We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Merlbourne” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #61 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Merlbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Being surcharged 1.5% on Amex was only disappointment - with the potential business the company should be able to have this surcharged deleted.
Central position with many attractions within close walking distance

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gordon J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Gordon J H,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that unlike NZ in Australia most businesses pass on the cost of using a Credit card via a surcharge fee to the user. This helps us to keep the keep our prices consistent and not pass on fee's to guests who do not use this service. Feedback such as yours allows us to identify area's of improvement and I thank you for noting that all other aspect of your stay were to your liking.
Regards,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,691
    1,882
    512
    124
    77
See reviews for
1,119
1,585
325
777
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

From the moment we walked in we were greeted by fantastic staff. Everyone was very accommodating, the receptionist was fantastic. The room was clean and modern.
The downside was the bed, super uncomfy and the pillows couldn't find the right one.
One thing I couldn't understand was the shower, you have to get into the shower to turn it on, which was really silly. So if you turn the knob too hot, you have to put your arm into the hot water to turn it.
Loved how it was close to everything and overall pretty happy. Would stay there again! But perhaps would get a room with a king bed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainyllane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Amazing really, from the street it seems so small but you go up 6 floors to the reception level and then the hotel is HUGE. Food was great (only had breakfast there after staying for conference). The room was really comfy and well appointed. they look in to central atrium type space so you feel that there is natural light. the upside of that was the absence of any street noise/traffic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth Town
Level Contributor
330 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here in the basic room for 3 nights. The location is very good, just a short walk to tram stops, the mall and down to federation square. The standard room is small but the facilities for a four star hotel were good. Fantastic bed, very comfortable, great pillow and doona. The TV is large with reasonable selection of channels, had all the fox sports channels. Good touch control curtains that blocked out the light very we'll. the bathroom a little small but a great large shower.
The service was polite but restrained in the restaurant and bar.
The breakfast was acceptable, a good range but the quality was not that high.
The pool area though not large was a nice extra for us.
I would return if the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbfun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

most memorable thing in the hotel... condescending 'night receptionist' Stephen. Never have i met such a rude hotel staff member..... rooms nice, location great. But at the end of the day the staff maketh the experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietripper_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear aussietripper_8

I do apologise that you did'nt have an enjoyable stay with us. I would like to discuss the interaction you had with one of my staff, could you please email me on antony.platford@accor.com or call me on 03 9667 5800.

kind regards

Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

As Accor Advantage Plus members we used out free night and paid for an upgrade to a larger room to help accommodated our two kids aged 4 and 3 months in March. We received contact from the hotel a day or two before arriving to confirm our stay which was a nice touch.

When we booked we requested a cot to be in the room and noted the age of our kids. When we checked in it was very busy, with a few professional sporting teams staying at the hotel that same weekend. However we were checked in quite quickly and without issue, while our kids were spoiled with some soft toys.

Our room was made up already, with the sofa bed made for our elder daughter, the and cot also prepared ready to go. In hotels where we have previously stayed, we have needed to contact concierge to have the beds/cot set up but not this time.

The room was very clean and tidy, as was the bathroom. No issues at all.

We did not book the restaurant for dinner which was a mistake given how busy the hotel was. However the restaurant staff made some room to accommodate us around the corner and we felt we had the area to ourselves - we really appreciated this as our kids were tired and hungry (at least the 4 year old was). The food was very good without being outstanding - we could not really complain.

We also dined at the restaurant for buffet breakfast the next morning. The selection on offer was decent but nowhere near the variety available at other hotels we have stayed at in Melbourne, interstate or overseas. However the food was very good and our eldest daughter loved it! They were a little slow in replenishing some of the buffet items but that was probably the only thing we could really fault.

We were granted a late checkout (12 noon) which was appreciated also. Overall out stay was memorable and our daughter wants to stay in hotels all the time now!

The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Despite sharing the room with a baby that does not yet sleep through the night and a 4 year old, we all managed a great sleep.

The location of the hotel is also a great selling point - right in the middle of the city and all the shopping one could hope for. Plenty of dining options around too.

Room Tip: Ask for a view south of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redback_Venom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

First time stay, just one night but very impressed by staff, accommodation and facilities. Upgrade offered without request. Quality of room exceptional. So impressed I immediately joined their loyalty programme!

Room Tip: Room located on higher level but as first 4 floors are a retail precinct, I would imagine all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancelot-sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,054 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Southall Travel so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing