We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in a quiet location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

I really enjoyed my 3 night stay in this delightful hotel which is located in Parliament Place not far from the top end of Collins Street. An excellent location. My spacious and comfortable room overlooked the peaceful gardens of the cathedral which made for a very pleasant change from other hotels I have stayed at in Melbourne. I have no negative remarks about this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone seeking to stay in one of Melbourne's top hotels. I gave the hotel a top value score as I booked through Wotif and received an excellent discount.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappytravelsCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,726
    442
    132
    71
    35
See reviews for
325
1,035
153
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

Check-in was very rushed and the receptionist who also is the concierge got our key cards ready in no time, which is fine, but it really felt like 'guys I am busy, here is your key, next customer please'. No one leads you up to the room and shows you around (standard in any five star). Overall, the problem with the Park Hyatt in Melbourne is that it is a 5 star property that is absolutely devoid of 5 star service. It has a nice spa and pool and very pretty rooms BUT

- the rooms are noisy - the doors are letting any noise from the corridor through even from rooms opposite
- the aircon cannot be turned off or properly regulated (only in steps of +- 0.7 C)
- the concierge is on the same desk as reception and often acts as receptionist - the knowledge of the region/tours/restaurants is laughable
- the hotel lacks any atmosphere. It is an exclusive business hotel, with a bar and restaurant that is dead past 9pm.....

Overall, a very pretty property which lacks in service culture and atmopshere.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

We booked a King suite for a Sunday night at the Park Hyatt in December 2009 for our
wedding night in March 2010. I made note on the booking that it was for "our wedding
night". I went in the Wednesday before in person to tell them it was for our "wedding night".
We checked in at the time stated in full wedding outfits, bridal gown and all and mentioned it
was "our wedding night". I asked what the room view was and was told the room view was
of "the tennis court". This was not acceptable, so I asked to get a room with a better view.
We were given a room with a view of the tennis court, but a bit higher up. We did not receive any acknowledgement whatsoever of the "wedding night" - no sparkling, no chocolates, nothing. We went to the bar for drinks that night and were made to wait 30 mins for a mocktail as the "staff member was new". We had to pay for this as well.

The room had airconditioning that you could not switch off (only change the temperature) so I slept with a dry mouth and sore throat. All night we could hear the constant loud humming noise from the spa operating next door which drove us quite mad. I was about ready to drive home at about 4am just so I could sleep.

Upon checkout (and paying the $500 bill) I mentioned that we received no acknowledgement and expected some sort of congratulations for our special ocassion. The manager was asked to speak with us and he offered - us the bottle of champagne to take with is on the plane!

He did not tell me why we had been given nothing, treated poorly and he refused to listen about the airconditioning or the spa bath. I asked for them to waive something from the bill as I did not care for "the bottle of sparkling" (and I dont) and they waived the $30 for valet parking.

I was told that "next time we stay there will be a note to have the bottle of "bubbly" in our room. There will not be a next time Park Hyatt.

I was treated with disdain, made to feel undervalued and unwelcome. This is the last of many times that I had stayed at what is a lovley looking hotel.

Pity about the customer service. Hopefully someone else will buy this hotel and put the excellent architecture to better use.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HLana123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

In an attempt to "try something new" & go for a boutique experience, we first opted for the Lyall Hotel (see my review). Well, after only 1 night there, we humbly crawled to the Park Hyatt like dogs w our tails between our legs hoping they'd have a room for us. Thankfully, they did & our stay in Melbourne was saved!

LOCATION: In the heart of Melbourne & exactly where you'd want to be but removed enough where you won't hear any "city" noise. Next to a gorgeous church. Great views!

ROOMS: Clean, incredibly spacious, modern furnishings, huge bathroom w jacuzzi tub & separate shower & great natural light. I loved it!

SERVICE: Everyone was accommodating, attentive & very nice.

We loved this hotel & would definitely return if ever in Melbourne again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AirMilesLuvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Excellent hotel. Large luxurious room with everything you could wish for even a tv in the bathroom! Breakfast was very expensive we only ate there one morning. Staff very helpful and attentive. If I had one complaint it would be the shower which wasn't very good.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthportRaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

Stayed for one night - booked through cheap website so obviously didn't get the best room in the hotel but it was gorgeous. The room was huge with a walk through bathroom/dressing room. I particularly liked the tv in the bathroom and the extremely comfy bed.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink_bear19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patterson lakes
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Spent a weekend here in king room. We just loved it, very classy, foyer was very grand. The staff were all very friendly and professional, from check in, to carrying our bags to the staff in the restaurant. Bed was a true king bed, not split one that you often get. The room was a good size, the bathroom and coffee making area were separate. The room had everything that you could possibly want, bathrobes, a make-up mirror even an umbrella. The pool and spa were excellent. With a lovely view of the G and surrounding area. Only used the restaurant for breakfast, which was quite pricey at $40.00 for a buffet, but food was of very good quality.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Park Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing