfast even though very pricey was good. You might find better value breakfast in Degraves street just a few minutes down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Flinders street. Sides are very close to buildings and rooms facing west are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ymorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

It is great to hear that you were happy with your room, friendliness of our team and your breakfast experience.

I apologise that you were disturbed by water running from your neighbours room. An issue we obviously need to investigate- thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Secondly I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from our billiards area on the ground floor. We do try to manage this at night as we realise that that not all of our guests wish to stay up late !

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again when you are next in Melbourne.



Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on an "escape" weekend.

We parked in the parking garage next door. The lack of drop off area out the front of the hotel wasn't a problem for us for that reason, but I can see why it would be for others.

The staff were lovely and attentive from the moment our hands touched the front doors. It was busy when we arrived but the staff made us feel like any question or request we had wouldn't have been too much for them.

When we booked online we asked for a quiet room on an upper floor and it is exactly what we got. The vaulted ceilings were stunning. We loved that there was a small petition at the end of the bed so that there was a TV area (hubby relaxed and watched sports). I lounged on the extremely comfortable bed and read on my kindle. When I finished the book I was reading I was able to head down to the lobby and use their free WiFi to download another.

The hotel was a comfortable walking distance to Federation Square, Swanson Street and other areas of interest to us when we weren't enjoying lying around our room. It was 40c outside when we visited so returning to a cool and comfortable room was a blessing.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room so that you are given one on the side of the hotel away from the parking garage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellalika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Lindrum for ‘your escape weekend’. I am really delighted that we lived up to your expectations.

It is a pleasure to hear that you found the service to be attentive from the moment you arrived.

It is also great that you enjoyed the features of your room and the hotel in general. It is hard to believe that it was actually 40 degrees. We are now back in the low 20’s! Typical Melbourne !

We look forward to your return visit when you next “escape”.

Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Personalized service at this gem of a boutique hotel makes it stand out. From the moment you enter, the warm friendly service is a notch above other establishments. Great location for proximity to Collins St and the bars and restaurants of Flinders Lane. The foyer, restaurant and sitting room are great spaces with high ceilings and interesting decor. Some might say it is becoming slightly shabby chic, fair perhaps for the rooms, but I'm told they are being slowly refurbished. (I was told this on check in as a preemptive apology for any noise - there was none). The rooms are large, again with high ceilings which gives a nice sense of space. The bed was comfortable, a queen only and the bathroom also well sized. The only thing that was small was the TV but that hardly matters. Lovely toiletries, great linen and friendly but slick service adds up to a nice choice. Watch for some noise on the first floor from the mezzanine style architecture.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback!

Just to clarify we are in fact in the middle of a rooms refresh which will be completed by early December. We have had no noisy works which is positive.

It is also great to hear that you appreciated the detail of the toiletries and the linen.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,165 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 26 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing