We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #51 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Location, location”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the heart of Melbourne. Our apartment was located above the Laneways Precinct. Very clean and well serviced. First night was noisy from cafes below but we didn’t take any notice thereafter. Close to many amenities including trams; trains and buses all within walking distance.
The front desk concierge (and staff in general) were extremely helpful in making our stay an enjoyable one. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend to any future travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    238
    88
    19
    22
See reviews for
120
189
31
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Have just stayed here for 5 nights with my two adult daughters. Recommend the two bedroomed apartment with ensuite and separate toilet. Very clean and well serviced. Had everything we needed and very comfortable and spacious. Would definitely stay here again. Ideally placed within close distance to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side would be quieter away from the noise of the diners in the lane, but I personally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This apartment block is right in the heart of the very popular lane way cafe area of Melbourne. Just step outside and you are there.

You do get a bit of noise from the area though, particularly the trams. We got used to it after a while, but I use ear plugs anyway where ever I am.
There is double glazing to the bedroom windows.

Well appointed, not too small, well equipped, a/c to both rooms, very clean.
Late model appliances, roomy kitchen, and serviced daily too.

We had quick response to a maintenance request, and found all staff very friendly and helpful.

Would stay there again. Absolutely ideal location if you want to see the city area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if street noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri77terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
261 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is not a flash hotel - but it has everything you need if you are looking for good value apartment style accommodation short term in central Melbourne CBD. The staff at reception were very helpful, the room was large, clean and very functional. Our room looked into a car-park next door - so don't expect a view, but it was quiet and the bed was comfortable.

The services are limited - but there are so many placed to eat nearby there is no need for food or beverage on site. The apartment has a well equipped kitchen if you prefer to eat in, and a washing machine to save laundry costs.

The location is everything! Collins House next door - where the cinema complex is - has a great choice of cafes and restaurants, and offers free wi-fi. There are also an abundance of places to eat within 2 blocks. You can walk to most central CBD places and cabs are very easy to get.

In short - this is a great basic place to stay for short term work trips if you are not looking for luxury accommodation at a budget price..

Room Tip: Reception has short hours so plan ahead if you are arriving or leaving outside normal hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Nice, well maintained self-contained apartment style accommodation. The location is excellent and given that it is in the centre of Melbourne CBD, relatively quiet. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment and it was perfect for my wife and I. Will definitely stay here again as it ticked all the right boxes for us.

Room Tip: rooms over looking either Flinders Lane or DeGraves Lane are a little noisier than those at the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamF59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Bouvard
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Went over for the football with spouse & several other people. The fully maintained apartment, but with all necessities to enable cooking etc (if you wished) was perfect for location in particular.

A studio apartment is probably o.k. for two people, with queen sized bed, small living area & separate kitchen. The other guests had one bedroom apartments which were a bit bigger, but the kitchen was in the living room area, although this was not considered a problem.

Being in Flinder's Lane, the location was certainly a highlight, with many restaurants, cafes, Federation Square & the MCG being only walking distance away.

The apartment was serviced daily - the toiletries were somewhat sparse in terms of choice, but still o.k. The bathroom was quite small with the toilet in the same space - the shower was also fairly small, with a very tricky finger manoeuvre needed to attain the right pressure & temperature.

The TV was a typical flat screen type & wired internet is available with applicable charges. Guest parking is also available (reservation required) & costs $19 per day. The ingress & egress is somewhat tight (where we were allocated) - parking with a large station wagon or four wheel drive would be interesting to watch. No pets are allowed which is understandable.

Breakfast is at additional cost served in a room near reception.

My main criticism (apart from the Eagles losing to Hawthorn) was the outside noise, particularly early in the morning, with high pressure hose cleaning & moving of either skip or sulo bins.

I would recommend these apartments to any traveller who is not looking for five star accommodation & who particularly would like to reduce the cost of their holiday by cooking in occasionally.

Room Tip: Try & get a room at the back of the hotel - not facing Flinder's Lane - alternatively( &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToadPortBouvard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I fell in love with Melbourne a few years ago, so have stayed in many hotels and self catering apts. Most have good points, (& some were quite luxurious) but Punthill ticks most of ,my requisites. It is perfectly located if you want to stay right in the centre of the laneways. Can nick downstairs with your morning paper for coffee and croissant, or with your book at 5pm for wine and cheese plate. If you want to kick back and stay in, Coles is conveniently located around the corner.....can cook up a minor storm in the well-equipped kitchen. We''ll stay again..

Room Tip: We stayed on a high floor because I was concerned about the possibilities of noise from laneways, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank first_one_step
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#85 of 158 in Melbourne
368 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#52 of 158 in Melbourne
140 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
185 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing