We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Central Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #61 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Central Hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel is close to the Mall, Southern Cross Station, Southbank, Casino, Tram & walking distance to china town.
We had a smooth check-in & check-out process & they held our bags for us until our late departure. The bar has happy hour between 5.30 - 6.30pm which we used both nights of our stay. The room was on the 14th floor and very spacious. Tea, coffee & milk provided and the staff were happy to replenish on our 2nd day. The pillows are very soft, so either byo or you may have to ask for another. There was a spare in the cupboard but this was very soft also. The lighting in the bathroom is not very good for doing your makeup.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazyraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your time to post a positive review. Wonderful to read that our location and the services we provide made for such an enjoyable time in Melbourne. Should you plan a future visit please ask my team ( which is friendly and helpful as you know ) about our pillow menu. Surely we can find a pillow that makes for a perfect sleep. Hopefully you will visit again.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,722
    1,911
    521
    124
    79
See reviews for
1,140
1,608
330
794
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Positives - Great location, comfortable beds, spacious room; we were on floor 14.
Worth paying for the location and the other comforts of being right in the city.
Our room was very clean, overlooked Collins Street and was quite spacious. A very pleasant stay for 6 nights.


Negatives - The food was not great - first night after a long flight we got attitude from one of the male staff at the bar; when the food was not right.
Hence we only did one meal there out of the 6 days there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stargate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your having chosen to stay with us and for your review. I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations with everything , but I appreciate knowing what we need to do better and apologise for the manner you were treated. It is good that you had enjoyable time in Melbourne and we played a part in it by supplying the hardware. Thank you for being constructive with your comment which I will share with my team as we continuously strive to improve all our services. We would love to have the opportunity welcome you back for another visit.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Have used this hotel irregularly over the past many years and still love it. Location is great as it is close to theatre precinct, Southbank, Casino, etc. Everything seems to be done with a minimum of fuss and a smile on their faces--clearly the staff are happy to work here. Breakfast was the usual buffet style but there are other possibilities for those who don't want to eat the whole cooked breakfast and therefore priced accordingly---I hate having to pay full buffet price for a coffee and a croissant in some other venues. Our room was very clean, overlooked Collins Street and the spire of the Arts Centre and was quite spacious. A very pleasant stay to compliment our night at Les Miserables.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank annemareeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your time to post a detailed review. How wonderful to read that our central location and my happy, smiley team make it a joy to stay with us. We have listened to feedback and not everybody wanted to eat full buffet breakfast so I am pleased that this choice we made is well received by you and others. I certainly hope we can welcome you back for a future visit as there are so many more exciting shows planned.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton NSW
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed at the Novotel on collins street for a 2 night stay with my family. We stayed in a family room which accommodated my wife and 2 kids with my mum in the room opposite. The Room was adequate given the price which was very good. The best thing about our stay was the location, we were right in the heart of melbourne CBD with everything just a walk away. the staff were very good getting us an early check in and late checkout. Will definitely stay here again, a great spot!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BulaBoy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience via trip advisor. We love to see you and the family back on a future stay.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Positives - Great location, comfortable beds, spacious room. Negatives - we booked a room for 3 people but the sofa bed was not made when we arrived in the evening and there were only 3 towels in the bathroom. Also, there was a used tissue and lots of dust behind the bedside table.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Novotel-Melbourne, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review and constructive feedback which is very helpful to us. Please accept my sincerest apology about not having delivered on our promises. This is certainly not what we are known for and I am very sorry that you had a disappointing experience. As a team we will pay more attention to the fine details and thank you for letting us know that this is an area where we need to improve. Hopefully we can impress you on a future visit and prove to you that we can offer the total package.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing