We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne
Ranked #66 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid staying here”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Unhappy with my recent stay here - leaking rain inside room; no towels provided as these were used by housekeeping to soak up the water that was leaking in; pre authorisation for AUD $195 taken from my card - then was charged $195 for room & 1 week later they've still not refunded the $195 or even the $50 used to secure the room when the booking was made. Had to chase the refund 3 times before anything was actually done about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Yooms,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra.
The pre authorisation hold process is an automatic release back from your financial institution, it is not the hotel you were waiting on for a refund to be processed.

If you wish to discuss your stay in further detail please dont hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    359
    132
    43
    20
See reviews for
304
223
63
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great location and was really good to have parking on site. The staff were helpful and courteous, and our 2 bedroom apartment was very comfortable. We all slept really well after busy days out exploring Melbourne. Unfortunately it was too cold to get much use out of the balcony, but it was huge, and in warm weather I think it would be fantastic!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Louloujane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Louloujane,

Thankyou for your review of your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra. The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to welcoming you back. I would have to agree that it is a bit chilly outside to use the balconies at the moment, but you are right on a warmer day it is lovely to sit out there and relax!

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

First impressions count and this property delivers!
From the fantastically funky club lounge lobby to the personable Ange at reception who expedited my registration with professionalism and warmth. She upgraded me when my room wasn't quite ready and gave me an instant late check out on request.
And then I saw my lovely one bedroom apartment ; compact and beautifully designed with quality furnishings , fully equipped kitchen and the five star clincher for me : strikingly bold contemporary art on the walls! The color scheme of taupe , grey, red and black was also very attractive.
I had a Parisian style Juliet balcony and wonderful lamps to give added ambience at night.
The Yarra parklands just to the right, the chic cafes of south Yarra to the left and proximity to the rail station makes this establishment a real winner.
Sure this is an out and out rave and the variables of a hotel stay can be so random, but I must say for me it was a perfect storm of a melbourne sojourn.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archangelosSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear archangelasSydney

Thanks for sharing your experience. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all of what Adina South Yarra has to offer. Our goal is provide accommodation and service that our guests rave about. It's great to see we've succeeded with you. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team especially Ange.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a self contained - two bedroom apartment. The location was excellent and the room was very comfortable and very well maintained. The beds were comfortable. The heating was great.

Very close to quality shopping and the railway station.

The check in process was quick and easy and the staff friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

I cannot find a single criticism or fault. One of the better places that we have stayed.

Room Tip: One of our rooms was close to the railway but it did not bother us. However may bother light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra.

The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travelling down to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Average hotel. Had a 2 bedroom place and only 1 bathroom. For some reason we were disillusioned and thought it was a 2/2. Bathroom was old and out-dated, the lights in the bathroom would turn off if it got overheated and I'd showered in the dark twice! Beds are comfortable, carpet is old, no free wi-fi, garage parking is free which is good as all the street parking is full all the time, however after a certain time could be hard to get a spot in the back. Walking distance to some nice bars, lounges and eateries. There is an IGA around the corner, however is over-priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

The hotel underwent a refurbishment 12 months ago and this included brand new carpets in each apartment. We are delighted to hear you took advantage of our complimentary onsite carparking. Our car parking is limited & subject to availability however once you receive a pass at check in you will be guaranteed a spot each evening on your return to the hotel.

The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location & a good night's sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed here for a week with my partner for a conference. From the photos we were expecting something much nicer, and more clean. Our first room had dirt marks all over the walls and ceiling, the bathroom grout was dirty and it was general just shabby. We requested to change rooms which they were very helpful with. Our new room was similar, however no marks on the walls. We could have stayed somewhere much nicer for the same price. The staff were very lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra.

The images on our website were taken less than 12 months ago and reflect the modern decor that you will find in all our rooms.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the service you received from our team - they will be delighted to hear this as they strive on providing a high level of service.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Booked online (WOTIF) on arrival, found I had used the wrong date. Staff able to accomodate us anyway. Really pleased with our room. As we had been living out of suitcases for 10 days. The room was suprisingly spacious. Well appointed kitchen and bathroom. Tv good channel seleciton and great reception (quite hard to find). Bonus washing machine and separate dryer within bathroom. Lovely to catch up on laundry. :-) Slept really well, did hear some trains in the background but not enough to disturb much. Location brilliant, a few minutes walk to the main shopping/restuarants. Secure underbuilding parking a bonus. Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us.

The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed the space & amenities in our apartments and the fantastic location we are in!

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#88 of 160 in Melbourne
930 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#80 of 160 in Melbourne
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne
Address: 52 Darling St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive South Yarra Hotel Melbourne
Medina Executive South Yarra Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing