We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment in the heart of Funky Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #61 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Apartment in the heart of Funky Melbourne”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This Hotel has just been renovated , we has a One Bedroom which was very comfortable and had all you need , LCD TV , DVD player and a full kitchen. The Staff went out of their way to make sure we felt at home and nothing was any trouble even when we had problems with our DVD Player in our room and replaced it with a brand new one .

It was a big surprise to us that the Apartment was serviced daily, considering that we were under the impression by the inroom details said not on the weekends.

The great thing about the place is its location , close to Flinders Street Station, Federation Square , Tram Stops and even the free City Circle Tram. Just around the Lane ways lots of funky Cafes and places to eat, plenty of shopping.

Now I know people have complained about the noise , and yes we had a little however in the bedroom with the double glazed glass we slept very well.

All in all a great stay , with great staff and very convient location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    250
    91
    21
    23
See reviews for
127
198
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stay started off unpleasantly when we arrived to find that the hotel had lost our booking for the car. The night manager appeared very irritated to be disturbed when contacted (via the central booking office) to assist. After we were told there was unlikely to be a car park waiting for us, we'd just have to head on down and try. Just a warning to anyone intending to park there - the car park was INCREDIBLY tight, the worst I've experienced - we were lucky we had a very small car.

The rooms were very spacious and clean but the place is not well insulated from noise. Was constantly woken by street sweepers and garbage collectors....A colleague was also staying here for 3 nights. On the second night she found her air conditioning was not working. She was told there was nothing they could do (no offer of another room) and gave her a 20 cm fan to warm up the apartment - not a pleasant experience in the middle of winter....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verdi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights during July, and it would have to be in one of the best locations in Melbourne CBD!! Our apartment window opened up the smells from Degreaves St.....aaahhhhhh perfect 1st thing in the morning. The apartments were a little on the 'cosy' side, but at the same time I still found them good value for money. The staff were very friendly, and the rooms were well set out, we had everything we needed...which was really only a bed to sleep and somewhere to drop our shopping! Would recommend this place and probably stay there again :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_dunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

As this was one of the most popular sports weekends (AFL and F1) of the year, what a great time for our friends to schedule their wedding in the heart of the city! Finding accommodation was tricky but with their help we settled on this place which provided an excellent location for our long-weekend in Melbourne. Location is the best thing this place has going for it. Very handy for access to the local coffee shops, public transport and just a short walk from Federation Square and the river.
The bedroom was small and windows looked across into local the library and offices (accountants in Melbourne knock off early on Fridays!). But a small kitchen with fridge meant we had a place to store water and juice. As we did not have much time to spend in the flat, it worked fine for us. Don't expect any views or a peaceful place to while away a few hours. Punt Hill does what is says on the tin: a good, functional location that comes at a price.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duck4360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffDL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Really? 4 stars people? stairs at the entrance, stairs to get to the elevator - people have suitcases when they check into hotels? - odd rooms, dated decor and very limited amenities make this hotel a real disappointment.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Thats about it. No doorman, no bellhop, no room service, no one at the front desk after 9pm, elevators that do not function without an access card, old fashione non-electronic room keys, uncomfortable furniture, dated tvs and basic rooms make this hotel a real disappointment. Will i return?

No thank you Punt Hill. I do not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This is the second time myself and friends have used these apartments and they have plenty of space, are central for shopping, trams, trains and buses.
Good security also if staying alone. We would certainly stay there agan when we return to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpeapb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I recently had two stays here, one for work where I stayed a studio apartment and another where I stayed with friends in a two bedroom apartment. One thing I didnt know was reception closes at 8pm so will have to annoy the manager when you arrive, if you know you are going to be late maybe let them know cos they had no idea I was coming (booked through work). The studio apartment was extremely roomy and really good value though when I stayed in the two bedroom apartment its not much bigger and the second room was pretty small. Not unbearable but after staying in the studio it wasnt much difference in size. Location though is hard to beat with Degreaves Street literally around the corner and right next to Flinders Station and a short walk to everywhere. Overall I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLMAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
177 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#86 of 160 in Melbourne
382 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing