We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #60 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent two months at this location. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Location is amazing, Melbourne at your doorstep. Renovations were going on, but did not bother us in the least. The working crews were very mindful of guests. The elevators were a bit of a pain. Had to walk up to the 5th floor twice. But the staff were apologetic. I will say that one day we had to walk down as the lift would not come. I reported the problem and the front desk clerk kind of blew me off saying that they were working. The next morning, they did not come again. Come to find out they were not coming all the way up to the top floor,so the service department had to be called. It was a little frustrating reporting a problem and to be told I was wrong. It left me feeling not heard.

If I could make one recommendation it would be that the kitchens could be better equipped in rooms for longer staying guests. It was very hard to cook without a pan for the oven, or a pot holder, or only 1 bowl for a salad - there were 2 of us. We had to do a lot of fancy footwork to prepare a meal.

But this was minor. Overall we truly enjoyed our time in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddiesGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear AddiesGrammy,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
It is great to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your extended stay in Melbourne. We only wish you had asked at reception about some additional cooking implements and pans etc as we would have happily arranged these items for you.
Thank you for your understanding about the lifts, and we do apologise that you felt you were dismissed by the staff member when you reported a problem. We will definitely address this with staff and re-iterate that we sincerely appreciate your tolerance.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
There are newer reviews for Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My partner & I stayed for 2 nights & it's the most amazing location for Central Melbourne! Downstairs is the best food alley with cheap but excellent coffee & fantastic eats!
We stayed in a studio apartment & it was a bit on the small side for my liking. Going between the designated bedroom area to the living area/kitchen, was very tight - please use indicators to pass But otherwise, great service, THE BEST location with everything you need just outside the doorstep. Great stay for the price!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhiaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear rhiaan,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
As you say, the location of this apartment hotel is outstanding, and it's great to hear your enjoyed your visit to Melbourne.
Next time you stay, you may prefer to book a 1-bedroom apartment which is more spacious than a studio apartment, with a separate bedroom to the living/dining area of the apartment.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at Punthill Flinders Lane for 3 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment in May 2014 for a total of AUD$468.
We were given room 411 which had a good layout and seemed more spacious than a previous 1 bedroom apartment we had stayed in last year. The apartment was clean, although strangely there was an iron and a roll of toilet paper in the middle of the floor when we first entered??

Location wise you are right in the middle of Melbourne’s laneway and arcades district and literally next door to Degraves Laneway – a great place for breakfast or lunch. A couple of restaurants here are also staying open for dinner now. Highly recommend the Italian restaurant towards the end of Degraves Lane (on the left hand side when walking from Flinders Lane towards Flinders Street).

There can be some noise from Degraves and Flinders Lane at night-time so request a higher floor not overlooking the laneways as others have mentioned and you should be ok.
There were also renovations underway during our stay. Not sure how long these are scheduled to go on for but the tradesmen are not permitted to start before 8am so didn't cause an issue for us.

Hot water was a bit hit and miss, with it running out during my husband’s shower on the second day of our stay. Have experienced this issue here in the past but from reading management responses on other reviews we thought it had been addressed – but not the case asat our stay a couple of weeks ago.

Punthill has a concessional parking arrangement with a Wilsons car park further up Flinders Lane. They will give you a validation card which caps 24hrs parking there at A$15. A great saving as some of the parking rates we saw in Melbourne were A$59 for 6+ hrs parking!

It’s not the Ritz, but definitely for the rate and location Punthill Flinders Lane is pretty hard to beat if you want to immerse yourself in the laneway culture of Melbourne.

Room Tip: Room 411 (1 bedroom apartment) is nice and spacious
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherrySparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear SherrySparkle,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We will check the hot water in the apartment you stayed in as it may have to be adjusted.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Apart from the location of this property, which, as all the reviewers have said, is fantastic, I do not like this property.

Ours was a very last minute trip, so the booking was done just 4 days before our arrival. We're staying for 7 nights, and were told that we had to move out of this property to their South Yarra property over the weekend because the FL property was fully booked. Fair enough. The rate we were quoted was AUD180 per night for the FL property, and AUD195 per night for the two nights at the South Yarra property. We accepted that. This was confirmed by email.

Upon arrival, before we checked in, we were informed that they were able to move a few things around and let us stay at the FL property the entire time and they'd charge us exactly the same rate. We were grateful but soon realised that the two extra nights at the FL property over the weekend would be charged at the "same rate" of AUD245 per night. They have a weird definition of same. That would have been an extra AUD100 for the two nights. After some "negotiation", we were then told that they'd let us have the room at the real same rate.

Before we were allowed upstairs to our room, we were asked to pay for our entire stay. Apart from the prepayment hotel rooms that we've booked in the past (which were of course at cheaper prepayment rates), I've never ever been asked to prepay for the room upon check in. The entire 7 nights' worth, and obviously not at prepayment rates. We were tired, had been travelling all night, so we paid and just wanted to go to the room and rest.

The size of the studio apartment is ok. But, there is no natural light at all, and the lights were very dim. The room has a very depressing feel about it. The curtains are black, the sofa and stool are black, the table top is black, the carpet is a very dark grey, the bedside lamps are black, the bedside tables and bed heads are also black. I have nothing against black but because everything that could be black was black, it made the room even darker and more depressing. You almost can't tell day from night. Usually in the morning, we'd feel so downtrodden until we step out and see the life outside.

I'm here for 7 days to do a course and everyday, I have to do plenty of reading. There is only one spot in the entire room, which is on the bed, that is bright enough to read in. And this is including during the day. There is very little difference in the amount of light in the room between night and day.

The bathroom is tiny. But that, I could still accept. The shower however, is horrendous. The cold and hot adjustment is messed up. It'd suddenly get cold, or hot and too hot and too cold. The lever at the same spot does not produce the same temperature. My husband and I wasted so much water every day trying to get the water temperature right and quite often got scalded in our attempt. Such a waste of water.

There is something wrong with their phone system. You supposedly get a direct phone line i.e. you're give the phone number to your room, and people can call the number directly into your room. I'd given family and friends the number only to find out much later that the number didn't work. We went down to reception, were told we had been given the wrong number and were given number. Again, the number didn't work! Friends and family tried to call us through the operator and gave them our name and room number and were told that we're not on the record!! Incredulous!!!! In the end, we gave up and used our mobile phones.

If you're out after 8pm, you have to use this access card to tap yourself in. We were out only twice in the entire duration past 8pm and the card didn't work on both occasions. It was very frustrating. The first time, fine. An error. We waited a while before someone came to open the door for us. We gave our cards for her to fix, she re-programmed both our cards and assured us that the cards now worked. The following night, both cards didn't work again! This time round, despite ringing for the person to let us in (this was with a long interrogation process trying to verify we are who we say we are. The person who answers the phone is off site and has to verify we're guests which is fine except there is something wrong with their system and they can't verify us). We waited for a very long while and still no one came to open the door and we were fortunate that other guests had come back and they let us in.

Suffice to say, I'd never stay here or at any of their properties again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Director at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear mymoo,
We are so sorry that your stay was so unsatisfactory but must address the matters you mentioned.
We understand that you were relieved that we had managed to get your reservation into Punthill Flinders Lane for the entire stay so that you did not have to move.
We note that you arrived at 7am and fortunately we were able to get housekeeping into the apartment right away to have the apartment ready by 8.30am for an early check-in.
Regarding the rate, this was a simple error and we are not aware of any negotiation; we immediately realised the error, apologised and quickly amended the rate.
We do not understand your comment that there is not natural light as all our apartments have windows that open and of course admit natural light. Decor is certainly a matter of personal preference.
We cannot explain the problems with the swipe card. The system is state of the art and this is honestly the only negative comment we have had since installation approximately one month ago.
We have never had someone suggest there is something wrong with the phone system which to our knowledge is working efficiently.
Once again, we are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The manager saw you several times during your stay, and stored your luggage after departure, and we wish you had brought your concerns to our attention during your stay.
Kind regards,
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

These little apartments are so well located on Flinders Lane, right in the heart of Melbourne. Step out the door to cafes, bars and shopping. Just a block to the flinders train station. Staff are warm and efficient. The apartments have been done up beautifully with friendly little touches like a cat sculpture on the windowsill. There's no view of anything, but that's fine ... because it is all waiting for you just outside your door. Beds are clean. Bathroom is tidy (no bath in my apartment). I didn't use the kitchen facilities, but they looked adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear JulzE,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
Great to hear that you had such a comfortable stay and also enjoyed the fantastic central location of this apartment hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights here and there are renovations going on at 3rd flood and foyer.

My mom nearly fell down for few times due to part of the tiles were removed in the foyer and caused the uneven surface. Lifts are slow but we have no problem with that. We request an extra bed and we got the sofa bed which one of the corner of the sofa bed frame is actually broken. Besides, the room is quite dark with all the dark color furniture and the black curtain. It is dark even during day time. We had no choice but have to put the curtain down at all times as our room can be seen by people in the opposite building which is really close to the hotel.

The only good thing is the location is good. It is close to many restaurants and shopping place. Other than that, there is nothing great to shout about.

I wouldn't say this hotel is very bad but I certainly will not return to this hotel again. With the price I paid, there are better place to stay in Melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Director at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Joey K,
Thank you for your review. So sorry, there was some tiling taking place whilst you stayed. It is all complete now and the foyer looks wonderful. We did "divide the foyer in two" whilst tiling was underway to ensure that guests had a safe pathway, and are so sorry that your mother experienced difficulty.
We wonder whether you drew to the manager's attention that the sofa bed was damaged?
We do hope that you will stay in the future. Unfortunately, there is some disruption whilst renovations are taking place in the foyer but we have been working extremely hard to make the property absolutely gorgeous. As you say, the location is second to none.
We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spent three nights at the Punthill Flinders Lane and for the cost, it was a great place to stay. Location was superb - close to Flinders Street Station and all the laneways which lead to Bourke Street and the main shopping area.
The renovations to the foyer are nearly there - the floor tiles were going down and once it is completed it will be great. The staff (and workmen) are well aware of the situation and are very helpful with bags etc when checking in and out.
The lifts are old and slow, but are ok.
The room we had was a one bedroom apartment facing Flinders Lane. It was noisy at night, but once you got used to the strange noises, it was fine. My daughter had a room on the other side and she didn't notice any noise at all. The apartment had full kitchen, a decent bathroom and was well appointed throughout. The bed was comfortable.
For the price we paid we were very happy and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Flinders Lane if noise at night bothers you.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear flyok,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
This property is definitely in the heart of Melbourne's laneways, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and found the apartments comfortable and the service so helpful and friendly. The tiling in the foyer is now complete.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
192 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#89 of 160 in Melbourne
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
192 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £80 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing