We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average apartment, great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #54 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average apartment, great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

The apartment seemed to be extremely old with updated modern furniture to try to overcome the age of the apartment, but there were still signs of wear and tear – let’s say it was rough around the edges. The apartment was a nice size. The furniture was fun and modern. The air conditioning was hard to get adjusted properly and quite loud a night (a sign of aged equipment that is less easily updated than the furniture). The price was reasonable and the location was fantastic, so actually I would stay here again if I couldn’t find something else in that price range. It wasn’t bad, just a little rough around the edges. Oh, and the staff were super friendly and helpful. Although, don’t lock yourself out at night as they don’t have people available after 9pm. A friend traveling with us got locked out because his wife had the key and had to wait for us girls to get back from dinner to let him in – that was a pain, but not really the fault of the apartment management – just need to remember it is not a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWise78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    230
    86
    19
    22
See reviews for
118
183
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Arrived late at night and all was ready for us. Great place to stay with Flinders street Station only two minutes walk away. Great eating just seconds from the front door in Delgraves Street.
9 day stay and enjoyed the location as well as the room which was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

We went to Melbourne to go to the U2 concert and stayed at Punthill Flinders Lane. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were quite small but clean and provided all we needed. The location is fabulous; the alleyways close by felt almost Parisian. We had a fantastic short break here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowtree101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Stayed there for three nights and were both very happy with the location and value for money. Staff were very friendly. Room 411 was very quiet,did not hear any outside noise at all. A couple of minor maintenance issues could have been dealt with but room was clean and we had everything we needed. Squeaky floor outside lift made me think the termites were munching on the floor joists! Daly newspapre at the front desk was appreciated. Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Great location right in the heart of the CBD, although the entrance to the hotel is easy to miss unless you're looking for it.
Friendly staff and efficient check-in/out.
Stayed in a 2-bedroom unit on the first floor; units don't have any major trimmings but are clean, well-appointed and comfortable. Airconditioning works well and bathrooms have all the requirements. Fully-equipped kitchen comes with all that's needed if you wish to self-cater.
With the building perched between two much taller buildings in the CBD, natural light is not in abundance and the units are a little on the dark side, although with good floorspace, hardly claustrophobic.
Excellent value for money, I'd be likely to stay here again if on a short-stay trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorsportM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

Awesome location but the rooms were a little disappointing even though the place was recently refurbished. We had a room with very squeaky floors that became very annoying after a while! Their answer was that because it is a heritage building nothin can be done about so be warned!!!
Rooms are also very dark
Location great though!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LetJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Things hadn't looked too good initially between booking and staying. At some stage a couple of weeks before we left home, I emailed saying we were booked from the 5th to the 13th of November and requesting a quiet room and asking about internet charges.

I got a fairly helpful reply about quiet rooms and the internet costs, to which I said thank you. The next email said I needed to decide whether I was booking or not as they were fully booked on the 6th. I managed to eventually shut this down, I thought. And then 2 days before we left I got an email telling me I had to confirm that we would be there from the 6th as they were full. I replied with a previous confirmation of booking email and a little consternation!

Anyway, we arrived at about 7pm on a Friday night. We were tired and it had been a longer than necessary trip from the airport. I then had trouble finding the broadband port (why don't hotels in major cities in Australia have wifi?) and then had trouble trying to log on or download the required java applet. The guy from reception came up and helped and took the computer away and brought it back ready to go!!!

The next day, we asked about some slightly bigger juice glasses. The receptionist ran around and found some for us, out of the store cupboard, within about 5 minutes.

A few days later, we booked to go to Robin Williams live at the Rod Laver Arena and needed to print out our tickets. It was no problem to do that at reception either.

The apartment was cute, quiet and very clean. It had everything we needed (except wifi). It was serviced every day if we wanted it done,

It was also very central and we walked almost everywhere. Having stayed in 2 other Melbourne apartment hotels, I'd recommend this one the most! We had a great time and thank you to all the staff who were so helpful and friendly!

It also has a coffee shop in the foyer, for your morning caffeine fix.

As a postscript, I'm sitting in a motel in a hicktown in NZ (a week later) typing this on my laptop, using the FREE motel wifi.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princess5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#82 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,301 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing