We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious Luxury in Wood and Marble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Dix Hiils, NY
Level Contributor
225 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Spacious Luxury in Wood and Marble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

The Park Hyatt's location worked well for us. It is convenient to all the city's attractions yet it's somewhat tucked away from the main action. The hotel's design is a bit retro, with cherry wood and marble in abundance throughout the common areas and rooms, yet it works extremely well. Our rooms, perhaps upgraded by our travel agent, were extremely large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was among the best we've encountered. Service was generally very good, though the main restaurant was closed for renovation during our visit and the dinner service provided in the lobby area wasn't quite as strong as we'd expect from such a wonderful hotel. All in all, this was a great choice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JLTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear JLTP,
Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed our property location, along with our spacious guest rooms. Unfortunately Radii Restaurant was closed for one week in January due some annual maintenance that was undertaken - I apologize for any inconvenience caused.
I do hope Park Hyatt Melbourne can accommodate you during your next visit to Melbourne, and you can experience our signature restaurant, Radii.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,774
    452
    136
    75
    35
See reviews for
336
1,072
155
659
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent a week here, over Christmas in a Club floor room overlooking the MCG. The room itself was lovely with plenty of space, a huge walk-in wardrobe and bathroom with separate shower and bath. Special features included a working log-effect gas fire in the sitting area and a TV in the bathroom.

The Club lounge was delightful with the best team in the hotel. On learning one of us needed gluten-free options, they organised a special plate of sandwiches or salads for each evening's cocktail hour and were absolutely charming. We were very touched by the care they took to make sure they could point out which of the various treats on offer were gluten-free.

The breakfasts were a mix of buffet with made to order egg options at the egg station. For me, this is the perfect combination. You don't have to wait as long as a table service and can supervise how the eggs, omelettes, etc are made. We enjoyed reasonable service here, though the waiting staff were not as friendly as in the Club lounge. The chefs however, were very friendly and responsive.

We were surprised at how little effort had gone into creating a Christmas atmosphere, given everyone staying over that period was away from home. A few trees in the public rooms, Christmas music in the lifts for 2 days and that was it apart from a small but beautifully presented plate of Christmas themed treats delivered to the room on Christmas Day.

What rather spoilt the whole experience was the inability of requests to be carried through. We ordered a gluten-free picnic to take to the Test match (knowing there might be nothing on offer in the ground), but this request was lost, and the initial response to this failure was fairly inadequate, quite spoiling the hour or so leading up to going to the Boxing Day test match, which was the reason for our visit to Melbourne. In the end, after some stiff communication, they made up (and comp'ed) an enormous picnic basket and drove it over to the ground mid morning. However, while well-intentioned, this didn't really meet the requirements. Like most stadia, the MCG does not allow alcohol, glassware, knives etc into the ground. So all this had to be removed, leaving us to eat our picnic items with our fingers. You try and eat sloppy salads, creme caramels, etc without utensils.... We then had to carry this enormous basket back to the hotel on foot. So A for intent and E for thoughtfulness. You'd think a hotel within 15 minutes walking distance of the MCG would know how to cater for someone attending a match there.

For day 2, we asked them to provide far less food in a small cool bag with plastic cutlery - but we got another wicker basket, no cutlery and more sloppy salads...

These and a couple of other failures to follow through on simple requests (like please bring down the luggage) were the only blemishes on an otherwise delightful experience, so I would probably return, especially, if they have made a note to take more care...

Room Tip: High up is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerkhamstedJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear BerkhamstedJules,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback following your stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful property, and once again we apologize for the miscommunication whilst you were staying at the hotel. We have taken this matter seriously, and spoken with the relevant employees in regards to the communications breakdown.
Thank you for staying with us during the Ashes series, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our all-too-short stay at the Park Hyatt. All staff were warm, friendly & helpful, from telephone reservations to valet parking to front desk to room service to pool/spa staff to housekeeping to doormen. Perhaps the 'insert your key to unlock the lift buttons' thing could have been explained, but we worked it out pretty quickly.

The room was big, beautiful, clean, & quiet, and had everything we needed & then some. Very comfortable bed & the sheer excess of pillows is wonderful. The bathroom is fabulous, with soft robes, loads of crisp, fluffy towels & toiletries that are, of course, totally 'steal worthy' .

Room service was not any more expensive than going out for dinner. The 3 of us ate for about $65 but we did choose very carefully & stayed away from premium items 'from the grill' etc. It came up HOT and quickly, and not under those awful, sweaty stainless steel (or even worse - plastic!) covers but in a mobile hot box that became our dining table, complete with linen cloth & napkins, and fine china. It was also very good quality. We passed on breakfast as it seemed very expensive.

Pool/spa is gorgeous, and my one negative would be that if you have any disability or injury it is maybe not the easiest pool to get in/out of as it has footwells & handrails in straight walls rather than steps or a beach entry (the spa has steps).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJ_RKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear GJ_RKT,
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at our property earlier this month.
Your comments are appreciated and I will share them with the team. You have raised some points we will discuss further, to assist us in providing improved customer service.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stopped here to see the Lions tour in June. The hotel was fabulous. The rooms were modern and comfortable. The spa and swimming pool were excellent. We also had massages at the spa which were of high quality and much needed after long flights.
The location of the hotel was very good for being quiet but giving easy access to the city.
Only downside was a bit of a mix-up on our arrival. We had deliberately booked the room for the night before although we would arrive early the next day. We wanted to be able to get in our room when we arrived early in the morning. They had us down as a no-show but pulled out the stops to get the room ready when the mistake was realised.
Overall a very good hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahHongKong_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear SarahHongKong_40,
I appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback, and I apologize for the mis-communication upon your arrival at the hotel. It was pleasing to hear the team was able to immediately rectify the matter to ensure you enjoyed the hotel location and hotel facilities.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne next time you visit Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Always a great experience when I stay here. Very friendly staff, great location and immaculate rooms. The beds are comfortable and the rooms quiet. Great blinds and curtains that block out all the light. Great toiletires and always plenty of towels etc. Ihave stayed in suites and rooms and all are fantastic and very luxurious.

Room Tip: choose a room away from the lifts if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwigurl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Kiwigurl2014,
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in October. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Living just outside of Melbourne, I do not get to stay at Melbourne Hotels all that often but a business trip called me in and resulted in 2 nights in early December. A great location , walking distance to shops, theatres and restaurants, near the top end of Collins street, but off the street in a quiet location say from traffic. Rooms are first class, extremely roomy, with a magnificent bathroom and dressing room. The little touches count for me and the Nespresso coffee machine in the room was one of those. Price wise quite reasonable , especially when compared to other lower standard establishments for similar money but nowhere near the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Westgippsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Steve_Westgippsland,
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the Park Hyatt Melbourne whilst on a business trip. The hotel is also ideally located for leisure travel, and in close proximity to the top end of the city and major sporting venues.
I am glad you enjoyed this great property, we will see you again.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We were hoping for a room on a higher floor, considering the price we paid, but were happy with the room anyway.
It is very luxurious. The pool, spa, sauna and steam room were outstanding. The service was spot on, and the location is quiet and right next to Fitzroy gardens. Can't fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Perfect place to splurge and enjoy a romantic weekend away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Gayzla,
I appreciate you providing your feedback following your stay at our hotel. It is pleasing to read you took advantage of the hotel facilities during your stay, and enjoyed our great location.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne, when you next visit Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Park Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambiance and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 guestrooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning radii restaurant & bar, the vibrant Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 22km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. Park Hyatt Melbourne is also ideally positioned just steps from Parliament Station and Melbourne's free tram zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing