We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful classically grand hotel - quiet location, spacious rooms, excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful classically grand hotel - quiet location, spacious rooms, excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Although I left Melbourne more than 10 years ago, it was my home town of nearly 30 years, so when I travel there for work and do not stay with relatives, I am very selective as to where I stay. The Park Hyatt has always been my husband's preferred hotel in Melbourne when he travels there - last year we chose to stay together at the Westin which we both thought was fabulous, so I wasn't sure what to expect on my first stay here at the Park Hyatt (the venue for which I was attending a work meeting).

The location of the Park Hyatt is great - it is in a quiet upmarket pocket of the CBD, adjacent to the Fitzroy Gardens and across the road from the cafes of Little Collins St, and easy walking distance to the shops of Collins St, Bourke St etc. The hotel itself has beautiful grand decor, although its classical look is starting to look a touch dated in some areas - housekeeping & maintenance is immaculate though and about the only thing I would suggest is that a change of carpet in the corridors & rooms soon would probably be all that's required to lift the decor a little. The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly & courteous.

At check-in I was delighted to be informed that I'd been upgraded to suite 1247 & was granted a 12.30pm check-out. The suite was on the 12th floor, facing north over the church with plenty of natural light, consisted of a separate living area with gas fire, huge bathroom with separate toilet, and a large dressing room. It was a lovely spacious suite, and to be honest, for all the 5-star hotels we have stayed in, it had one of the biggest hotel bathrooms I have come across! Whilst I am not a fan of white marble, it did look grand & luxe!

Features included:
- Beautiful gas heater in the living room
- Dimmable lighting in all rooms
- Flat screen TVs - living room, bedroom, bathroom
- Large dressing room with safe
- Divinely comfortable bed & pillows a plenty
- Nice amenities

Unfortunately, the breakfast looked absolutely sensational, but I didn't get to enjoy it. I ordered it at 8am, I rang to query it's late arrival at 8.40am and then when it finally arrived at 8.55am, I was running out the door for my 9am meeting, so had to leave it sitting there uneaten. By the time I arrived back in the room at noon for the lunch break, it was cold and far less appetising than what it would have been at 8.30am. Disappointing for a luxury business hotel.

Overall, it was "an ALMOST perfect stay"….. if not for the mishap with my breakfast order. Judging by the otherwise high level of service, this would appear to have been an isolated unsatisfactory event, and had it not occurred, my stay would have been perfect...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear CarKri02, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback following your stay at our hotel. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay.
I am however disappointed to read your comments regarding your breakfast order and ask that you email me with some more details on melbourne.park@hyatt.com so that we can look into this further.
Yours sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,775
    452
    136
    75
    35
See reviews for
336
1,073
155
659
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel needs a good make up! Great position, great pool, nice art-deco' interiors, nice bathrooms with T.V. integrated in the wall above Jacuzzi bathtub but average service, average food and over- used rooms. I hope they will undergo very soon some renovations. It deserves them.

Room Tip: Rooms facing South have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuela883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Emanuela883,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne, I was disappointed to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
Should you wish to contact me to discuss further, please feel free to call me or email me on melbourne.park@hyatt.com.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at Park Hyatt Sydney last year and thought it would be fun to check out Melbourne's version when we had a weekend down there recently.

In short, we were really impressed. I think it is really the staff that bring the place over the line. They were constantly a source of delight; everyone we dealt with provided excellent and friendly service, from the concierge to reception to the Park lounge to the room service.

The place isn't as shmick as the Grand Hyatt given it is a little bit dated, but given the age we were really impressed with how clean and well-kept everything was. We had a Park King Club room I think it was called; huge! It was well and truly a suite by the standards of other hotels! It was laid out well and was super-cosy, especially with the gas fireplace.

Being on a club floor, we had the free continental brekkie, but if you wanted to upgrade to the full hot buffet it was a mere $8 extra per head which I thought incredible value.

The 6pm-8pm drinks were lovely too, exactly what you would expect and comparable to other hotels of this standard.

All in all it's a wonderful hotel, yes about ten years old so not brank spanking fresh, but excellent all the same. Wonderful Hyatt service.

Room Tip: King Club Room - it is huge and has a gas fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisOutwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear BrisOutwards,
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to read you enjoyed our property and the services offered with a Park Club Room. Our Club Lounge offers great views of Melbourne and provides a good opportunity to relax.
Your appreciation of our customer service will be shared with the hotel team, and we look forward to seeing you again at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The rooms at the Park Hyatt are large, mattresses and pillows are very comfortable and the bathrooms are terrific, with a great shower and with two sinks. The location is perfect. The hotel is central but not right in the heart of the shopping, restaurant area. Close to subway station and the on/off bus. The staff are very helpful and suggested wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Nexi1,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your stay last month.
Your comments regarding our friendly staff and great location are appreciated by the Park Hyatt Melbourne team.
Thank you for your positive feedback, we look forward to you returning to Park Hyatt Melbourne next time you visit our great city.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Have stayed here on business & with my family on a few occasions & am never disappointed.
Cheap sparkling wine & chocolates on arrival.. It's possibly the best hotel in Australia, although I'm told the 'Richardson' in Perth is great..

Everything you'd expect from this iconic brand, I would have given it 5 Stars, although my only slight criticism would be be that I reported a minor problem to the reception & I never heard anything more!!?

Could be really great, just need to be consistent in everything..!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philjc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear philjc_12,
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay, we appreciate you choosing Park Hyatt Melbourne whilst staying in Melbourne.
I do apologize for your minor problem not being rectified during your stay. This is not acceptable in our property and your feedback will be discussed with the team to ensure this does not happen in future.
Thank you for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne next time you visit Melbourne.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Enjoyed a two night stay recently. Staff and customer service as expected for a Hyatt hotel - excellent. Convenient location near Parliament House and Fitzroy Gardens. Close to the tram and subway stations. Walking distance to all your needs and the Melbourne CBD. Comfortable room and everything you need for a pleasant stay. Enjoyed the pool and spa facilities - a welcome relief after two long days out and about exploring Melbourne. Recommended for those that enjoy the lush gardens of a big city..

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road facing the Cathedral. The bell ringing may annoy you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear phillc26,
Thank you for sharing your relaxable and enjoyable experience following your recent stay with us.
Park Hyatt Melbourne provides an ideal location for its guests, and our staff continually strive to ensure your stay is pleasant and enjoyable.
We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to you returning to Park Hyatt Melbourne when you next visit Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The staff and facilities were excellent. Spa area and massage treatment was great!
However ..............................
Was very disappointed that it was my partner's 50th Birthday and I requested if we could maybe have a surprise - like room with a view. What we got was a room overlooking concrete buildings. Very poor and thought some effort could have been made - even a bottle of bubbly would have been nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, but requests are not taken into consideration - as per my review!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margieMmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear MargieM,
Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at our property earlier this month. I will be happy to pass on your appreciation to the Spa team following your enjoyable treatment.
Park Hyatt Melbourne enjoys sharing special occasions with its guests and I am sorry your special occasion was overlooked during your stay. Please allow me to follow up with the team and address this matter.
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we look forward to seeing you again.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,261 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,951 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Park Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambiance and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 guestrooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning radii restaurant & bar, the vibrant Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 22km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. Park Hyatt Melbourne is also ideally positioned just steps from Parliament Station and Melbourne's free tram zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing