We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel But So Noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We chose this hotel after reading all the great reviews. On arrival we were told the basement lift was broken, but fortunately they would offer valet parking which was nice.
When we got in one of the lifts to go to our room we worked out why one lift was broken... I think they were made in the 1850's! Walking to our room we saw dead bugs in the hallway lights, which really isn't nice.
The room was okay and bed very comfortable. The tissue box was covered in dust though, and the doors all squeaked when you moved them. The air conditioner wasn't working properly and we had to call maintenance to repair it.
The worst part was that at 7am every morning of our 3 night stay, we were woken by what sounded liked a roller coaster on top of our room. This 'sound' happened every 30 seconds for about 30-45 minutes before stopping, and we could go back to sleep. Also every time someone on the level opened and closed their front door, the echo and shudder came straight into the room and again woke you up. Not very relaxing. When I spoke to the manager about the noise he claimed it was the garbage trucks next door. I explained it was a noise within the hotel, where he shrugged it off.
The buffet breakfast was okay, but nothing special. The coffee pots were constantly empty, and when there was coffee there were no cups to put your coffee in. There was minimal cutely and I ended up having to eat my toast with a fork and spoon. The free newspapers were great.
Positives;
- Bed
- Free newspapers
- Cheap

Negatives;
- NOISY!!!!
- Clearly a very old building.
- NOISY!!!!

Overall, we wouldn't stay here again. Many other hotels within Melbourne to consider.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippyloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,861)
There are newer reviews for Melbourne Parkview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,184 - 2,190 of 2,861 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

We spent a great time in Melbourne Parkview hotel. Service is quite well and room is very clean. I asked for high floor room and you can see the nice view from the window. I will def recommend the hotel and looking forward to staying next time.

Room Tip: High floor room is with quite good view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emigo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I spent 3 nights their recently whilst in Melbourne for business. A good clean typical business hotel. Not much character but served the purpose and was reasonable. Disappointing that the concierge didn't have much knowledge about Melbourne for those over 25 but had a good time anyway.

Room Tip: Up high with a view and not near the lift as some guests noisy late at night, particularly on weeken...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I try to visit Melbourne as often as we can from country Victoria. We have found some inner city motels don't provide the same level of service or peace and quiet that you get from a stay at the Parkview. The staff are always happy to assist whether it is an in room massage or a Mykey pass to get around on public transport. The Parkview is ideally located a short taxi ride from the CBD and is very competitive with great package deals. The even have a free CBD transfer service.
Highly recommend and always do.
Phil & Linda, Gippsland.

Room Tip: Ring and talk to the staff and they will be able to provide you with the best option to suit your ne...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Handy location close to parks so went for some lovely scenic runs, great view especially from spa pool, comfy bed and pillows, nice bathroom with really good water pressure. Really helpful staff. Really impressed all round!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Phillippa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Large rooms and bathroom facilities are a delight. Unfortunately the car park spaces are not as generous! Breakfast not the best buffet I've ever had but acceptable. Overall a good stay when needing to be south of the city. We will keep coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TraceynGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I arrived to find no booking had been made for my first night. The staff arranged a standard room for that night, but then upgraded me for the second night. Crisis averted and high service maintained.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have bigger windows and additional quality toiletries.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RachieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
3,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,104 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,543 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £76 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally between Melbourne CBD and St Kilda Beach on St Kilda Road's famous tree lined boulevard. Melbourne Parkview Hotel is close to popular Melbourne attractions including Arts Centre Melbourne, Albert Park Lake and sporting venues including the MCG, Rod Laver Arena and AAMI Park. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with free wifi, a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open. Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar. Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, Southbank and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing