We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice centrally positioned Hotel with good access to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #75 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My first trip to Melbourne with my wife for my 60th birthday celebrations and it proved to be a very comfortable hotel in a nice location opposite the Treasury Gardens with easy access to the main city areas being on the free city tram route 35. Rooms are cosy but all that you need for a long weekend stay which is what we had. Comfortable bed, good room service and above average food makes this a very good Hotel to stay at. Very easy access to the MCG and Rod Laver and Hisense Arenas with the beautiful Treasury Gardens opposite that make for a lovely walk in early morning or late evening to catch either sunrise or sunset colours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelator_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

As has been my previous experience when visiting this hotel staff were friendly & the rooms more than passable. What appears to me to be a slightly tired building & theme is compensated for by its location the willingness of its staff to serve. Simply this is not a four star (or less) establishment masquerading as something it is not. Its four star rating attributed to it by other reviews I have read are considered to be very accurate. Yes, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are nice to relax in whether you use the balcony or simply because you can open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KyleHill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your favourable review. As a return guest I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay again and that our team were friendly and accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Karen Taylor, Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Mercure is situated in a great location near the MCG / Rod Laver Arena and the trendy lane way bars and restaurants. Very much a business travel type hotel. King room was on the small side with a tiny bathroom. Shower needed maintenance - glass door scraped when moved. Not enough light in rooms. Pleasant bar and breakfast restaurant. Helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn-Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is so convenient for the MCG, Fed Square, Chinatown.The Wi Fi is ridiculously over-priced and we only used the 30 minute free time in the bar during Happy Hour! We opted for a garden view room which was a bit more expensive but the views from the 8th floor were fantastic.The staff were great and we are not early risers but the cleaning staff never hassled us to clean our room. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The only dowside was the bathroom which is miniscule - nowhere to put anything, only room for one person and our shower door was not watertight so we had a soggy floor all of the time. There are some great restaurants not far along Flinders Lane and Chinatown is quite close. We even walked up to Lygon Street for a meal one night.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, a garden view room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KarenLTaylor, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff very nice but horrible wifi and very small rooms. Hard to do work with the slow and expensive wifi. Bathroom very small with no counter space but showerhead marvelous! The housekeepers had a terrible habit of just wiping out the glassware with a rag (you could actually see the swirl marks from the dirty rag) Conveniently located, tram stop nearby and around the corner, there are many excellent restaurants on Flinders Ln. Despite the drawbacks, overall a good place to stay, just get clean glasses from the bar downstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a "privilege room" - has balcony and is a bit larger than standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Mantra on Jolimont
#95 of 161 in Melbourne
1,802 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#91 of 161 in Melbourne
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £79 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing