We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay, however the rack rate would have been pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #71 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay, however the rack rate would have been pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

My wife and i stayed a couple of nights over the Queen's birthday long week end. We were fortunate enoegh to get the "sunrise program rate" which was considerably less expensive than the rack rate. This also included a full American breakfast.

Location: The Mecure Melbourne is handy to the MCG and Rod Laver arena. It is a short walk to the Flinders street station (around 4 blocks) or you can catch the tram which is only 50 metres away. If you want to go to the ETIHAD stadium it is only a matter of walking up to Collins street and catching the tram down to Spencer street station and walking over the foot bridge to the stadium.

Room: We had a great view out across the Treasury gardens. I would imagine people on the West side would not have a view at all.The room was clean, it's a bit dated with quite an old airconditioner under the window (it was however quiet). The bathroom was pokey with the shower over the bath. The bed was comfortable and gave a restful nights sleep.

Public areas: The passageways are narrow and whilst walking along you could hear people talking in their rooms. The lift was only big enoegh for two to three people with suitcases. We attended the dining room for breakfast and this was well set out.

Food: We only attended breakfast and can only comment on this, we found that it was very good. Most of the tables have at least a small view out across the gardens All of the food was freshly cooked i.e. hashbrowns were not soggy, bacon was warm and the fried eggs had just been cooked. They had a good assortment of stewed and freshly cut fruit as well as cerials, bread, crumpets, muffins and sweet pastries. Freshly brewed coffee ,decaf coffee sachets and an assortment of teas including herbal infusions. They had run out of sweetener and the staff went to the trouble of searching all over the hotel for some for me. (This was above the call of duty). As you can see the breakfast was a big hit with us.

Staff: The staff were cordial and helpfull.

Parking: The hotel does provide a minimum amount of parking for around $25-AU. It is very tight in the car park and requires a good driver to get around there without hitting a concrete pilon. They also have access to other parking which i imagine is roomier however not in the same building.

Over all i would return to this hotel, however would only do so if there was a special on as the rack rate seems too expensive for the property. There are other property's available in Melbourne for around the same price that are newer and closer to the Southbank entertainment area. Having said this we did enjoy our stay and thank the staff for their service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wow49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMGW, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
Dear wow49,

Many thanks for such an in depth evaluation of your stay at Mercure Melbourne.

It was very pleasing to note you enjoyed your stay.

We always ensure we are competitively priced in the market and encourage you to take advantage of our seasonal specials.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    837
    345
    77
    27
See reviews for
331
693
156
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

My one night stay here started awkwardly, as the reception staff assumed that I was sharing a room with my (considerably older and relatively new) boss. For what this hotel purports to be...it's OK, but not great. The room I stayed in (Standard Queen) had been nicely refurbished in a contemporary minimalist style, but was somewhat let down by the bathroom which was awkwardly laid out and a little dated. The bed was hard and I found it very uncomfortable. While I admit, I don't like hard beds, I've stayed in a lot of hotels in my time, and I can't recall ever having been this uncomfortable, suggesting it wasn't just 'not to my liking'. The shower however, was not bad...I'm always wary of the super water savers in bigger hotels... so I was pleasantly surprised. This hotel is fine for business travel, but if you're looking for some luxury while on holiday I'd think about trying somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 36views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMGW, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, 16 June 2010
Dear Flexitime23

Thank you booking the Mercure Melbourne and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor

We greatly value all feedback as it is with this improvement is achieved.

While it was great to read you enjoyed some aspect of your visit I sincerely apologise that we have let you down in other areas. Rest assured where ever possible we will look to address your concerns.

Apologies again and should you allow us the opportunity to assist you with accommodation in the future, please feel free to contact my self directly and I would be more than happy to ensure a comfortable stay.

Yours Sincerely

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Our weekend trip from Vic Country was to see the Jersey Boys at The Princess Theatre in Spring St , only a short walk from the motel ,the ANZ Netball at Hisense Arena that you can walk to, Bourke St Mallwith in walking distance and Footy at Etihad Stadium ,we just caught the free City Circle tram to.Front desk staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilduraSportsfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, 16 June 2010
Dear MilduraSportsfans,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure Melbourne; it was very pleasing to note your enjoyed your stay.

The location is certainly good for sporting events and shows and I’m glad you also found it helpful.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

This was our third visit to Melbourne over the past five years and our accommodation on the previous trips ranged from suburban motel style to a five star hotel in Collins St. . Mercure Spring St. was better than both.

As other reviewers indicate the location is superb. You can walk to the MCG, Federation Square, Flinders St. Railway Station, and Chinatown. The free City Circle Tram stop is 100 metres from the hotel and the hour trip around the city is an excellent introduction to Melbourne. You certainly don't need a car.

While the room was average it was clean, comfortable and quiet with a great view over Treasury Gardens. Sure, the bathroom was small and a bit dated but how much time are you going to spend there? Room service was good and while the restaurant's menu did not have a wide choice the meal was fine and reasonably priced. Overall service was good and reception was friendly and helpful.

Given the location and reasonable rates it is a great choice especially for visitors like us who do not know Melbourne that well and want to be in the CBD without paying exorbitant prices. We will stay here again on our fourth trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Dear GACASydney_Australia

Many thanks for taking to time to note your experience at the Mercure Melbourne on Tripadvisor.

It was certainly pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and will return.

I will share your comments with the team and look forward to welcoming back.


Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

Stayed 3 nights while on a business trip. Friendly welcome on check in. Small room and small bathroom. Dated decor but clean. Good sized room safe (got a a laptop computer into it). Good location near sports arenas. Trams pass nearby but room well soundproofed from outside.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, 31 May 2010
Dear Seetheworld38

Thank you for updating your experience on TripAdvisor

It was really pleasing to note the positive comments regarding the hotel.

Being close to the sports arenas is a real bonus for our customers heading off to Melbourne Park.

Thanks again,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Mercure Melbourne Spring Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

The hotel was great and the staff were friendly we wanted say a thank you to Jason & Travis O'toole and Phil for making our stay even better with exceptional service & going out of there way.
We look forward to sataying again with the Mecure at Spring St.
Amanda Laan

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda081117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Stayed 3 nights on a promotion from Accor. We were able to check in early as a room was available. Room faced the city (which we knew beforehand) and was fine, though the carpet was a bit tired. Bed was firm and comfortable. The bathroom was not up our expectations. The toilet was shoe-horned in between the small sink and the tub/shower. The shower curtain was musty and the tub, while clean, had seen better days. Not the Mercure standard. We stayed an Ibis (a step down from Mercure) in Sydney which was better.

I think the hotel can bill itself as a Mercure due to the superb location across from the park and steps to the Circle Tram, Collins St. and the MCG. For the price we paid we were happy enough, but would look around if a promotion wasn't available next time

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMGW, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens, responded to this review, 6 May 2010
Dear macaptial,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure Melbourne.

While it was pleasing to note your experience was a positive one in a number of areas, please accept my apologies that at times we fell short of the required standard.

All feedback is valuable and we will certainly learn from your feedback.

Thank you again, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#82 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#88 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Property: Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing