We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sizeable apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #50 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Yishun, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good sizeable apartment”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Good hotel location at an affordable price. Got ourselves a one-bedroom apartment which was very sizable and very well equipped with all the necessary amenities. The staff were really helpful in providing directions for us to go about our sight seeing and also to help us book for the tours. Special thanks to Harry whom we bugged most of the time for directions and assistance at the Reception.
However, would just like to put in a few comments which I hope will further improve the stay for your guests. Firstly, would probably be good for the hotel staff/ housekeeping to do an inventory check on the items in the kitchen. The unit we stayed in were short of pots, although the pot lids were there. In addition, would also suggest that the housekeeping staff clean out the oven regularly, preferably after each guest has left. The oven in our apartment had an extremely greasy smell when I opened it, and the trays in the oven were greasy with grime stuck on it. As there was no dishwashing detergent provided in the apartment, I couldn't wash the grime off and ended up not being able to use the oven. And lastly, would like to suggest that the management consider to provide a nominal amount of dishwashing detergent as well as laundry detergent FOC for the hotel guests. This would really be useful for your guest who are on short stays of less than a week so that they can do some light cleaning or washing during their stay.
Nevertheless, still very satisfied with the hotel in general and will definitely return or consider to stay at another Adina Apartment Hotel in other cities where available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenglairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Wenglairene,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen Street.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the spacious apartment and the friendly team on reception, Harry is a favourite amongst many of our guests.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the inventory levels in each apartment, and cleanliness of the oven, I want to assure you and our future guests that this is not indicative of the standards of Adina Melbourne, Queen Street as you can see by the testimonials below.

When you do stay with us again please note that there is someone here 24 hours a day so if you require extra equipment or utensils please feel free to call.

If you would like to discuss this in further detail, please contact me at the hotel directly on 03 9934 0000.

Many thanks once again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne soon!

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    871
    240
    65
    39
See reviews for
532
659
94
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend in a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment. Four of us occupied the apartment for 3 nights, we were in town for my daughter's wedding for which I had made her gown.

The staff, on discovering this, delivered a complimentary bottle of bubbly tied in red ribbon in an ice bucket and with a thoughtful hand written card. It was such a nice touch.

The apartment space was fantastic, really roomy and comfortable. Spotlessly clean also and with unobtrusive daily servicing.

The reception and concierge staff were also very efficient, very friendly and helpful with a nothing too much trouble attitude.

Room Tip: Apartment 18 , 2 bed, 2 bath with a balcony was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Gezq

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.
On behalf of the team and I, we appreciate your recognition in relation to the cleanliness of the hotel and the positive attitude of our team.

We want to thank you for choosing to stay at Adina Melbourne to mark the celebration of your daughter’s wedding day. As I said to you on the day of your arrival it is so beautiful that you had the opportunity to make your daughter’s wedding gown it would be such a special feeling

Once again thank you, myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen St Soon!

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I'll start by saying our room was spotless & the location was great. On the downside, I had called twice before our stay to make sure our room had a balcony but when we arrived we didn't so I called reception & was told they had no rooms left. Our airconditioner didn't work properly so I reported it & to their credit someone came straight up & fiddled with the control which we had done the night before but we still melted as it was hot in Melbourne & our window only opened about 5cm.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west had no views but were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontessVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear MontessVic

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

The team are pleased to hear you found the room to be “spotless”, the housekeeping department were especially grateful to receive this feedback.

Our sincerest apologies in regards to the air-conditioning in your apartment. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.


Once again thank you, myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen St Soon!

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stopped for four nights the room was very nice it's in the CBD so it's central to everything china towns just over the road easy for restaurants and the metro system it also as a great restaurant attached not sure if it's part the hotel but enjoyed a few visits

Room Tip: It's called an apartment hotel it as some larger room my room was a smaller room but was big eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Alan876969

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.
We are all pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We do have a central location giving our guests the opportunity to easily access all the wonderful attractions our Eclectic City has to offer.

Next time you are with us take a short stroll to the famous Queen Victoria Markets the produce is amazing; then come back and use your fully equipped kitchen in your apartment. Having this option is someing that our guests do appreciate especially if they are away from home for more than 1 or 2 nights.

Once again thank you, Myself and The Team look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen St Soon!

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I completely agree with the prior review about how disgusting the wifi prices are. I don't understand how they think that is ok. And they claim free wifi in public areas, but it's limited to 30 or 60 min per day (all in one go, you can't space it out), which is not very helpful. To avoid paying this ridiculous price, I walked to Fed Square every day to use their free public wifi.

I was also shocked that as a fairly expensive hotel, they did not have any international power adapters when I asked! It seems they only have a couple, so it's hard to actually get to use one.

Other than that (which is a very big thing to any business traveller!!), the room was good & clean, the location was good, and the service staff were nice enough. I was on the 17th floor and had a nice view of the city. I liked the pool & gym facilities as well. I slept well there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOgirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Toronto

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, as this is a vital tool to enhance our guest services. I have passed on your concerns in relation to internet to our provider for review.

I do want to thank you for sharing your positive experiences you had during your stay with us, in relation to room cleanliness, location, our team and the Hotel’s facilities.

If you would like to further discuss your experience with us please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel.

Many thanks once again!

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel has beautiful rooms and is well located. But if you plan to use Wi-Fi, you should stay away. They have a completely outrageous and extortionate Wi-Fi policy.

First, even though this is an expensive hotel, they charge you for Wi-Fi. And not just a little bit. 25 bucks a day.

Okay, so that's bad enough. But it gets worse. You are not buying Wi-Fi for all your devices. You are buying for only two devices.

So if you have a smart phone, and a tablet, and you're traveling with someone who also has a smart phone, you're looking at $50 a day.

And it gets even worse. Once you've chosen two devices, you can't turn off one and turn on another. So if you use the Wi-Fi on your smartphone for one minute and on your iPad for one minute, you can't then turn off the iPad and switch the service over to a different smartphone. No, you're looking at spending another $25. A family could easily spend a hundred dollars a day for the various devices.

If you like to live in a connected world, stay away from this otherwise very nice place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Tublet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Tublet

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

I am pleased to read you found our rooms “beautiful” and the Hotel is “well located”.

I have passed on your comments to our internet provider; if you do choose to stay with us again we do provide free half hour internet per day for our guests in the lobby.

The different plans for our internet are below as at 30/11/2013:

Complimentary Internet:
30 minutes daily in Hotel Lobby free for Hotel Guests

Daily Plan
- Plan is $24.95 incl GST for 24 hrs

3 Night Plan
- 3 Nights (3 X 24hrs)for $59.95 incl GST. (20% discount).

5 Nights + 2 Free Plan
- 5 nights for 8% off daily rate + 2 Free nights. (7 x 24 hrs with total 34% discount) $115 per Week incl GST.

2 to 4 Weeks Plan
- Unlimited use up to 1 month from initial connection. Plan is $199.00 incl GST. ($6.63 incl GST per day - 73% discount off daily rate) Best option for 2 or more weeks.

4 Weeks + Plan
Complimentary internet

The Hotel does offer internet inclusive rates for both corporate and leisure guests.

Many thanks once again

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights during Melbourne Cup week. We were on the 6th floor in a one bedroom apartment which also had a good sized sitting room, kitchen area and washing machine/dryer in the bathroom. Staff were helpful and available, even though it was a very busy week and the ground floor cafe was a good spot for breakfast. The hotel is close to the shopping areas and the river.
My only complaint was the view - across a narrow lane to the slightly creepy mirrored windows of the next building. Not worth even moving the curtains.

Room Tip: Ask for one which looks out to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripleart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Tripleart

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

Melbourne is iconic for The Spring Carnival Week, the hype and buzz in the city is something you need to do at least once. We are so pleased you chose to stay at our Hotel to experience this this great event.

The Team and Myself are delighted your experience was pleasant, having that extra space rather than a hotel room for six nights is something our guests to commend us on. Judging from the above comments you we are pleased to read you got to make use of all the facilities in your one bedroom apartment.

Many thanks once again and we looking forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne soon!

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,580 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#42 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing