We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant style, spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Wonthaggi, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Elegant style, spacious rooms”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to go to the footy at the MCG. What a surprise we got when we entered our room. It was huge! The walk in robe actually walks through to the ensuite where there was a separate shower and bath complete with its own flat screen tv built into the wall. The hotel is situated behind Parliament House at the eastern end of the CBD and an easy walk to most of the major theatres and, of course, the MCG. The check in and checkout both went very smoothly and all the staff we came across were very courteous and helpful. The best two things about this hotel are the quiet location and the size of the rooms. We will definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ageef62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ageef62,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay in May.
Your comments regarding our great location and helpful staff are greatly appreciated by the Park Hyatt team. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to you returning to Park Hyatt Melbourne.
Yours sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,827
    459
    138
    77
    36
See reviews for
346
1,101
158
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I love this hotel based on two seperate visits and got an ok deal ($285 per night), however thats were the positives ended.

I found the price for car parking a bit OTT based on my late check in and early departure (& in fact asked if I could move my car to a nearby car park but was told there would be a daily cost anyway).

I had been paid for a job in cash that day, so also tried to pay in cash, and was told that I would have to pay double and get the rest back when I checked out. I paid for the room in cash, and decided to leave a refundable bond.

Given my room key and found I was being directed to the Hyatt "wing" above the restaurants, next to the church and bus depot. I was hopeful of a nice view as I was on the 8th floor but in reality it was the 2nd and pretty noisey.

The room was gracious and very big, but very very tired.

On check out I was told the refundable bond, was not and so the cash sitting in my pocket had to stay there.

All in all not the service I expected. I will go back to staying in the other Hyatt from now on.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the main complex the higher the better, facing the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Martin C,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne, I was disappointed to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
Should you wish to contact me to discuss further, please feel free to email me on melbourne.park@hyatt.com.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were lucky enough to get bumped from St Vincent's Maternity Ward to the Park Hyatt with the birth of our daughter recently. I cannot talk more highly of this beautiful and luxurious hotel. ALL staff are wonderful the hotel facilities are excellent, in a beautiful setting if you are looking for a luxurious experience there is not much that can touch this in Melbourne. The bottom end rooms are large and well appointed you can even get a suite with a fire place. The spa we had over looking the Cathedral was just stunning.

Room Tip: Don't go on the tenth floor that's where the maternity suites are! But e loved it, non-mater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mickibbo, Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to read you enjoyed our property and the services offered after transferring from St Vincent’s. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the view of the cathedral from your room and your appreciation of our customer service will be shared with the hotel team, and we look forward to seeing you again at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Although I left Melbourne more than 10 years ago, it was my home town of nearly 30 years, so when I travel there for work and do not stay with relatives, I am very selective as to where I stay. The Park Hyatt has always been my husband's preferred hotel in Melbourne when he travels there - last year we chose to stay together at the Westin which we both thought was fabulous, so I wasn't sure what to expect on my first stay here at the Park Hyatt (the venue for which I was attending a work meeting).

The location of the Park Hyatt is great - it is in a quiet upmarket pocket of the CBD, adjacent to the Fitzroy Gardens and across the road from the cafes of Little Collins St, and easy walking distance to the shops of Collins St, Bourke St etc. The hotel itself has beautiful grand decor, although its classical look is starting to look a touch dated in some areas - housekeeping & maintenance is immaculate though and about the only thing I would suggest is that a change of carpet in the corridors & rooms soon would probably be all that's required to lift the decor a little. The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly & courteous.

At check-in I was delighted to be informed that I'd been upgraded to suite 1247 & was granted a 12.30pm check-out. The suite was on the 12th floor, facing north over the church with plenty of natural light, consisted of a separate living area with gas fire, huge bathroom with separate toilet, and a large dressing room. It was a lovely spacious suite, and to be honest, for all the 5-star hotels we have stayed in, it had one of the biggest hotel bathrooms I have come across! Whilst I am not a fan of white marble, it did look grand & luxe!

Features included:
- Beautiful gas heater in the living room
- Dimmable lighting in all rooms
- Flat screen TVs - living room, bedroom, bathroom
- Large dressing room with safe
- Divinely comfortable bed & pillows a plenty
- Nice amenities

Unfortunately, the breakfast looked absolutely sensational, but I didn't get to enjoy it. I ordered it at 8am, I rang to query it's late arrival at 8.40am and then when it finally arrived at 8.55am, I was running out the door for my 9am meeting, so had to leave it sitting there uneaten. By the time I arrived back in the room at noon for the lunch break, it was cold and far less appetising than what it would have been at 8.30am. Disappointing for a luxury business hotel.

Overall, it was "an ALMOST perfect stay"….. if not for the mishap with my breakfast order. Judging by the otherwise high level of service, this would appear to have been an isolated unsatisfactory event, and had it not occurred, my stay would have been perfect...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear CarKri02, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback following your stay at our hotel. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay.
I am however disappointed to read your comments regarding your breakfast order and ask that you email me with some more details on melbourne.park@hyatt.com so that we can look into this further.
Yours sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel needs a good make up! Great position, great pool, nice art-deco' interiors, nice bathrooms with T.V. integrated in the wall above Jacuzzi bathtub but average service, average food and over- used rooms. I hope they will undergo very soon some renovations. It deserves them.

Room Tip: Rooms facing South have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuela883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Emanuela883,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne, I was disappointed to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
Should you wish to contact me to discuss further, please feel free to call me or email me on melbourne.park@hyatt.com.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at Park Hyatt Sydney last year and thought it would be fun to check out Melbourne's version when we had a weekend down there recently.

In short, we were really impressed. I think it is really the staff that bring the place over the line. They were constantly a source of delight; everyone we dealt with provided excellent and friendly service, from the concierge to reception to the Park lounge to the room service.

The place isn't as shmick as the Grand Hyatt given it is a little bit dated, but given the age we were really impressed with how clean and well-kept everything was. We had a Park King Club room I think it was called; huge! It was well and truly a suite by the standards of other hotels! It was laid out well and was super-cosy, especially with the gas fireplace.

Being on a club floor, we had the free continental brekkie, but if you wanted to upgrade to the full hot buffet it was a mere $8 extra per head which I thought incredible value.

The 6pm-8pm drinks were lovely too, exactly what you would expect and comparable to other hotels of this standard.

All in all it's a wonderful hotel, yes about ten years old so not brank spanking fresh, but excellent all the same. Wonderful Hyatt service.

Room Tip: King Club Room - it is huge and has a gas fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisOutwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear BrisOutwards,
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to read you enjoyed our property and the services offered with a Park Club Room. Our Club Lounge offers great views of Melbourne and provides a good opportunity to relax.
Your appreciation of our customer service will be shared with the hotel team, and we look forward to seeing you again at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The rooms at the Park Hyatt are large, mattresses and pillows are very comfortable and the bathrooms are terrific, with a great shower and with two sinks. The location is perfect. The hotel is central but not right in the heart of the shopping, restaurant area. Close to subway station and the on/off bus. The staff are very helpful and suggested wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Nexi1,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your stay last month.
Your comments regarding our friendly staff and great location are appreciated by the Park Hyatt Melbourne team.
Thank you for your positive feedback, we look forward to you returning to Park Hyatt Melbourne next time you visit our great city.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,049 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Park Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambiance and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 guestrooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning radii restaurant & bar, the vibrant Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 22km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. Park Hyatt Melbourne is also ideally positioned just steps from Parliament Station and Melbourne's free tram zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing