We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot, nice price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have stayed here 3 times over the last 3 months.
With a good promotional deal which includes breakfast and car parking, we could not go wrong.
Location is good - located in Albert Park and about $10 taxi up to Southbank for dining options and Casino.
Rooms are good, with nice soft beds - There are rooms with views and some without.
Service is good from all areas - reception, bar, room service, the guy at reception remembered us from previous stays.
Breakfast is good.
Thanks we will be back !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,158 - 2,164 of 2,915 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have stayed a few times at the park view - the location's great, the rooms are comfortable and the staff, pleasant. Breakfast is nice but could do with a choices other than the buffet option. Seem to recall these were available previously but not this time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kgbadami .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The Parkview. The room was spacious with great view and the location is excellent. A few small things bugged us and if these are sorted out, I would feel comfortable staying here every time in Melbourne. I found the bed comfortable but my partner remarked that it was too soft for her. I suppose you can't please everyone all the time! What we both agreed upon though, was the irritation of the bathroom light not being self contained. So, by switching on the bathroom light the section leading into the bathroom also lit up. This is not good for mid-night bathroom visits as it effectively lights up the main bedroom too. We were on the 'romantic getaway' deal which included champagne in our room on arrival. After a long trip, we were really looking forward to this, but had to wait over an hour for it to arrive (after 3 calls to reception). All in all, a good experience. Its obviously a hugely popular hotel given the overflowing dining room in the morning. You have to get down early to not wait in along line for eggs and bacon!

Room Tip: Get a city facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gedbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from first visit in Melbourne and had a fantastic time staying here.
Loved the spa on the rooftop, great city views and beds were amazing.
The only fault I'd have is the food. We ordered from room service and ate breakfast from the buffet twice. Not exceptional for a 4* but other than that we would recommend/stay again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BabyGnochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Myself and my girlfriend went for a long weekend and loved it. Great location, beautiful rooms with fantastic views and helpful staff. Only slight downside was breakfast wasn't amazing. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Beautiful views of the park and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Pleasant stay at the hotel. Room's bit small but pretty neat. Mine was with a view of the lake and looked nice to me. Plenty space for the clothes and baggage .It's more for business than for friends and family but if you just stay here for one day or two the location's quite good. Close to the scenery places, about 20 min walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH_jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Apart from the poached eggs being rock hard the stay was quiet pleasant. Maybe a better set up of the TV in the bar area could be improved. My only fault of the staff was the lack of good OHS practice behind the bar, bottle tops and genera rubbish on the floor of bar.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a view, ours had a view of a dirty old laneway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 162 in Melbourne
3,282 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,116 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £70 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally between Melbourne CBD and St Kilda Beach on St Kilda Road's famous tree lined boulevard. Melbourne Parkview Hotel is close to popular Melbourne attractions including Arts Centre Melbourne, Albert Park Lake and sporting venues including the MCG, Rod Laver Arena and AAMI Park. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with free wifi, a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open. Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar. Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, Southbank and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing