We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #57 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Great location right in the heart of the CBD, although the entrance to the hotel is easy to miss unless you're looking for it.
Friendly staff and efficient check-in/out.
Stayed in a 2-bedroom unit on the first floor; units don't have any major trimmings but are clean, well-appointed and comfortable. Airconditioning works well and bathrooms have all the requirements. Fully-equipped kitchen comes with all that's needed if you wish to self-cater.
With the building perched between two much taller buildings in the CBD, natural light is not in abundance and the units are a little on the dark side, although with good floorspace, hardly claustrophobic.
Excellent value for money, I'd be likely to stay here again if on a short-stay trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorsportM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    238
    88
    19
    23
See reviews for
121
190
31
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

Awesome location but the rooms were a little disappointing even though the place was recently refurbished. We had a room with very squeaky floors that became very annoying after a while! Their answer was that because it is a heritage building nothin can be done about so be warned!!!
Rooms are also very dark
Location great though!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Things hadn't looked too good initially between booking and staying. At some stage a couple of weeks before we left home, I emailed saying we were booked from the 5th to the 13th of November and requesting a quiet room and asking about internet charges.

I got a fairly helpful reply about quiet rooms and the internet costs, to which I said thank you. The next email said I needed to decide whether I was booking or not as they were fully booked on the 6th. I managed to eventually shut this down, I thought. And then 2 days before we left I got an email telling me I had to confirm that we would be there from the 6th as they were full. I replied with a previous confirmation of booking email and a little consternation!

Anyway, we arrived at about 7pm on a Friday night. We were tired and it had been a longer than necessary trip from the airport. I then had trouble finding the broadband port (why don't hotels in major cities in Australia have wifi?) and then had trouble trying to log on or download the required java applet. The guy from reception came up and helped and took the computer away and brought it back ready to go!!!

The next day, we asked about some slightly bigger juice glasses. The receptionist ran around and found some for us, out of the store cupboard, within about 5 minutes.

A few days later, we booked to go to Robin Williams live at the Rod Laver Arena and needed to print out our tickets. It was no problem to do that at reception either.

The apartment was cute, quiet and very clean. It had everything we needed (except wifi). It was serviced every day if we wanted it done,

It was also very central and we walked almost everywhere. Having stayed in 2 other Melbourne apartment hotels, I'd recommend this one the most! We had a great time and thank you to all the staff who were so helpful and friendly!

It also has a coffee shop in the foyer, for your morning caffeine fix.

As a postscript, I'm sitting in a motel in a hicktown in NZ (a week later) typing this on my laptop, using the FREE motel wifi.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

I only stayed at Punthill Flinders Lane for one night but I thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is smack-bang in the middle of the Melbourne CBD - about 3 mins walk to Federation Square, another 5 or 10 to the major shopping centres in the middle of the city and there are a lot of alleyways filled with restaurants and shops at your doorway.

The reception there is fantastic and very helpful. The room is very spacious and clean and comfortable. I think everything is pretty much new with velvet black and pink highlights on cushions and decor, etc. I booked a one-bedroom and it came with a rather large lounge room and full kitchen with a dining table. The bedroom also has another TV. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. I'm very sound sensitive so I have ear plugs on so the noise wasn't really a problem for me.

I've stayed at The Langham Melbourne a couple of months ago for two nights and apart from the grand entrance, I would pick Punthill over it to stay in. I'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

The two bedroom apartment was really a one bedroom and a partitioned "cupboard-sized" second sleeping area. In this partition, the "wall" doesn't actually go to the ceiling so beware privacy! The floorboards in the building creak at every move so someone next door can walk across the floor and you imagine they are in your room.
The bed was one where we both met in the middle and we didn't sleep well all week. The lifts were dodgy and took us from level 3 to 5 every morning even though we had pressed for Ground floor. Don't try to get Internet here, they charge heavily and even then we had a lot of trouble connecting.
Being a busy family we found the location great, very central to some great restaurants but would definitely get a more up market hotel next time. Would not return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOROBPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Stayed in a 1 bedroom deluxe unit. One queen bedroom with ensuite, single bedroom with adjoining toilet/powder room. Lounge, kitchen etc. Great apartment with everything you need. Location is fabulous. As previous reviews stated yes you do hear some noise from the street ... but what do you expect staying in the heart of the city! Staff friendly and helpful. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedabbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Punt Hill Flinders Lane has a fantastic location in Melbourne. Very convenient to all the sites, transportation and restaurants in the CBD as well as shopping and grocery stores. The apartment was neat and clean and I liked having service each day, although the housekeeping does come too early. The staff was very helpful and friendly, offering a cheerful greeting when we came and went from the lobby. They recommended and printed out google maps for restaurants and helped arrange taxi transport to the airport.

The only downside was the noise at night and in the early AM. Flinders Lane is quite a busy place and it seemed that garbage was picked up every morning; at times I thought there were conversations occurring right inside the apartment due to the thin glassed windows. I think a big improvement would be to replace the windows with double or triple paned glass to cut down on the noise. Another slight downside was that the laundry was in the common hallway, and only one coin operated washer and dryer. This required a bit of planning so you can retrieve your clothes so others can make use of them.

All in all it was a lovely place and a great stay in Melbourne. I would recommend Punt Hill Flinders Lane, especially for its location. Melbourne was my favorite place during our 3 week visit to Australia.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#83 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#54 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#100 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing