We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My NEW Favourite Hotel in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #10 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

During previous trips to Melbourne we had stayed at the Hotel Windsor, however this time we thought we would try somewhere different, to see how it would compare. The Park Hyatt had been recomended to us, and so we arranged to stay on a long weekend.

We were not disappointed.

From the personal greeting (Good evening Mr P and Ms D) as we disembarked from the taxi, we knew that this was going to be something special. The check-in was quick and easy, with a good excplanation of the services available to us.

We were taken to our room and were very pleasantly surprised at the luxurious appointements that awaited us. Along with the usual fluffy robes, high quality toiletries and extensive mini bar, there were 'special items' such as slippers, a coffee machine, a huge bath, and a tv in the bathroom!

The furniture was of high quality and provided a good level of comfort. We did not have much of a view, but that did not bother us at all, as there was so much to like about the room, the service and the entire package.

The location is superb, giving you walking access to the usual attractions in Melbourne, and there are several small supermarkets/convenience stores near by to purchase supplies for the room.

Other reviewers had mentioned the bells fromt he nearby church on a Sunday morning, but we did not hear them at all, in fact there was little in the way of noise at all from our room on the 12th floor.

All in all, our stay at the Park Hyatt was fabulous and I would highly recommend this Hotel to any traveller. It offers luxury at an affordable price.

We will be staying here again when wee visit Melbourne later this year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunkey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Bunkey01,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback following your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne in June.
I am glad to hear that you have found your new “Favourite Hotel in Melbourne”, and the team assisted in making your long weekend enjoyable. Your comments are greatly appreciated by the Park Hyatt Melbourne team, and we appreciate your recommendation to Trip Advisor travelers.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne later this year.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,078 - 2,084 of 2,921 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location near fitzroy gardens and Parliament House- very comfortable rooms with large bathroom and walk in robe. Lovely lobby bar area and also a nice bar downstairs in the restaurant. Concierge is always friendly and helpful. Great gym, spa and pool. Only gripe is that I always seem to have to remind staff to ensure the paper is delivered each morning. Room service meals are always good quality.

Room Tip: Best to be away from end of corridor as it can be a little noisy if guests return late at night or l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz_camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Oz_camper,
I appreciate the time that you have taken to share your thoughts following your stay in May 2014.
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel and the hotel’s facilities. I apologize for your newspaper not being delivered during your stay, and will share your comments with the team. Thank you for the feedback about the service provided by the Concierge service, these will be passed on to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Classic hotel, situated in a very quiet area of Melbourne - with amazing rooms and bathrooms, although they are becoming slightly dated now. I stayed here and used Hyatt points, therefore my room was free, consequently (I believe) I was put into a room basically looking out at another wall / another room - a few meters away, with no view. Didn't really bother me too much, previous visits I've had some great views out over the cathedral etc. Have stayed here 3-4 times now, always lovely, great pool, steam room and sauna for relaxing. Staff are helpful, yet invisible (the best in my opinion).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HumberAdmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Adam M,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities offered at the hotel during your stay.
Thank you for your loyalty to Hyatt, I am glad you were able to redeem a complimentary stay via your Goldpassport Membership. In future, please advise our Front Office team of any requests in regards to room views, and we will make every effort to meet your request.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The king room is comfortable and the bed sufficiently supportive. Breakfast was fantastic with good service. Criticisms include a cold(ish) room where the thermostat wasn't working so well and low water pressure in the shower.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Andy O,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne in June.
I am disappointed to hear the thermostat was not working and the water pressure in the shower did not meet your expectation during your stay. These comments will be followed up with the team and be addressed. In future, please advise our team of any concerns during your next stay, so we are able to address them immediately.
Your comments about the comfortable king room, sufficiently supportive bed and superb breakfast service are much appreciated and will be passed onto our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the near future.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here so many times while traveling through Melbourne, I thought it was about time I give them a review. This place is top notch. Every detail has been considered in the making of this gem. Whether you're their on business or pleasure, it will not disappoint.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Andrew L,
It is great to hear that you consistently enjoy a “top notch” experience when staying at our hotel.
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that each stay has been as enjoyable as the last, and you appreciate the excellent service the team provide to our guests.
Thank you for supporting the Park Hyatt Melbourne, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights on a long weekend. Hotel is located centrally and with good amenities. Breakfast spread with good selection of continental and cooked items. Club lounge on the top floor with nice views of Melbourne, small breakfast selection and canapes daily from 6-8 (can get real busy).

Staff at the front desk are superb, helped with car rental, driving directions, restaurant recommendations, sightseeing ideas etc Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear KA62,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne in June over the long weekend.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the accessible location of the hotel, along with the breakfast selection offered and the canapés in the club lounge. It is great to receive your feedback regarding our Front Office team, I will be happy to share your experience and comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend recently and found the whole experience just fabulous. Would highly recommend to couples as a great place to stay. The restaurant at the hotel is also great. We will certainly be back next time in Melbourne

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Robyn E,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your generous feedback following your recent stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne. Your recommendation is highly appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne next time you visit Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,975 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,571 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,086 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £159 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambiance and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 guestrooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning radii restaurant & bar, the vibrant Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 22km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. Park Hyatt Melbourne is also ideally positioned just steps from Parliament Station and Melbourne's free tram zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing