We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst service in a hotel ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Mildura, Australia
1 review
“The worst service in a hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

If I could give this hotel a minus rating I would. During a 5 day stay I had numerous mistakes of overcharging, incompetent staff, internal miscommunication, unsympathetic staff, door cards not working. Every single interaction or transaction with a staff member ended up being a mistake. This place is a disaster. Quality of the rooms good and location handy but dont make the same mistake I did. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else!!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank fionaparkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hi Fiona Parkinson

Thanks for your review; we appreciate all feedback, good and bad, to help us improve our business. Firstly I’d like to apologise for how unhappy you were with your stay, it is always our intention to make every guest’s stay a pleasant experience at the Parkview. We believe that we achieve this when reading the vast of majority of reviews on Trip Advisor. It extremely concerns me that this obviously was not the case during your stay.

From the little information I am able to find it appears that an Accounting Error may have occurred when we did not have authorisation to charge your nominated organisation. When we finally received this authorisation we did make a mistake and not note it on your booking, thus charging your credit card in error. I believe this was immediately credited once we had realised the error.

Your comments about the staff being incompetent and unsympathetic are very uncharacteristic however I will raise your comments with my front line team.

The key card system works on a proximity chip, which our records show, had a 98% success rate in the month of November. I apologise that your card did not work.

If you’d like to discuss your stay with me further please don’t hesitate to contact me at the hotel on 9529 8888.

Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,299
    1,027
    172
    43
    29
See reviews for
452
1,119
134
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drysdale, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I booked a special package for one night at this hotel for our Anniversary present to ourselves. Lucky us! The room was large and had fantastic city views across the green Melbourne Cricket Club grounds. I especially liked the separate dressing room that is between the bathroom and bedroom and the king sized bed was very comfy! All the extras were there as well. We had dinner at the hotel and I had an amazing Bread and Butter Pudding for dessert! Breakfast was included in the package. Very close to transport, so easy access in and out of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank presby62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I am delighted to read that you chose to stay with us for your anniversary and had an enjoyable stay.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for a night as we had to catch our flight back from Melbourne. The hotel is located a bit away from the city and a 20 AUD cab ride would get to you to the center of the city. the standard rooms are pretty good with all basic amenities. the room and bathroom were pretty clean. the view is nothing to write about. the bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.

the tram stop is right next to the hotel. and the cabs also are generally available right outside.

did not dine at the hotel so cant say about the restaurant.

the hotel provides you with parking though they charge AUD 12 for the night for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gean2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A very clean Hotel. Very comfortable and pleasant rooms. All staff were very courteous and always helpful. We were lucky enough to arrive on a Wednesday evening when there is free drinks with canapés with the management staff, this must become very boring for them week after week, but they carried out that task brilliantly. My wife had a meal accidentally spilled over her by a staff member and their response was one of apologies and a dry clean on the house. This was handled professionally and without overbearing fuss, thanks very much staff on duty. We had a lot of fun with the waiting staff as their sense of humour matched mine. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay this is it. Easy access to trams, taxis and busses etc. unfortunately two areas that do need dealing with and that's the Wi Fi, advertised for free but had to continually go out into the corridor and then lose it in the room, became very annoying, heard as a constant complaint from others. Also there is only one entrance into the Hotel with a double push or pull door, makes it very difficult with baggage, come on management, time for a new electronic door entrance. The hotel could do with a refurbishment programme but doesn't diminish from a great stay.

Room Tip: I understand the high floors can overlook a very nice park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Noel thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that there was a spill in the restaurant and it is great to read that it was handled well. I am not sure what went wrong with the WiFi as I can honestly say it has been working well with almost no down time. I will investigate ! The rooms were refurbished about 2 years ago and generally most comments received acknowledge this. However, I do value your opinion and I have placed the entry doors on the list for next time.
I hope to welcome you back soon and hopefully on a Wednesday Night !
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We enjoyed a special weekend package and had a good time. A good location - we walked to Fitzroy Street in St Kilda for dinner on Saturday evening and caught the tram back (stopping outside the hotel). On Sunday morning we walked around Albert Park lake before breakfast. Staff were very friendly and buffet breakfast was ok without being great. Car Parking, good facilities and lovely views over Albert Ground and toward the city. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Couta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camperdown, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We won a nights accommodation and we will definitely stay again. Spacious family room, with huge bathroom and separate toilet. It was a quiet location and yet close to city, parked the car and easy access to tram, awesome buffet breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annluci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Firstly congratulations on winning a nights stay at the Parkview. I find that most guests experiencing the family rooms for the first time are pleasantly surprised about the size of the room which comfortably sleeps 4. Thank you for writing a review and I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

A great location easy access by tram to the city or St Kilda.
Staff were very helpful and welcoming.
Rooms were very clean and serviced daily.
Great value for money and would recommend to anyone
Hopefully will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 402Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
It is always exciting to see a review headed Great Hotel ! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Property: Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing