We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with wonderful city views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great Location with wonderful city views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

The Parkview Hotel was a lovely clean hotel wit friendly staff and tidy and comfortable rooms. The beds are large and soft with a pillow menu for those who want that extra comfort.

All in all a great hotel, we will definitely return....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiceoflifetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    1,031
    172
    44
    29
See reviews for
457
1,122
134
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here one night with my partner, after booking the romance package on wotif. It included free parking, late checkout, free dinner in the restaurant and free breakfast. It was good value, the food was yummy and we had a decent size room which was clean and quiet.
The view from my room on the 9th floor was stunning.
I would suggest you book if your eating in the restaurant just in case.
Also, when we arrived the mini-bar was locked, a quick call to reception and half an hour later it was unlocked.
I would stay here again on this romance deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We only stayed the one night, but the hotel was every thing we could wish for. Well appointed, clean modern and spacious with a view. The receptiom area gave us a very welcoming feeling.
We did eat in the restaurant, but thought the food was just average for the price. Service and ambiance were great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

For my $129 I was not expecting much. My corporate style room made me feel so welcome and comfortable. Well designed great impressive bathroom. $10 for safe over night parking. Oh I forgot to say my price included use of the top floor with sky city view use of the SPA..... Very impressed with staff when checking in and out.

Room Tip: Check the location of your room as the specials are normally at the back of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed here for two nights and found it pretty good.

The room I was in had been recently refurbished and was very well-equipped, with nice linen and excellent amenities.

Bizarrely, the mini-bars are locked and you have to ring reception to get someone sent up to unlock it. I didn't discover this until after I'd got ready for bed on the first night, so no water for me. This wowser attitude is very unusual, I don't think I've ever struck it before in 30 years of business travel. I can only imagine that some senior manager at the hotel has an obsession. I had to ring twice and it took nearly 1/2 an hour to get access which is, frankly, ridiculous.

The restaurant and bar was cheerful and the staff very friendly. I had breakfast there both days. It was an above average buffet, apart from a lack of choice in the fresh fruit (3 kinds of melon and pineapple). There was plenty of room in the restaurant, and good coffee was available as an option.

The internet access was relatively expensive which is disappointing for a hotel which, I imagine, gets a lot of business travelers. At that price I wasn't going to connect, so not sure if it was capped as well as dear.

The location is good, being in St Kilda, unsurprisingly, overlooking a park! It is a 20-30 minute walk to the St Kilda beach and shopping area which is a nice sort of bohemian place with a huge variety of cafes and quirky shops. There is a very frequent tram service down St Kilda road as well, with a stop right outside the hotel.

I would be happy to stay here again, but I would ask for the mini-bar to be unlocked on my booking request, and certainly immediately on arrival.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnascroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our two-night stay at Parkview Hotel, St. Kilda. We were immediately impressed with the bustling and bright foyer when we arrived on a Friday night. It was busy, the restaurant was full, but it wasn't too noisy or uncomfortable. People seemed to be relaxed and enjoying themselves in the warm and inviting atmosphere.

The room was very nice. The bed was very comfortable; my wife and I have quite different preferences for pillows, but thankfully the pillow menu catered for us both, ensuing we had restful sleep each night. The heavy curtains blocked out the glow of the city. The heating was perfect, we could adjust the thermometer and feel comfortable within a couple of short minutes.

The bathroom was tidy and clean. I loved the shower. No cumbersome door, just a simple shallow recess and a fixed panel of glass, with contemporary tiling.

We had a buffet breakfast each morning and found everything on offer to be fresh and tasty. Poached eggs were prepared and delivered to my table on request. Nice assorted pastries, cereal, juice, yoghurt... nothing was missing and I made sure I had my share! Again, despite being full each morning, the restaurant seemed relaxed and I could enjoy breakfast, coffee and newspaper in relative peace and quiet.

Nice to have a great place to stay within a short travel to the City. We will be back!

Room Tip: First floor seemed to be the only floor with a balcony. It was nice to step outside and watch the gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Hi Jus d
Thanks for your great review we really appreciate it. Hope to see you back soon.


Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight on a Romance Package with dinner at the Lime Restaurant included. Nice clean Hotel. Very helpful staff. Excellent meal and service. Oh and our room had a beautiful view. Only thing we would have liked extra was a spa in our room. Thank you Parkview :)

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank itchypalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Hi itchypalms
Thanks for your great review we really appreciate it. There is a spa in our rooftop Atrium area that is available from 6.00 am to 11.00 pm, not quite the same as having one in your room though I know.


Kind Regards
Andrew Goldfinch
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Property: Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing