We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #26 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
“Trip to Melbourne”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Clean and comfortable. Great view of the city ...
Close to all public transport (trams are practically at the door) which meant that we did not have to drive in Melbourne.
We got our stay as part of a 'deal' and was honoured in every respect.
Staff couldn't do enough for you - friendly and well-mannered.
When asked a question, they were knowledgable.
Beautiful breakfast, and nibbles at the bar

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mani1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,420
    1,122
    185
    47
    29
See reviews for
504
1,232
147
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for one night and loved this hotel. It was close to the tram, so getting around was easy. Breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful, so a great way to start the day. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kylie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Kylie it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Parkview. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here as it was near an early appointment the next day. Easy to get to using public transport - on a main Tram line. Taxi from Southern Cross station took 15 minutes and cost $12.
Meal in Restaurant was great - Only thing that I really didn't like was being called "lovely" by the waitress - I am middle aged female and I didn't appreciate the familiarity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and also bringing to my attention on how you were addressed in the restaurant. I will certainly discuss this with my Restaurant Manager. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toora vic aust
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Have stayed here several times and always enjoyed - staff very friendly - rooms very spacious and clean - we got a great deal via Travelzoo and got room with city views which was great - breakfast can be "difficult" depending on "other" patrons but food good - would certainly stay again

Room Tip: Try & get room with city views - they are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank juliepromm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieLittman, General Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Julie thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is alway pleasing to read that we have guests return to stay and I hope to welcome you back on many more occasions.
Laurie Littman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Melbourne Parkview Hotel. The room's presentation was excellent and the breakfast was superb. We have already stayed at the Parkview several times and look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent 2 nights here on their internet package. Room was very nice, staff friendly and efficient, buffet breakfast excellent, and easy parking in basement. Only downside was noise from garbage truck in Queens Lane at 6am (only lasted 5 mins).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We chose this hotel after reading all the great reviews. On arrival we were told the basement lift was broken, but fortunately they would offer valet parking which was nice.
When we got in one of the lifts to go to our room we worked out why one lift was broken... I think they were made in the 1850's! Walking to our room we saw dead bugs in the hallway lights, which really isn't nice.
The room was okay and bed very comfortable. The tissue box was covered in dust though, and the doors all squeaked when you moved them. The air conditioner wasn't working properly and we had to call maintenance to repair it.
The worst part was that at 7am every morning of our 3 night stay, we were woken by what sounded liked a roller coaster on top of our room. This 'sound' happened every 30 seconds for about 30-45 minutes before stopping, and we could go back to sleep. Also every time someone on the level opened and closed their front door, the echo and shudder came straight into the room and again woke you up. Not very relaxing. When I spoke to the manager about the noise he claimed it was the garbage trucks next door. I explained it was a noise within the hotel, where he shrugged it off.
The buffet breakfast was okay, but nothing special. The coffee pots were constantly empty, and when there was coffee there were no cups to put your coffee in. There was minimal cutely and I ended up having to eat my toast with a fork and spoon. The free newspapers were great.
Positives;
- Bed
- Free newspapers
- Cheap

Negatives;
- NOISY!!!!
- Clearly a very old building.
- NOISY!!!!

Overall, we wouldn't stay here again. Many other hotels within Melbourne to consider.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippyloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,084 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#46 of 160 in Melbourne
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Property: Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally between Melbourne CBD and St Kilda Beach on St Kilda Road's famous tree lined boulevard. Melbourne Parkview Hotel is close to popular Melbourne attractions including Arts Centre Melbourne, Albert Park Lake and sporting venues including the MCG, Rod Laver Arena and AAMI Park. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with free wifi, a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open. Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar. Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, Southbank and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing