We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ovolo Laneways(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$341
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra On Russell(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Art Series - The Olsen(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Crossley Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
222
270
98
24
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
270
98
24
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunt hill apartmentsgreat locationdegraves ststudio apartmentfederation squaregarbage trucksfull kitchenserviced dailycoles supermarketfirst floorcafes and restaurantscentral locationfed squarenoisy at nightmain bedroomthe heart of the citygreat apartment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Even though there appears to have been a change of managers here since last visit, however, some things never change. The showers here must be the worst in Melbourne. We all understand that this is an old building, that is part of the charm of the place. We are prepared to wait for the water to arrive at the top of the building. However, the actual tap controlling the hot water is the problem here. It is so badly adjusted that by even turning the tap the slightest fraction, you will be alternatively scalded or frozen. The scalding is the worst part of this - a serious and potentially dangerous problem if you are trying to bath children. Seriously, folks, this needs to be fixed before someone gets hurt.

The airconditioning in some rooms is incredibly noisy, now, and the owners/ managers have had plenty of time to fix this over the years. There seems to be no will to attend to this and the water issues, which are the two major things that would make guests lives more bearable. Amusing tin cats and astro turf on the window sills are no compensation for this level of discomfort. There seems to be a view that because guests may only stay for a day or two, they will probably put up with it.

All of the other issuesare bearable, if somewhat ill-advised. The micro wave ovens are still in a dangerous place for most guests, and many rooms are still poorly equipped, old and tired cutlery, old and tired dishwashers (sometimes smelly),etc.

Time for Punt Hill to lift it's game on these particular premises.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on Flinders Lane itself can be very noisy at night.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Dear Oznana

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor, although we are very sorry to hear about your experience with the water pressure in the shower. We very rarely recieve this type of feedback and are sure that if management had been informed at the time, our maintenance team would have acted on the problem immediately.

Your feedback has been taken on board and will assist management with addressing the isses outlined in your review.

We hope to see you again at Punthill.

Regards

Keiran Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed here for almost a month and found it comfortable. Though it sometimes get noisy during the weekend nights, in general it is still a great location.

The vicinity of main market place, restaurants, shopping areas, cafes etc make it an excellent choice. And to top it is that the Flinders station is just walking distance away....3 minutes of walk and you are there.

You would never miss an activity if you here coz to keep you busy and entertained, is the Federation Square where all evenings are busy with something or the other.

From food perspective, you have many different choices, specially Indian food. You walk out a little and go in any direction...you will find an Indian restaurant.

From facilities perspective - staff was good, rooms were neatly decorated, kitchenette is small but good, TV has enough channels, cleanliness is good.

So overall, a good stay and good value of money.

Would prefer to come again and stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Hi tayalmanu

We are so pleased to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable 'home away from home' for you during your month in Melbourne.

Our central location makes it easy to find all the great restaurants, bars and major attractions that our great city has to offer. Great to see you made the most of this advantage.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill Flinders Lane on your next trip to Melbourne.

Best regards

Keiran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

A two night stay for business was a sleepless and frustrating break. The 267 Flinders lane property is in the perfect location near Degreaves Street cafes and bars/laneway eateries and shopping and I should have thought of that before booking.
The first night I managed 3 hours sleep waking every 2 hours from the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on -soft, spongey with no support so I ended up on the couch cushions on the loungeroom floor where I had to listen to the music entertainment below, crowds of people yelling at each other, drunk people, the street sweeper, bottles being empied, motorbikes and hoon drivers. It was all repeated again the next night where 4 hours sleep was managed. The shower water pressure was non existent and how hard is it to buy soap that lathers? If you wanted to be part of the scene downstairs then a great spot but if you want some peace and quiet I would sugest somewhere else.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms ending in 9 are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifden27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Punthill flinders is in a great location. The hotel is superclean and tastefully decorated.

The shower however was terrible and had no pressure and the beds were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexx110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

PuntHill Flinders Lane is in a great spot in the CBD with plenty of choice for cafes and shops just at the doorstep, and good proximity to train and tram services. Price was reasonable for our group of 4 adults. Bizarrely, the twin bedroom's walls did not extend the whole way to the ceiling, so it became a bit less private and it was necessary to tiptoe around the kitchen and lounge if anyone was asleep in that room. Otherwise a nice apartment, interesting modern decor, view out into the adjacent library and office blocks.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews