We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost home away from home...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #56 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Almost home away from home...”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I travel to Melbourne 4 times a year from Sydney, stayed at various high end hotels which cost one's arm and leg easily, plus valet parking can up to $50 per day. By chance I found this great deal with Punthill thanks to Trip Advisor's positive reviews. I stayed there 3 nights with my partner, we both very please with the great location which among many vibrant alley ways full of delightful eateries. The spacious one bed room apartment was sparkling clean, very quiet with comfortable bedding and all. We have no negative to report, except coming up from the car park one may struggle a little and pay attention. We will definately stay there again and again....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Cindy L,
Thanks so much for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Flinders Lane.
We agree that the location of this apartment hotel is superb, with all that Melbourne has to offer on your doorstep. It is fantastic to hear that you found the apartments so comfortable, and that Punthill is now your choice for accommodation when visiting Melbourne!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    253
    92
    21
    23
See reviews for
130
203
35
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Loved the location right in the buzzy area of Melbourne. Apartments very spacious and clean. Only fault that the cafe downstairs makes the reception smell greasy. Other than that recommend very well priced and staff friendly lots of great places to eat nearby.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Glasgirl,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the apartments, service and location of this city apartment hotel.
We will follow up with the management of the café regarding your comments too.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Central location close to all amenities. Room was ready upon arrival. Large bedroom. Stylish apartment with all mod cons, hair dryer, oven, tv etc.
Housekeeping if required. Staff were able to assist us with all enquiries and were friendly.
Negatives would be that decor was a little dated in hallways but we were advised this was in process of being renovated. View one side was of an office block and other of alleyway but this did not impact negatively upon our stay as we spent the majority of our time exploring the sights of Melbourne. We would recommend this apartment and stay again in future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear arwie p,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane on TripAdvisor.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you had such a fantastic stay and are already looking forward to a return visit!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country SA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I spent 5 nights at Punthill Flinders Lane with my 2 young children in a "family room" . The apartment was well priced given the excellent location and was more spacious than I had expected. The Kitchen was well equipped, and the apartment was clean/modern and serviced everyday. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The only slight drawbacks to our stay were:
*The lift was sometimes temperamental to operate
*There was a constant loud airconditioner noise throughout the night - even though our airconditioner was switched off
*Some noise from Degraves Lane, which is expected and not overly troublesome.

Overall this is a great, affordable Hotel in an excellent location. As a sole parent travelling with young children I was needing quick access to supermarket, cafes, transport, main attractions etc etc. Punthill ticked all the boxes. We will certainly be back. Thankyou!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level 5 if you prefer it to be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 299Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear 299Anonymous,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are so pleased that overall you and your family enjoyed your stay at this city property. We agree that the location is superb with shops, supermarket, public transport and eateries on your doorstep.
Renovations at the property are planned, and include the installation of a brand new lift.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights to meet up with family and found the 1 bedroom apartment was very roomy with everything we needed for our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and arranged for my sister to be in the adjoining room without any bother. She had a studio which also was very roomy. This hotel is very close to Flinders Street Station which makes it a great spot if you need to travel around and also tram stops are just out on the main street.

Room Tip: Request a room to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeaky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear squeaky57,
We are delighted that you and your family members had such an enjoyable stay at Punthill Flinders Lane and we thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here for three nights recently with my elderly mother on the way home from a family trip. The hotel was kind enough to give us adjoining apartments at the back of the hotel as we had requested quiet rooms and my mother needed the apartment which had a walk in shower. (This is an older style hotel so the rooms at the front or Degraves St side can be a bit noisy at times). The rooms were comfortable, large and had everything we needed - full kitchen, good airconditioning etc. I quite liked the decoration, which some reviewers have described as quirky. The location is fantastic being very close to Southbank, Federation Square, and the beautiful shopping arcades etc. There is also a supermarket very close in Elizabeth Street.
When we left, the lady on reception (Monica) called a cab and when it was delayed due to rain etc, made sure that she phoned the company to hurry it up so that we got to the airport on time. This was terrific service, thank you Monica!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, get a room which is not either at the front or the Degraves Street side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Adelaidetraveller455,
Thanks so much for your very complimentary review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
The team at the property will be thrilled to know that all your expectations were met during your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for the Grand Prix in March. The location was excellent, and it was nice o have a bit more space than a standard hotel room.

The front desk was frantic when we arrived, but only had to wait 20 minutes or so before checking in, then were able to go to our room. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, pretty much everything we wanted. I was worried there might have been noise from Degraves Street below, but could hear nothing at all.

Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McNs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear McNs12,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay earlier in the year and we hope to welcome you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
181 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#87 of 160 in Melbourne
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#69 of 160 in Melbourne
4,889 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing