We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Comfortable Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #64 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Comfortable Room”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The rooms were newly renovated and they're very comfortable and clean. The design of the bathroom and shower has to be improved as the bathtub was very slippery, my wife and my kid fell while they're taking bath, luckily it's just minor injury. The overall experience was good, the location was excellent, very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clement1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and review. I was very pleased to read that you and the family enjoyed the Hotel’s central location as well as the services we provide. At Novotel we make every effort to ensure our guests safety and well being and I am concerned to read about your families incident. I will be double checking that all rooms have signs that non slippery bathmats are available on request. I have send a private message to you via trip advisor as I would like to make certain your family is well.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,739
    1,940
    529
    129
    80
See reviews for
1,155
1,624
336
812
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Great location and again the staff most helpful and friendly. Great hotel; for a stay in the city. If yo are looking to have a great place to relax and get to the city site easy then this is a great place to stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you so much for your time to provide a positive review. We do have some wonderful loyal, regular guests who appreciate every little thing we do.
We look forward to give a warm welcome back on a future stay.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Very nice. Position of the hotel is excellent close to everything. But most of all this rating for the Novotel is because of the excellent staff. They were extremely helpful and pleasant. Always an area that can let an otherwise good hotel down. No such problem for the Novotel. Thanks.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TrishW182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. My team will be thrilled to get your feedback and I am sure it will inspire them to maintain the high level of service you loved.
Thank you again for your patronage, I appreciate your comment and look forward to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My partner and I had a very enjoyable 4 night stay here last week. We were so impressed by the location. This hotel is in the middle of town and within walking distance to a lot of the main Melbourne attractions. There is a tram stop right outside and you can buy a Myki card and get around easily on the trams. It is also a short walk to Flinder Street Station if you want to get a train somewhere.

There are superb restaurants and cafes nearby. If you want a treat for dinner, I would recommend dining at the No. 35 restaurant at the Sofitel Hotel which is at the "Paris end" of Collins Street and is walking distance from this hotel. The views are fantastic.

The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. The facilities are great to. The swimming pool is very warm, but too small to swim lengths. The nearby spa is lovely to use after a day of walking around sightseeing.

Our room was on the 13th floor and very quiet. The room itself was nice and appeared to be quite modern. I only have 2 recommendations about this hotel: 1) the beds are quite small, our bed was more like a double than a queen, 2) the lighting in the rooms is terrible. If you are planning to stay here on business, the light in the rooms is not suitable to allow you to work in the rooms. The lighting is fine if you are simply on holiday and not needing to read important documents.

I would definitely stay here again, this hotel is very affordable and the location cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience. It was wonderful to read that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improving our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Location: unbeatable, in the heart of Collins street close to everything.

Room: Clean and modern, nothing fancy. Bathroom small, but functional. Our room had a view of the internal court yard, which made our room very quiet. The automatic block out blinds were great.

Food: I had dinner at the bar and the food and the selection were great, service was a little surly and slow however.

Overall, a nice hotel nothing flash. It’s all about the location!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay with us. I apologise you were not dealt with in a friendly manner and I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team. On a pleasing note I am happy that you made the most Hotel's excellent location and that we offered a peaceful retreat. We would love to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#43 of 160 in Melbourne
4,528 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing