We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed in plenty but this is the one for me” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Maroochydore, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stayed in plenty but this is the one for me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great looking rooms with all the modern amenities which I appreciate.

Have been staying in this hotel for many years and is very well maintained and updated.

Great access to the city via short tram ride which is all part of the Melbourne experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,299
    1,027
    172
    43
    29
See reviews for
452
1,119
134
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Staying with family can sometimes be stressful so my husband and self decided instead of travelling outside Melbourne, we would have a 2 day break in Melbourne city itself. We chose the Parkview Hotel because we thought a 4 star would be comfortable, it gave us closeness to the actual city without being right amongst the noise. We had a city view from the 5th floor, and it was wonderful to pull the curtains back and enjoy the view over the park. The first most important issue was the friendliness of the staff. Any phone questions were answered in an informative, friendly and non-patronizing reply. The king bed was one of the most comfortable one I have had the pleasure to enjoy in a 4 star hotel. The TV worked with easy remotes. The shower was excellent, the breakfast was very nice. All in all, we enjoyed the break and would stay again., Thanks. -

Room Tip: We asjed for a city view and we had 508.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank locarnogardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Everything was so easy, friendly polite staff, great breakfast,value for money and so accessible. Definitely clean. The staff answered all questions a and promptly, room service was quick and yum! Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We liked staying here. Good parking and the location is great if you want to tram it in Melbourne. We had the buffet breakfast included in the tariff, which was good if you could fend for yourself on the crowded mornings. However the coffee left room for improvement, in fact I am giving it my first Krappychino award for 2014.. She was very pleased with the room and sauna and spa. I was impressed with the friendly staff and the overall ambiance of this well located hotel. We will certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Up! With a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krappychino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here while on business for 7 nights which is unusual as I tend to move about while away with work.

I arrived early on the friday morning and there was no room ready which I expected but my room was ready by 11:30 which was great, my colleague had to wait a little longer. The room was a good size with comfy bed, desk, TV as per normal. The area where you hang your clothes is in it's own area opposite the bathroom which is good. The bathroom is a bit small but had a nice wet-room style shower which worked well.

There is a gym, pool, sauna on the 9th floor but the pool is very small, a new born baby would have trouble swimming in it and it's really just to cool off in.

The bar is great, must make a mention of Kat & Jess who were excellent but all the staff on the whole worked very hard and were friendly and helpful. I had breakfast in the hotel everyday and generally it was good although little changed each day.

There is also free internet access everywhere in the hotel. When you connect it offers 'basic' or 'premium' with basic free and a charge for the premium. I only used the basic and was able to do everything I needed to including connecting back to computers in London.

So that's the good stuff now the not so good....

The hotel caters for what appears to be Chinese coach parties and because they are on a schedule tend to do everything at the same time. The breakfast on the Saturday morning was the worst I have ever experienced. When I came down there was no tables, no food, no cutlery, not even a plate. When the food was brought out it was simply hoovered up by a Chinese horde.

I had my breakfast (eventually) sitting at the bar with a fork and no knife. It was nowhere near as bad on the other days and in the week it was great, no problem at all.

I did see some behaviour which I felt was unacceptable, such as one guy coughing something up and spitting it into a plant in the reception and also a couple of guys clicking their fingers to the bar staff in the evening shouting 'woman' but that can happen anywhere.

On check out we had a couple of problems. First my colleague was charged car parking even though it was included in our room rate and I was charged twice for something form the mini-bar.

So over all a good hotel, great location, excellent staff but try and keep out the way of the couch parties.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin_Welwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Enjoyed this hotel. Very clean, friendly staff, huge bedroom, walk in closet through to bathroom (smallish but great shower). Breakfast was included, good quality, lots of variety. Easy tram access to & fro city, and could purchase MiKey starter pack for tram fares at front desk. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EMcKAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel doesn't look super flashy from the outside, but The room was lovely, well priced, and large. Really easy to get into the city, or down to St Kilda. Staff were super helpful. Overall a great stay. Used the gym, which was nice, as it was way too cold to go for a run first thing in the morning. Free wifi was a little slow, but served it's purpose, and they had a high speed option for a pretty cheap price if you needed something faster, but for us the free option worked fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Property: Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing