We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Offers Value but not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #27 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Country Vic
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Offers Value but not Great”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for a night on a business trip to Melbourne as I do regularly. I normally stay in the CBD but with conferences my normal hotel was too expensive.

The parking and breakfast included deal was very good value for money. The room was nice - bathroom excellent (great shower).

Why do hotels offer a king bed that is 2 singles stuck together - that is NOT a king bed - it is 2 singles with a big lump in the middle - argghh.

Overall - not bad, offers value, can be hard to get there in peak hour if driving, Would I stay here again - they did not really do anything to attract me back, nor did they do anything to make me never want to go back - so on the rate I paid - pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesAWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,320
    1,039
    173
    44
    29
See reviews for
462
1,138
135
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton East
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Wonderful relaxing environment and great breakfast. Thank you, great value on our voucher. Really enjoy the spaciousness of the room and the beautiful city, bay and lake views. Close to home and a great place for a weekend recharge.

Room Tip: Sensational views over Albert Park lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. Good location, requires 10min by tram to get to the CBD. However the hotels location is a beautiful part of Melbourne. All staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were nicely equipped and clean. Great value for money here!! When next time in Melbourne, will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haut-Brion126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I picked hotel based on online reviews - it was excellent accommodation - convenient to tram - effective double-glazing - good room plan - nice views.
The only disappointment was lunch at cafe - nice beverage choice but poor food.

Room Tip: city view rooms a bit cheaper than park view rooms but still have lovely outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pineapplesage2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had a weekend visit to this hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. The room was big and comfortable, especially the king sized bed! The hotel is in a great spot…close to everything and the staff were lovely. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: try for a non inter connecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woori Yallock, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We recently stayed as a birthday treat for myself. We LOVED it. As others have mentioned the carpark is a bit of a squeeze but we knew once we parked we weren't leaving again until we checked out so we weren't fussed.
The staff were so friendly when checking in and we were pleasantly surprised by the modern look and cleanliness of the reception area. We took our bags up to our room and were amazed by the size and the city Views out of the window!
The bed was so comfortable! We slept like babies! We went upstairs to the spa area and relaxed in the beautiful clean warm/hot water. I have arthritis and fybromyalgia so it was soooooo soothing to my aching bones and sore muscles.
We ate a very reasonably priced enjoyable dinner downstairs in the bar area and drank a couple of drinks, hubby was excited to see a few craft beers on the menu and even though the bar man didn't know the drink I wanted he looked it up for me and it was fabulous!.
The staff down there were also highly attentive and friendly. Later that night we ordered room service for dessert and OMG it was heavenly!
The next day we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Even though the dining area was packed with patrons the food was refilled superfast and was lovely and fresh.
We had a late checkout so after breakfast we went up and had a nap on that comfy bed until it was time to leave. We love love loved it and will def go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassFulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have stayed here 3 times over the last 3 months.
With a good promotional deal which includes breakfast and car parking, we could not go wrong.
Location is good - located in Albert Park and about $10 taxi up to Southbank for dining options and Casino.
Rooms are good, with nice soft beds - There are rooms with views and some without.
Service is good from all areas - reception, bar, room service, the guy at reception remembered us from previous stays.
Breakfast is good.
Thanks we will be back !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
2,518 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
1,992 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#42 of 158 in Melbourne
1,365 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Property: Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing