We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest on Lonsdale
Ranked #121 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights on a work trip, was doing a series of interviews in the room and the staff were extremely helpful with sorting out people as they arrived to see me. Location is great, just a short 5 minute walk and you are in the very centre of Melbourne, and China town is just around the corner, were there some great places to eat.
The only down side was the heating left a bit to be desired so the room got cold in the evening. otherwise it was quite comfortable

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    100
    82
    35
    28
See reviews for
58
74
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Service staff are nice but the rooms are quite basic. Older 70s style rooms and amenities. Heating control was an older style dial-based control which did not work! Room was quite cold. Water from the taps and showers take a long time to heat up. This place advertises free broadband but it's extremely slow to the point that you're better off not having it at all! It is very convenient though - heart of the city, close to everything. Then again because it is on the main road, noises from the street can wake you up! Overall well-suited for young travellers, backpackers etc who are looking for something short-term and very basic. For those who prioritize comfort, I would suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tee432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Tee432,
Thank you for your review of Quest on Lonsdale, we appreciate your open and honest feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our prime location.
I have noted the issues you had with slow internet, which is unusual and I will follow this up with our IT support. It is likely that you had exceeded the daily limit of 300MB - after this limit is exhausted, the connection will slow considerably. This limit allows for ample internet use for emails etc, but is in place to avoid abuse of the internet connection whereby guests are downloading many movies and therefore slowing down the internet connecton for our other guests.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Quest on Lonsdale again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Only stayed for one night but was very happy with it!! Staff were super friendly and accomadated to our late check in!! Close enough to inner city prob could find something a little bettet priced closet to inner city !! Parking is not that easy and pretty pricely!! Overall it was a good stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lusana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Lusana L,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Quest on Lonsdale - of course we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your property and I will pass on your excellent comments to our reception team.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The location is close to restaurants & shopping, and the staff are friendly & helpful. The rooms are on the small side, but have quality beds, sheets & pillows and are all you could want as a base to work or play in Melbourne.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
368 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed here last November travelling alone and was quite happy with my room and the service.

On this occasion my husband and I were travelling together from the UK for work. We were booked in for 14 nights, the first apart we were allocated was tiny with a small wardrobe containing an iron board etc and barley room for one persons weekend clothes, let alone 2 people for 2 weeks.

We asked for an alternative room and this was sorted pretty quickly. The rooms are serviced daily and clean linen provided every third day.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. We felt that the service was friendly but not really exceptional.
The lifts were also out for a day or two while we were there, a problem if you have heavy luggage.

I have to say I will stay elsewhere on my next visit to Melbourne I'm afraid. It does the job though.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Room was small but excellent. Recently renovated so good new fixtures. Was disappointed as they listed having sbs but did not (just unlucky that it was tour de France weekend!). Also their lift wasn't working (took a great deal of time to arrive). But overall the room and location was great!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed at Quest during an overnight business trip to Melbourne. We booked through lastminute.com.au.
It's hard to find a cheaper and more central location that will actually accept 1 night bookings!
We booked a studio, but were upgraded to a 1 bedroom which was a nice surprise. The bed was comfy and the room was clean but a little run down. There were broken hooks in the bathroom and burn marks on the kithen bench. For our purposes though, it really didn't matter.
For a longer stay I probably would have raved about the convenience of the kitchenette and seperate lougne area. Also the fact that our room looked directly at the skyrise next door meant no view... but more importantly no street noise, which was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest on Lonsdale, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear B888,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Our team places great emphasis on customer care and we are pleased to hear that you found the property to be great value for money.
We hope to have you return to Quest on Lonsdale again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#74 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Quest on Bourke
Quest on Bourke
#107 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#79 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#129 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Lonsdale

Property: Quest on Lonsdale
Address: 43 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Oakford Gordon Towers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Lonsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Lonsdale provides 4 star serviced apartments in the centre of Melbourne. Located at 43 Lonsdale Street, between Spring and Exhibition Streets, Quest on Lonsdale is at the heart of the theatre, restaurants and government departments. Melbourne's key attractions are all within walking distance or if you prefer, a short tram ride. With apartments suitable for long term stays, Quest on Lonsdale can offer weekly and monthly rates for extended corporate and leisure accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quest on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing