We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoy the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #62 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“enjoy the stay”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Good and big rooms for my family - 2 double bed and large spaces for the kids. it was clean and modern design.

At the heart of Melbourne City and close to all the shopping areas and tram/train stations.

Excellent service provided.

Area of improvements....perhaps more umbrellas at the concierge which shouldn't be too difficult.

gym/swimming pool is not working at my point of stay but they made arrangement at nearby locations. not a big issue for me though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your post. It is not easy travelling with children but it was good that my team, and the services we provide made it easy. There is always improvements that can be made and without feedback we would not strive for it. With Melbourne’s ever changeable weather we will always need more umbrella’s. Keep enjoying travelling and stay safe.

Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,733
    1,927
    526
    125
    80
See reviews for
1,148
1,617
332
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is rated 4 star if i remembered correctly.
However i wouldn't stay this hotel based on the 4 Stars or 5 Stars or 6 Stars. The main reason why i am staying at Novotel Melbourne on Collins is the location. It is really near to Flinders St Station and you could possibly tour and visit Melbourne CBD area really easy.

Tram rides and train rides is easy and convenient.

Hotel is really clean and nice, except that the hotel do not have a nice view despite i am staying on Level 14, the highest level.
My room window view can look at the shopping center below, but i would pretty much prefer a better view, so you might want to request to the reception on your booking for a better view.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your travels. Indeed, we are very centrally located Hotel right in the heart of the city and build above a shopping centre. I was pleased that because of our central location it was easy for you to explore Melbourne. Hopefully you can travel and visit again as there is more to see and do in Melbourne.
Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I can't recall ever having such a good night sleep in hotel. The room was very spacious. The staff are helpful and friendly. When a man, who was not a guest, came into area the entry complaining of chest pains the staff sprang into action.

I look forward to staying there again

Useful tip is the hotel has scales so you can check your baggage weight before the airport,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your post. It is the little things that are important as well and I thank you for acknowledging the positive way my team deals with each situation. Pleased we achieved everything and more you wanted during your visit and because of this you will stay again. We very much look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at Novotel Melbourne on Collins for Derby Day during the Melbourne Cup Carnival & the first thing that surprised me was reception was on the 1st floor-you had to catch a lift to get to it. I was able to check in early which was great so I could dump my stuff & explore the city & make use of a full day out. The room had been refurbished & was in great condition, most of the rooms overlook the Mall rather than the street so it was rather quiet which you can't put a price on.

Big LCD TV, tea/coffee making facilities, nice bathroom amenities & lots of pillows on the comfy bed so I did sleep very well on both nights. The hotel is close to Bourke Street Mall, Flinders Street Station so shopping & transport is too easy. I used the hotel's business computers to check in for my return flight to Sydney but had problems printing my boarding pass which was easily fixed by one of the girls at reception who printed it for me-must be a 'Mac' thing....
All in all I can highly recommend this hotel purely for it's excellent location, friendly staff & reasonable rates for a city hotel. My only negative was that I couldn't find the bath plug to have a bath after a huge day out at the races!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolhand62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for having stayed with us recently. I am pleased you found the location easy to get around and I thank you for commenting on my teams friendly and helpful attitude. Perhaps we can see you on a future visit where you can totally relax once more.

Sincerely,
Hayden Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#41 of 159 in Melbourne
4,417 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing