We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #60 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location, Location”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed for one night in a studio apartment at a great rate. I was pleasantly suprised by the size and comfort of the apartment. Had everything you could want and in a great location for shopping and wandering the laneways of Melbourne- just round the corner from Degraves!
Parking is available for $19.00 but it is very squeezy, glad we didn't have a big car. I have to agree the showers are not the best and it was a bit noisy but this wouldn't stop me from coming back again. I love being in the middle of the city so you expect noise.

Room Tip: Not near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coliban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Coliban

Thanks for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor.

Looks like you were able to enjoy either some great coffee or yummy food at the best selection of cafe's that Melbourne has to offer on Degreaves St. Punthill Flinders Lane is so close you can smell the coffee..!

Parking is limited at Punthill Flinders Lane (early bookings reccomended) however we can reccommend some excellent secure parking just around the corner next time you stay with us.

Take care.

Regards

Keiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    250
    91
    21
    23
See reviews for
127
198
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great Location, very central and so close to flinders street railway station. If you hire a car be aware that the parking spaces are tight and getting in and out of the lanes needs to be done with great care, not a lot of room for error coming in or out. Reception staff were very helpful. The studio apartment was a good size and much bigger than some of the other studio apartments that we stayed at in Australia on our trip. Apartment residents have access to washing and drying facilities, however be aware that there is a charge and you need to provide your own powder etc, there are also time restrictions, My tip would be to ask for an apartment that is away from the lifts as they are quite noisy. All in all would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get an apartment away from the lifts, as they can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Hi Kathleen

Thanks so much for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor.

With regard to onsite parking we do have limited spaces although we are certainly able to recommend some excellent secure parking options located within a short walking distance to the hotel.

Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again soon...

Regards

Keiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I read other reviews before booking here about terrible showers and noise but didn't encounter either on my recent visit. We stayed in the studio apartment, which was very comfortable. There was no problem with the shower or the noise, though we stayed on a Sunday night.
The location is excellent and the staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. We were able to get a slightly later checkout by asking.

The reason I haven't rated it as excellent is because we requested twin beds but when we arrived the beds had not been separated. However, before we got through the front door, the desk was calling to apologize and ask us if we wanted them to change the beds. The bed was so big we didn't mind but they brought up a bottle of wine and chocolates in apology, which we enjoyed... so no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Hi LJH37

We appreciate your feedback on Tripadvisor

Its very rare that we have any issues with our water pressure and our refurbishment program has included double glazing windows in rooms which were previously affected by noise...

Great to hear you enjoyed the wine and chocolates!

See you again soon at Punthill Flinders Lane

Regards

Keiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Even though there appears to have been a change of managers here since last visit, however, some things never change. The showers here must be the worst in Melbourne. We all understand that this is an old building, that is part of the charm of the place. We are prepared to wait for the water to arrive at the top of the building. However, the actual tap controlling the hot water is the problem here. It is so badly adjusted that by even turning the tap the slightest fraction, you will be alternatively scalded or frozen. The scalding is the worst part of this - a serious and potentially dangerous problem if you are trying to bath children. Seriously, folks, this needs to be fixed before someone gets hurt.

The airconditioning in some rooms is incredibly noisy, now, and the owners/ managers have had plenty of time to fix this over the years. There seems to be no will to attend to this and the water issues, which are the two major things that would make guests lives more bearable. Amusing tin cats and astro turf on the window sills are no compensation for this level of discomfort. There seems to be a view that because guests may only stay for a day or two, they will probably put up with it.

All of the other issuesare bearable, if somewhat ill-advised. The micro wave ovens are still in a dangerous place for most guests, and many rooms are still poorly equipped, old and tired cutlery, old and tired dishwashers (sometimes smelly),etc.

Time for Punt Hill to lift it's game on these particular premises.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on Flinders Lane itself can be very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear Oznana

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor, although we are very sorry to hear about your experience with the water pressure in the shower. We very rarely recieve this type of feedback and are sure that if management had been informed at the time, our maintenance team would have acted on the problem immediately.

Your feedback has been taken on board and will assist management with addressing the isses outlined in your review.

We hope to see you again at Punthill.

Regards

Keiran Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed here for almost a month and found it comfortable. Though it sometimes get noisy during the weekend nights, in general it is still a great location.

The vicinity of main market place, restaurants, shopping areas, cafes etc make it an excellent choice. And to top it is that the Flinders station is just walking distance away....3 minutes of walk and you are there.

You would never miss an activity if you here coz to keep you busy and entertained, is the Federation Square where all evenings are busy with something or the other.

From food perspective, you have many different choices, specially Indian food. You walk out a little and go in any direction...you will find an Indian restaurant.

From facilities perspective - staff was good, rooms were neatly decorated, kitchenette is small but good, TV has enough channels, cleanliness is good.

So overall, a good stay and good value of money.

Would prefer to come again and stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Hi tayalmanu

We are so pleased to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable 'home away from home' for you during your month in Melbourne.

Our central location makes it easy to find all the great restaurants, bars and major attractions that our great city has to offer. Great to see you made the most of this advantage.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill Flinders Lane on your next trip to Melbourne.

Best regards

Keiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

A two night stay for business was a sleepless and frustrating break. The 267 Flinders lane property is in the perfect location near Degreaves Street cafes and bars/laneway eateries and shopping and I should have thought of that before booking.
The first night I managed 3 hours sleep waking every 2 hours from the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on -soft, spongey with no support so I ended up on the couch cushions on the loungeroom floor where I had to listen to the music entertainment below, crowds of people yelling at each other, drunk people, the street sweeper, bottles being empied, motorbikes and hoon drivers. It was all repeated again the next night where 4 hours sleep was managed. The shower water pressure was non existent and how hard is it to buy soap that lathers? If you wanted to be part of the scene downstairs then a great spot but if you want some peace and quiet I would sugest somewhere else.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms ending in 9 are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifden27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Punthill flinders is in a great location. The hotel is superclean and tastefully decorated.

The shower however was terrible and had no pressure and the beds were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexx110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#89 of 160 in Melbourne
381 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#68 of 160 in Melbourne
4,787 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#112 of 160 in Melbourne
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing