We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for the early check in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #60 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Thanks for the early check in”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After flying for 9 hours, it's very nice to get an early check in so we can got rest before taking a walk in the evening. Friendly staff and receptionist.

The location is good, centrally located on Collins Street, the block arcade is next door, there are some nice Italian restaurants in this place, the price of main course is aroud AUD 20-30 and water is free. Across the street there is an alley to degrave street where there are cafes and directly to Flinders Street where the train station is located. Cole supermarket is 1 block away near the Flinders station. It's also near Bourke Street Mall. Fast food chains, subways, McD, KFC are near the hotel.

I booked a room with sofa bed since we traveled with young children, and the room is quite big. The room was also clean and wifi was free. We booked directly to the hotel website and the price was reasonable.

However there were some drawbacks, i.e. we didn't get the room that facing the street instead we got the room facing the inside of a shopping mall which was closed for the renovation, the bed and pillows were too soft and not too comfortable, same for the sofabed. But I guess we can't got everything that we want. The AC was noisy and the wall was quite thin as I can heard people talking from the room next door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your review and having stayed with us. It is not easy travelling with children and I was pleased that we had been able to help with the early check in. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the outlook of your room but all our Executive rooms are internally facing and do not come with an option of an external view. I would like to apology that not everything was as you expected but you mentioned you enjoyed your all over stay. Thank you.
Stay safe whilst travelling.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,711
    1,896
    515
    124
    78
See reviews for
1,130
1,600
328
784
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Loved being right in the middle of the Melbourne shopping district. Great hotel. Clean and tidy. Great staff who again was very helpful. Can recommend this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights with 2 children age 8 and 10 and they were very comfortable there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for telling us about your recent experience and for having chosen to stay with us. Most encouraging for my team to know that they left such a wonderful impression on you and the family. You recommendation and compliment are appreciated. Stay safe whilst travelling and keep collecting many more happy memories.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I had an enjoyable stay hotel is in an excellent location, the staff were very friendly, my room was nice and clean, my bed and pillow were both very comfortable, i will definately stay there next time i come to melbourne

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for you review. I was happy to read that we lived up to your expectations and that you will stay with us again. My friendly team will be welcoming you back when you visit Melbourne next time.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed in June while on business. Great hotel in central location with easy access to all Melbourne has to offer. Staff were very pleasant, professional and efficient. Room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast in the café was very good. FYI just need to get the tiles fixed in the lift!
Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrens_of_Conder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your recent patronage and your complimentary review. I was pleased to read that you will stay with us again because of the friendly service you received. As for the tiles, we have called in contractors to find the best solution for our busy little Hotel so we will not have the same issues again. Hopefully when we see you in the future you can notice the improvement.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94022
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The location of this hotel is EXCELLENT. You are right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. 3 blocks to the river. Close to all the excellent graffiti displays, food lanes, major shopping, the free tram and lots of restaurants nearby.

The service of the hotel is great. We check in early (10am) but the room is not ready. We left the luggage at the luggage storage room. They called later to inform me that the room is ready and when we got back, they have already moved our luggage into the room. Nice.

The room is small but has everything and was nicely layout. TV, A/C, lights, bathroom, everything works well. The window is facing the internal arcade (shopping mall) but the mall is closed for renovation.

We have the following complaints ...
1. The pool's water does not look clean at all. It is down right cloudy. And the spa is full of bubbles also.
2. WIFI is not free. We ended up using my mobile phone as an AP for our PCs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank my8286432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your patronage and review. I will investigate your feedback about the Hotel pool and Spa as a high priority. This is a surprise and genuine concern as we have consistent and thorough Hotel inspections and cleaning routines of all guest area's. I was delighted to read that all other aspects of your stay will leave a positive impression and thank you for your honest and positive feedback.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
1,905 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 158 in Melbourne
4,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing