We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good quality, well located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #69 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The novotel is a funny brand. It sits between budget 'room only' brands and upmarket luxury brands. It's not 5 star but it's certainly not 'budget'. The novotel always feels like it's full of people who need to be staying somewhere but don't want to stay in pure 'budget' accommodation.

Novotel on collins is positioned amongst the coffee shop district of melbourne, with an easy walk out the back door down to the block arcade (worth while visiting if you are a visitor) or across the road to central place and degraves street, both amazing little hidden lanes with boutique coffee shops and food.

It's a short stroll from the hotel to the train (either Flinders Street or Southern Cross station) if you need to get around by train, it's no more than 5 minutes by foot to Melbourne Central and the main shopping mall's of Melbourne.

Currently there is a significant refurb of Australia on Collins so the usual 'bustle' of shops that you look over is just a big empty shopping mall. It will be interesting to see the re-open as in my mind it's an integral part of the hotel.

Rooms are well appointed and quiet, the executive rooms are huge, better in size than some 'higher level' brands in the Accorr chain of hotels at a significantly lower price. Bathrooms are modern and overall the rooms are comfortable and appealing.

For interstaters going to events at Etihad Stadium, this is an ideal location.

For those considering staying at Novotel, Sofitel etc, it's well worth investing in an Accor club card, even for a single stay you will find the discounts worth it.

This hotel isn't 'trendy', I wouldn't call it romantic and it's not boutique, but it's a great place to stay if you don't want to spend a small fortune and you don't want to feel like your staying at a backpackers.

On site restaurant and bar area is great with good food (for a hotel...) if you are sitting around waiting for an event.

Checkin-Checkout can get busy in the morning so make sure you allow enough time. Cars are parked offsite so factor this in if you are getting a valet to bring your car back - they have to walk to the garage and get it, and then fight the melbourne traffic to the front door of the hotel. There is curb side drop off only and it can get ferociously busy out the front during peak hour.

Room Tip: 8 floor and above, looking into the atrium are the nicest rooms. Personally the executive suites ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris_7777_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for writing a detailed review of your stay with us. It was nice to read that you enjoyed all aspects your stay and I appreciate your comment. Your observation are valued, important and honest. Australia on Collins is undergoing an exciting refurbishment and will reopen late 2015 and then I am sure the "bustle " will return.
Thank you for having been with us and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 4,492 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel definitely well located on Collins in the CBD but before you rush off to make a reservation bear in mind that most of the rooms do not have windows that face outside.....many if not most, have windows that front on to an enclosed and currently deserted shopping mall - this means that there is limited natural light and your room will be dark - I needed the lights on all of the time, both day and night.

A couple of things that also irritated me were the expensive add-ons (internet access, breakfast etc) and the fact that the gym is very basic given the number of rooms and sort of sits on a balcony within the mall.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank rocdoc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your stay.
I do apologise that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay with us. We always strive for superior service so it is disappointing that we have not been able to meet your expectations in a number of areas. The hotel is build above The Australia on Collins Shopping complex will undergo a refurbishment with the completion date being late 2015. We are slowly making changes to Internet inclusion and especially if you are a member of our loyalty Club Internet is complimentary. We take on board your comments and we will work hard to ensure we improve the areas you have mentioned.
Once again please accept my apologies and thank you again for your valuable input .
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Wow, it would be a few years since I have stayed at Novotel and what have I been missing. Love the refurb that has been completed. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Great location in Collins Street, easy walk to Crown, Flinders Street Station, and Bourke Street Mall. Lindt cafe is over the road which is a plus. Only disappointment was the shower as it is narrow, which it makes it hard to reach the taps, without getting doused with cold water, and the check in area can be quite congested with customer's while foot traffic are trying to access elevators. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Macleej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for time to provide detailed feedback about your recent experience with us. It was wonderful to welcome you back but more pleasing that you liked the changes we made to the Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from 3 night stay at Novotel on Collins in Melbourne. The hotel location is perfect for anyone wanting a central Melbourne CBD location. The hotel is a 1 min stroll from the mall and Flinders Street station is easily accessible via the fabulous Degraves Lane.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and readily able to provide local information and insights.

Our room (Twin double bed room on 8th floor) was clean, tidy and well appointed. The beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the shower water pressure was good.

The only low feature of the hotel was the staggered entrance guests have to undertake to access their rooms. Guest enter the hotel via Collins street, taking the elevator to 6th floor. Guest exit the elevator, walk past reception and then have to enter a second elevator bank to access their room. During high flow check-in / check-out times, walking past reception could be difficult.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank VickiA331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience via trip advisor. Our location is central to get around town and I will pass your comment about my teams knowledgeable service on to them. They do pride themselves on their friendly level of service and will be pleased to know it helped and was appreciated. Our entrance from street level is small and needing 2 points of entry does deter some non guests from walking around common ground. We look at as a positive as it adds a little more safety and privacy once you are in your room. How happy to read that everything was perfect and I thank you for having chosen us.
Hopefully you can visit again in the future as there is so much more to explore in Melbourne.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Our first time staying at this hotel - but will most definitely be back. The location is perfect for the city side; the rooms were lovely - big, immaculate and comfortable; plus the service at both reception and the bar was terrific. Our room looked out to Collins Street but I'm sure it wouldn't matter which side you stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your patronage and time to provide feedback. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return visit and thank you for complimenting my team.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night but loved this hotel - great location and easy check in. I had requested a high floor room when booking online and was put on the 14th floor - very quiet and clean room. The breakfast was very nice with lots of variety and although busy the staff were efficient and had everything topped up. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank chillibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for lovely feedback. I was delighted to read that we made such a wonderful impression on your short stay. Your patronage is much appreciated as we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The rooms were newly renovated and they're very comfortable and clean. The design of the bathroom and shower has to be improved as the bathtub was very slippery, my wife and my kid fell while they're taking bath, luckily it's just minor injury. The overall experience was good, the location was excellent, very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clement1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words and review. I was very pleased to read that you and the family enjoyed the Hotel’s central location as well as the services we provide. At Novotel we make every effort to ensure our guests safety and well being and I am concerned to read about your families incident. I will be double checking that all rooms have signs that non slippery bathmats are available on request. I have send a private message to you via trip advisor as I would like to make certain your family is well.
Sincerely,
Antony Platford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,993 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 162 in Melbourne
5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 270 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £109 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing