We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience plus!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Ranked #108 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenience plus!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Enjoyed our 4 night stay in a one bedroom apartment and could have stayed longer. Rooms were clean, compact and well organised, containing everything we needed to stay in and cook, but we didn't need to with so many great cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. Situated in a quiet laneway, the Metro was peaceful and relaxing. Just a short walk through the laneway to a 7/11 and post office. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the free WiFi worked well. Will definitely stay there again when next we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_catts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, General Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear g_catts,

We appreciate that you have shared your comments after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place while you were in Melbourne.

We are glad to see that everything easy and enjoyable, and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    157
    90
    37
    18
See reviews for
45
131
40
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and we really enjoyed it here. The staff were lovely, the room was great, the bed was very comfortable and the location was perfect. It was just so easy getting around by foot and tram. We found it very quiet even with neighbouring late night venues. We would be more than happy to return as the rates were very reasonable for the location. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello Tiffany R,

We thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in Melbourne.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The rooms were well presented. The staff were friendly. Great location in a quaint little side street in Melbourne. Central to the city and Southbank which made it easy to get around and discover Melbourne. Would gladly re-visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear John N,

We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments after your recent visit. We are glad to see that you were happy during your stay with us and that our great central location meant that you were able to make the most of your time in Melbourne. We hope to see you again next time you are down from the sunshine state.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Selected Metro Apartments, as we wanted a hotel in the downtown area of Melbourne for our 10-day stay. Online search showed that Metro was located in a small alley, with 4 restaurants within a few steps of the door, including the Mitre, billed as the oldest pub in Melbourne. Hotel is located in a renovated Victorian stone building (formerly the bank on Bank Place?)

You need to be very clear with the taxi driver that its the Metro, not the Metropolitan that you're going to. Bank Place is a pedestrian street, with vehicle access permitted for deliveries and taxi drop-off. Unless you feel like carrying your kit from the nearest corner, you may need to be firm with the taxi driver.

On arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff and shown to a suite of rooms on 5th floor overlooking central area at back of the building. Previous reviews suggested quieter rooms are on upper floors away from the street, which is true.

We were looking for a central location and this it certainly is - handy for streetcar lines, walking distance to tourist areas, rail stations etc. But, that means you have to accept downtown city sounds at night - but the heavy stone walls and carpeting made this the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in. Its a tradeoff - not much of a view - but that wasn't what we were looking for.

Staff and manager were super helpful and friendly, all requests speedily handled. Staff kept rooms spotlessly clean. Lots of advice about good places to eat (including a super Indian restaurant in the basement).

We had a marvellous time in Melbourne, and having a downtown hotel to stay was one of the good thing about the trip. If I'm back in Melbourne, this is the place I'll be staying.

Room Tip: Upper floors away from the street are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Paul B,
Thank-you for taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place.
We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your trip to Melbourne and that the hotel and our staff have made your trip memorable. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.
Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very reasonable rate in the centre of town with many places to eat at any time of day nearby.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Can be noisy with the late night pedestrian traffic in the lane - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Grant N,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed location and that our efficient and friendly staff met your service expectations.

We hope that we will see you again next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Right, so this place is not 5 star, and it is an old building which has been updated over the years in a slightly hodge-podge kind of way, but for the price I paid for this and the location it is in, I was very happy with it. The staff on check in and check out were very helpful and friendly and assisted me with parking validation and a choice of restaurant. There are some great bars immediately downstairs and I only wished that I wasn't travelling alone so I could have gone and checked them out. Location is sensational, it is extremely central, but being in a non traffic laneway it was quiet. The bathrooms are very poky but the remainder of the room is spacious and pleasant. I think this place was really good value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Servicewithasmile83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hello Servicewithasmile83,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, with our central location and helpful and friendly staff.

We are pleased to see that you will be back again and we hope to see you next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaranta - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. Our room was on the 2nd floor. Building adjacent about 4 feet away. No light in room, dark all the time. Apartment right next to a bar, restaurant and night club. Noise from outside till 3 - 3.30am very bad. Very poor sleep. Once people go home the street clearners take over, more noise. Room small and boxy.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hello Kevin P,

We are sorry to hear that your recent stay was not to your satisfaction. The Studio room that we allocated you for your five night stay was an upgrade from the Queen Room that you booked online. We did this considering the length of your stay and the fact that you were staying over a weekend as these rooms, despite only being available up to the third floor, are typically a much quieter room than the smallest cheapest Queen Rooms.

Unfortunately we had not been made aware that the neighbouring establishments on that side had planned to operate so late during the weekend of your stay as it was as surprising to us as it was our guests.
In regards to the room being on a low floor with little light; as we are in the centre of the city it is naturally going to occur that there are other buildings very nearby and we have some rooms that window onto walls. This is something that we have no control over and even larger hotels still have rooms on low floors which will have a similar sort of outlook. This is not something that matters to all travellers, though we recommend that anybody with specific requests regarding windows or lighting contact their accommodation provider prior to, or even during, their stay to discuss the options available.

We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again, and we welcome you to contact our reservations department directly to discuss your accommodation needs.

Kind regards,
Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#90 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#111 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments on Bank Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Property: Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Address: 18 Bank Pl, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#96 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Apartments on Bank Place 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Apartments on Bank Place is in the heart of Melbourne city. Located on the Golden Mile Heritage Trail in a cosy London-esque lane, the century-old heritage listed building boasts four star boutique self-contained serviced apartments and hotel rooms with all of the modern conveniences, perfect for business or leisure travelers. Free wireless internet access is available in all apartments. Renowned for their 'warm and friendly hospitality', the staff at Metro Apartments on Bank Place are only too happy to assist in making your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Located off the 'New York' end of Collins Street Metro Apartments are in the centre of the business end of town and only a short walk or tram trip to the best Melbourne has to offer in shopping, dining, entertainment, sport and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Apartments on Bank Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Bank Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing