We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite hotel in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #62 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
albury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favourite hotel in Melbourne”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stay here at least 3 times every year. We look for good value deals here, we are often given a room upgrade. Perhaps this is because of our positive, polite outlook.We go to enjoy our break, not to complain. Staff are very helpful- on a previous visit valet staff jumpstarted our flat battery in car. Novotel has had a soft furnishings upgrade- so looks terrific.
Very central location, with no facility being more than a 25min walk & shopping right on the doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Thank you for your loyalty and for being such wonderful guests. My team tells me you are a joy as you always take time to have a chat. We do have some fantastic promotional rates as Novotel is celebrating 20 years at Collins Street in October.
Hope you can take advantage of them so we can see you soon.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,733
    1,927
    526
    125
    80
See reviews for
1,148
1,617
332
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Great location, good, friendly service, comfortable beds, rooms were good, although would have liked a couple of comfortable chairs. Breakfast reasonably priced and good. Only difficulty was valet parking....such limited area to park which made arrival and departure a problem juggling spots on a busy road.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharynandron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi in London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel was perfect for our needs being close to all the inner city shopping, restaurants - easy walking distance to the MCG (15 minutes) etc. Staff were very welcoming across all areas. Special mention to JD at the bar. We had a Premium Room which was excellent - spacious, comfortable and had everything you needed with a view overlooking the inside of the shopping centre which was quite unique. Naturally I got the taxi driver from the airport who had no idea where it was but it seems if you say opposite Tiffanys they seem to know. Concierge desk was very helpful as well. Overall, I can t say enough about how much this hotel lives up to expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Excellent hotel all round. Nice staff. Very modern and stylish rooms, very recently updated. Great natural light. Nice pool. Bar and restaurant on site are very good. Excellent location , with all the city's conveniences at your door.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney_AustraliaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We're currently staying here for four days on a romantic short break and I'm glad I chose Novotel on Collins. To say it's conveniently located would be an understatement. In the first two days that we have been here, we used the trams outside the hotel on multiple occasions to go to all parts of Melbourne (ie. DFO SouthWharf, South Melbourne, Chapel Street, Bridge Road, Fitzroy).
We bought a local travel card called Myki and only spent $12 for the two days we've been using public transport.

The hotel itself is attached to a shopping centre and you can literally walk anywhere in the CBD in a matter of minutes. If not, just catch a tram. I downloaded the tram network map onto my iPad so it was really easy to work out which one to take to go somewhere specific.

Restaurants are aplenty and cater for all tastes and budgets. Elizabeth Street and Swanton Street are abuzz at almost all hours so you'll find something to buy or eat easily.

The staff at the hotel from the concierge to the reception staff have been outstanding and I must commend them on such high quality customer service. We noticed, havng stayed at a few Accor hotels in the past few months, that customer service has been consistently high standard so we must mention it here.

We were given an upgraded room on the 9th floor and while the view isn't great, the room was very spacious and the lounge chair and sofa they have add a touch of luxury to the room. We can't hear any noise from outside at all despite being in the centre of a very busy CBD. It's amazing.
The only negative is the lack of access to inhouse movies and cable TV channels as they're installing a new audi visual system at the moment. However, we didn't come to Melbourne to watch TV and there're other things to do that are more enjoyable anyway.

The gym and pool/spa are located conveniently across the shopping centre atrium so you're overloooking it from above. It's hard to explain but it's a nice layout and well equipped gym. Imagine the shopping centre sharing the first three floors with the hotel and the rest of the building is made up of rooms and 'sits' above the shopping centre.

There is free internet access on the reception floor courtesy of 3 iMacs near the lifts. A nice touch allowing guests to check their emails or surf the net without having to pay for it.

We're having a great time in Melbourne and this hotel has made it that extra special. Tomorrow night, we're going to the theatres and it's 200m from the hotel! What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#41 of 159 in Melbourne
4,414 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing