We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Ranked #115 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Longreach
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Small but reasonably comfortable. Beds are a little hard but tolerable. Fantastic location, close to city centre. Staff are friendly and helpful. Great Indian resturant next door. Noise is a problem on weekends because of night club so take a good pair of earplugs. Also buy a Miki card if you are planning to ride the trams or rail in Melbourne, tickets can not be bought on board.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at back of building. Might help with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hello NancyS,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us in Melbourne.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, though we hope that you were able to speak to our housekeeping department during your stay; while comfort expectations of bedding is always subjective we are happy to be given the chance to do what we can to make the bed suit your needs during your stay.

Being located in the central city we are very close to some excellent eateries and entertainment areas; as with most residences in the inner city external noise can be a factor. We urge you to speak to reception staff, who are available 24 hours, 7 days, if you are disturbed.

We hope that your enjoyment of our friendly and helpful staff and central city location means that we will get to welcome you back to Metro Apartments on Bank Place on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    136
    82
    35
    16
See reviews for
35
120
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Have stayed here twice, once in a studio apartment and once in a one bedroom apartment - would definitely recommend the apartment. Hotel is centrally located, friendly reception staff, the apartment is spacious and fairly clean, although the carpets and couch were stained, which made it feel dirtier than it probably was. The carpark associated with the hotel is a fair walk away, however, you can drop bags off at reception and then park the car.

I would stay here again, but in the apartment only, the studio room was big enough, but the window looked directly onto the wall of the building next door, which made for a dark and dingy lit room.

Room Tip: If price allows, stay in an apartment rather than studio room, or ask for a room on a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaHMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello LeaHMel,

Thank-you for leaving your feedback after your stay with us during your recent trip to Melbourne.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our One Bedroom Apartment; these rooms are indeed more spacious with more facilities than the the smaller Studios, which are more compact and better suited to one or two night stays.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The rooms are pretty small but enough for us. It was good because we weren't in the room that much as we were out watching the tennis. Yes it is a little noisy from the night club but we still got a good night sleep. I would stay again for a few nights if you are out exploring and need a bed to rest.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesecake19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello Cheesecake19,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place.

We are glad to hear that the sounds of the clubs and their patrons did not effect your sleep and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in January 2014 and found that whilst it's location was excellent in the centre of the CBD, it was adjacent to a night club and bar which started pumping around midnight. That being said our apartment, whilst small, was very clean and comfortable. We were there during the Australian Open Tennis Championships and 40+Celsius temperatures, so we're very thankful for the excellent air conditioning. The bed was huge and very comfortable however the bathroom was a shower, basin and toilet combo that was very tight for 2 people at the same time. The reception staff were very pleasant and overall except for the noising night life outside and clanging, crashing and slamming from the bar on closing, it was an enjoyable place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelmo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello Michaelmo2012,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, Melbourne.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you due to the adjacent night clubs, but we are very glad to see that you found our rooms clean and comfortable and our staff pleasant during your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, Melbourne CBD, 24-27 Dec 2013 after booking on-line. Great location, within walking distance of everything we wanted, including good cafes, etc. and close to trams going elsewhere - free on Christmas & Boxing Day. Well-appointed apartment on 7th floor with separate bedroom, living room, kitchenette with hotplates, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine. Small bathroom but good shower/water pressure. Friendly helpful staff. Only downside - in room, lack of mirrors, only one in bathroom & there were 3 girls sharing! Entry to hotel lacks disabled access and two of us had walking problems. Apart from that, would recommend to anyone, though bed-settee was very uncomfortable!

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor are best as there is an Indian restaurant below - thank goodness it was clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear ValB,

Thank-you for sharing your comments after your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that the sofa bed did not meet your expectations, we always appreciate the opportunity to attend to an issue like this while you are with us so we hope that you spoke to reception or housekeeping staff about this issue.

We are glad that you enjoyed our location, and found our staff friendly and helpful and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. 1 bedroom apartment was clean, comfortable and modern decor. Location was awesome, so close to everything, and the laneway location and nearby cafés etc really made you feel like you were experiencing Melbourne. Yes it was a little noisy on the Friday night however, having read this on trip advisor, I requested a room away from the noise. We were given a ninth storey room so could barely hear the noise over the hum of the air con. Had earplugs but didn't need them. Would highly recommend for an inner city Melbourne holiday experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cruising4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Cruising4eva,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your stay with us. We love to hear from happy guests and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed at this place for five nights on a business trip to Melbourne. I loved the one bedroom apartment with a kitchenette; felt like home. This is just in the heart of the city, close to all attractions and great restaurants. The front desk staff members were uniformly excellent, always ready to help you. They arranged for my sight-seeing tour. As I read in previous reviews, one night (Friday) I did hear noise from a nearby pub. But based on the good experience, I will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Espi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello Espi52,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your comments after your recent stay with us while you were in Melbourne.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look keenly forward to seeing you on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#113 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#91 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#83 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#135 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments on Bank Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Property: Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Address: 18 Bank Pl, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Apartments on Bank Place 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Apartments on Bank Place is in the heart of Melbourne city. Located on the Golden Mile Heritage Trail in a cosy London-esque lane, the century-old heritage listed building boasts four star boutique self-contained serviced apartments and hotel rooms with all of the modern conveniences, perfect for business or leisure travelers. Free wireless internet access is available in all apartments. Renowned for their 'warm and friendly hospitality', the staff at Metro Apartments on Bank Place are only too happy to assist in making your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Located off the 'New York' end of Collins Street Metro Apartments are in the centre of the business end of town and only a short walk or tram trip to the best Melbourne has to offer in shopping, dining, entertainment, sport and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Metro Apartments on Bank Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Bank Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing