We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip to Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2010

General
I’ve stayed in this hotel for five days on a recent business trip to Melbourne in November. I found this hotel to be a very good option for business as well as for leisure travelers.

Location
The location of the hotel is on busy St. Kilda Road, a four lane road that leads directly to the central business district (CBD) of Melbourne. A tram stop is just 2 minutes from the hotel and one is therefore in a matter of ten to fifteen minutes in central Melbourne. If you want to walk to the beach, you have to stroll around a little lake that is popular with sportspeople of all kind. From the hotel to the beach one will need around half an hour on foot.

There are a two cafés across the road from the hotel; otherwise it is a bit lonely there especially at night. Taxi from the airport to the hotel should cost between 50 to 60 AUD. A cheaper alternative would be to take the skybus from the airport to the Southern Cross station (ex Spencer Street station) and from there one either goes by taxi to the hotel or takes the tram. In the latter case one has to change the tram at Flinders Street station. With a lot of baggage this is not such a great idea in my opinion.

Rooms
Though I booked a standard room, I was upgraded to the next higher level of rooms with a city view. That was possibly the case because I was staying for five days at the hotel or maybe because I was easily recognizable as a corporate customer. I don’t know. Anyway: The room was very spacious with a great view over the cricket ground and the central business district of Melbourne.

There was an average stocked minibar, amenities like a hair dryer, an iron and so on were also there. The cleanliness of the room was good, only negative point was that there was a lot of dust on top of the (not so tall) wardrobe in the separate (ensuite) dressing area. All in all however cleanliness was not a major issue.

The huge king size bed was very comfortable, in my opinion maybe even to comfy. The mattress was too soft for my liking. The LCD TV had only very few channels. The bathroom was large and nice. Very little mold here and there but not too dramatic. There is no in-room safe: valuables go into one of the boxes at reception.

Service
Very friendly people can be found everywhere in the hotel, from the reception to the bar staff and the people in the restaurant. All were very professional and very responsive to all requests. Very small drawback: One of the bar staff ladies gave me a wrong or at least a bad wine recommendation.

Facilities
Bar and restaurant were OK. Breakfast at the Lime café was boring after two days. I therefore went to one of the cafes opposite the hotel on the other side of St. Kilda Rd.
There were two internet terminals next to the reception area. The first 15 minutes are free. The gym on the top floor was good as was the Jacuzzi style pool. It was very relaxing to use that pool at night with a great view of the CBD. I also liked the complimentary newspaper service. There are usually two taxis waiting outside the hotel. Though they offered a free shuttle bus service to the CBD I never made use of that offer.

Summary
I liked this hotel very much and would certainly choose it again if I had to travel to Melbourne again. Highlights are the spacious rooms, the motivated staff and the Jacuzzi pool on the top floor.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank my_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkview562, Manager at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2011

Hi My_Traveller,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are currently undergoing a $7.5m room refurbishment which will be completed by late February 2011. It is looking amazing so far to say the least. Hopefully we can welcome you back shortly so you can experience all of the changes that are currently taking place here at the Parkview Hotel.

The new rooms will have an exciting, modern look with bright colours that will bring a comfortable, spacious feel to the room. The new bathrooms will feature a full shower with floor to ceiling tiling, which will provide guests with an up to date facility.

Other facilities that will be added in early 2011 will include:

- High Definition Television
- Ethernet High Speed Broadband
- Wireless Broadband access in rooms and public areas
- Room Media Hub for iPod/Laptop/Mp3 connection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,857 - 2,863 of 2,924 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2010

This aging hotel is in serious need of an upgrade. Everything felt really old. So also, the bed was one of the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on.
On the positive side, I found it ideally located for my purposes since I wanted to stay away from the CBD and most of my work was at the Alfred.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnSBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The hotel isn't too bad - location and room size being its best features.
It is a $12 cab ride to the heart of the CBD, or a $75 or so ride to the airport. The hotel staff are friendly enough and willing to help.
There are several downsides to this hotel though. The biggest problems with the hotel are associated with noise. When a toilet in the adjacent rooms are flushed, the pipes can vibrate quite loudly. The walls seem to concrete, but for some reason are paper thin! We would hear the TV from next door, and on the second night of our stay, we could very clearly hear the people talking/partying next door, and also the couple - which was VERY disturbing.
The carpet in the room felt unclean and sticky, and some of the toilet facilities were chipped (including a leaking shower etc.)
The pricing of food wasn't too bad and the restaurant was sufficient. Meals were satisfying and filling - the steak was quite good, although there were a few complaints about the Nasi Goring.
The gym facilities are average, the equipment works but is quite old and the pool is small but serviceable. Internet is charged at $25 per 24 hours (which may be similar to what other hotels charge)
Overall, the stay would have been good aside form the noise issues, but as we are here on holidays and it is disrupting our sleep, I feel that I would not be back here unless it was the last option we had.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

What a terrible hotel! The rooms are tired, the carpet full of stains of the worst kind, the bathroom smelly. Should you ever have to stay in St Kilda, Melbourne - a nice neighborhood by the way - go anywhere else, even consider to stay under the next bridge - but don't go there. If you want to make enemies - then, and only then recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller01Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJM17Melbourne, Owner at Melbourne Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2010

We are disappointed to read your review as clearly you did not enjoy your stay which is disappointing to us. We get many wonderful reviews for the hotel and want to ensure this continues, and we want to continue to offer the highest level of guest satisfaction. If you would like to provide some specific feedback on your stay by contacting the hotel we would certainly look forward to following up your specific issues. Kind Regards - The Parkview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Quite good in all aspects. Observations though, I got a room that had a very ugly view to a neighbouring concrete wall. The car park was also difficult to find a location as a substantial amount are let out to privates, it took me like 10 minutes to find a space on 2 floors. The restaurant was decent and reasonably priced. If not it was clean and satisfactory.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabond_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I had a 'guest room' for 9 nights. The first room was not good - chipped toilet seat, stained carpets and curtains that didn't quite meet so the early morning light woke me up at 5am! I was moved (with no fuss at all) to another room. The bath was chipped, the soap dish cracked and the furniture well worn. The curtains still didn't draw together so I was still woken up early. However the beds are very comfortable and the room had a good TV (if that's what you like). The hospitality tray was sufficient, and the toiletries in the bathroom had a good range. The view was lovely over the cricket ground, and the hotel is very convenient for catching a tram into town. There are some very good cafes over the road that serve excellent coffee and breakfast. The breakfast buffet in the hotel was nothing spectacular, but the fruit salad I had daily was good.
The service is cheerful and friendly - typical Aussie, and the staff were very helpful.
However, the bathrooms were never cleaned thoroughly during my whole stay, and details like scuffed walls, carpet stains, dirty doors etc seem to have escaped the attention of management. I don't think I am particularly fussy, but for the price I paid I expected more. I won't return, no matter how conveniently situated it is.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamakalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 29 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 162 in Melbourne
3,296 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,116 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £68 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally between Melbourne CBD and St Kilda Beach on St Kilda Road's famous tree lined boulevard. Melbourne Parkview Hotel is close to popular Melbourne attractions including Arts Centre Melbourne, Albert Park Lake and sporting venues including the MCG, Rod Laver Arena and AAMI Park. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with free wifi, a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open. Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar. Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, Southbank and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing