We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #60 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Helpful staff great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I had a single room with 2 queen beds on the 8th floor. for 3 nights.There is an adjoining shopping arcade next door. There is also a laneway nearly opposite to Spencer St. Station which is helpful.
One problem in Melbourne if you get public transport you need to pay $6 for a Miki card, like a credit card to buy tickets for the trains and trams.I'm not sure about the buses.
I did a very good tour of the Town Hall which is just a few minutes walk to the left when you come out of the hotel.
The showers give good pressure considering they use water saving devices. The bath is good but could be a bit deeper. The TV is good with a yoga workout and the pool is OK although a little small.
The staff are on the ball and very helpful.I was off to a wedding when the button on my suit jacket came off. The man at reception sewed it on for me on the spot and did a first class job.
I had a problem with the mini bar and the reception staff gave me the benefit of the doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank etsu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,691
    1,882
    511
    124
    77
See reviews for
1,119
1,585
325
776
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Probably because I stay in this hotel a few times a month I got a recent upgrade.

Loved the really comfy Eames style chair & it was very comfortable to work from.

Valet parking is $35AUD a day but always worth it for the convenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bodmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I must say I was a bit skeptical when I first arrived at the hotel as the entrance was kind of small and hidden among the shops.

But once I've arrived at the reception and was served by the friendly reception officer, my view has changed.

The hotel was well located in CBD within good walking distance to some good cafes, restaurants and shopping. Everything was within 5-15mins walk. Trams and trains were also easily accessible.

I stayed in a standard room with a queen bed which I found a bit too small to my liking but it works just fine. I wish they have firmer pillows though.

Bathroom was small but refurbished to a modern design. A slight disappointment on the toiletries. Only bath gel and 2 in 1 shampoo was provided. The shampoo wasn't great for someone with long hair like myself. Cotton wool, cotton buds and body lotion was provided which is downside for me.

Wifi was also not available in the room and I had to subscribe to daily data roaming using my mobile phone. Most hotels these days provide free wifi in the entire hotel. That could be something Novotel should look into.

Ohh...and I love that they provide red apples at the reception where you can pick one up on the way in or out of the hotel :) Australian apples are sooo yummy!

On the whole, it's a well located hotel and good enough if you're not looking for a 5 star treatment with turndown service. I would definitely stay there again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellyellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed recently for four nights on business.
Location is great being right in the centre of one of the main shopping areas. There are lots of restuarants, coffee shops and shops right on the doorstep of the hotel.
The reception is on the sixth floor although concierge desk is at ground level. The staff are pleasant, friendly and efficient.
The public areas are fine - some room to sit and a fairly open plan bar area/restaurant. It's not particulary enticing to hang about in.
The rooms are large with all the usual amenities. In a city known for its coffee though, some real coffee in the room woudl have been nice rather than a couple of small sachets of instant coffee. The rooms were clean.
The bathroom was a wet room and was clean and well appointed.
My window looked out into the very top of the interior of a shopping mall - it certainly wasn't much of a view.
As there were so many inviting places very close nearby for breakfast, I didn't eat at the hotel at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hc1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

On a our first trip to Australia this hotel was the very first we stayed in. Its position in the center of Melbourne was ideal to explore the city center on foot, as well as being very close to tram, bus and rail transport facilities so we could easily visit other parts of this great city. We were on a room only basis which suited us both as there were many cafes, restaurants and pubs within walking distance of the hotel. The only downside to our stay was that our room was adjacent to the service lift and the laundry was delivered at 06.00 hours which is when we were subjected to lots of banging a thuds, so avoid room 925, otherwise the room was superb and very spacious.

Room Tip: Not room 925, unless you like getting up at 06.00 hours, it is next to the service lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing