We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed at thhe Park Hyatt for one night in one of the Club King rooms. From the moment of arrival the service was warm and welcoming, the room incredibly spacious and well maintained. My observation was that the staff were very helpful to everyone, happy to provide information and advice and definitely placed customers first. The Club lounge on the 19th floor is beautiful with amazing views of the city skyline. A great place to relax with a coffee and the paper. Dinner and drinks at Radii were excellent. I will definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akrmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post some comments on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to read your "glowing" comments about our hotel! We strive for excellence so comments of this nature are always appreciated and indeed are shared with the entire hotel team. We would be delighted to welcome you back and in my writing to you, you now have all of my contact details. The latter of which I trust you'll use when you decide to return. Just let me know!

I write this trusting you are well.

Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
East Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,445 - 2,451 of 2,771 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay in Melbourne. It's position close to the top end of Collins St and the Fitzroy Gardens is ideal. The hotel has a charmingly "art deco" foyer area and the rooms are very nice indeed. My husband and I have stayed here for the last 3 Easter breaks and can't fault a thing. A bonus - It's close to some great Melbourne restaurants - one which must be named is Cumulus in Flinders Lane - an absolute must visit. The only criticism I have of the hotel is the main restaurant but with so many wonderful places to eat in Melbourne, that doesn't create a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marg_loomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post some comments on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to read your positive words about your recent visit to Park Hyatt Melbourne.
That said it seems that while you were happy with most aspects of our hotel, we failed to meet your expectations with regards to our restaurant. I would be happy to discuss this further with you should you wish to contact me. My details are all listed below.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne and look forward to doing so.

Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
East Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This hotel has contract with hospital. Mothers who just had a baby come and stay at the hotel. So can hear baby cry all night. Doors open and shut (very loud in middle of night) all night.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yushunlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post some comments on Trip Advisor.

I was most concerned to hear that you left the hotel with such negative comments. It was unfortunate that your room was allocated where it was. I can assure you that this is not common practice and that should you return your room would not be in that area of the hotel. I hope you would be prepared to trust me on this matter and that you will give us another try.

Please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can personally look after you. My details are all listed below.

Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
East Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We chose the Park Hyatt because we needed to be at the MCG in the afternoon and at the Comedy Theatre in the evening and the hotel was centrally located to both. They also had an Easter package on offer that appeared to be good value and included an Easter egg. It was a fabulous choice.
The room was spacious with views towards the MCG. The bathroom had a large corner bath, large shower, double vanity and separate toilet. There were plenty of toiletries and good quality tea & coffee. It seemed that a lot of thought had gone into what was provided in the room.
Our Easter egg arrived while we were out in the afternoon and was much appreciated.
Every staff member we interacted with was friendly and helpful.
The room service dinner was delicious, as was the breakfast the next morning.
Our only regret was that we were only booked in for one night!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NesseiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I’ve stayed at the Park Hyatt Melbourne a number of times – it always impresses.

Whether it’s at check-in, breakfast (full marks to the chef), or dinner at the Radii - the staff’s professionalism & friendliness is second to none.

Many years ago, attending a book launch by an ex-Prime Minister in the Ballroom, Paul Keating began his speech by saying “What a Magnificent Hotel” - exactly!

Room Tip: Make sure you enjoy the Swimming Pool & Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed over the queen's birthday long weekend. I know from booking the hotel was very full but never felt crowded. There were a number of weddings and conferences but due to the conference areas being below the lobby and having their own entrances it did not feel like hundreds of people were coming and going.
We stayed in 2 deluxe club rooms which at 60 sqm were very spacious. Despite the hotel being almost fully booked our 2 rooms were adjacent, as requested. Access to the club lounge was very good value for a family of 5. Evelyn was a delightful and friendly hostess for the club lounge. Once again, there was always plenty of seating.
Despite not being a huge fan of indoor pools, the Hyatt's one is very lovely. Bonus marks go the hotel for allowing us a late checkout on the holiday Monday as we were delayed with the volcanic ash closure of Melbourne. Qantas keeping us on hold for an hour when they had texted us to ring them was not so great. I understand they had thousnads of people to contact but at the very least they should give you a position in the queue so you can decide whether to hold or not.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazb065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I don't mean "Not in the CBD" as a negative. Its still walkable to the city and closer to the MCG and sports precinct. The benefit is that its beautifully quiet and serene. We were very lucky to nab the Park Hyatt with a 5 star mystery choice on Wotif. Its a fabulous hotel, all old school cool and class with heaps of marble and wood. The rooms and bathrooms are exactly what you'd expect from this level of hotel, terrific.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,690 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,392 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 162 in Melbourne
4,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,254 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £169 - £575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambiance and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 guestrooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning radii restaurant & bar, the vibrant Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 22km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. Park Hyatt Melbourne is also ideally positioned just steps from Parliament Station and Melbourne's free tram zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing