We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY CONVINIENT LOCATION”
Review of Quest on William

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on William
Ranked #57 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
TASMANIA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“VERY CONVINIENT LOCATION”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful easy check in and out, secure luggage storage with no fee as some hotels are now charging. We had a two bedroom apartment on the fifth floor at the rear looking over a court yard precinct. The apartment was spacious with a good size lounge area, well equipped kitchen and a laundry area. Being at the rear we had no road noise and we could not hear sounds from other apartments, heating was good and A/C quiet.
The location is great, it is the first time we have stayed in this area of Melbourne and found it an easy walk to Victoria Markets, The Mall, Ethihad Stadium and South Bank also tram stops are close also Tourist Tram is only a block away.
As it is more of a business area some of the restaurants and cafes are closed on the weekend, there are still plenty to choose from mostly up side streets or China Town is only a couple of blocks away.
Only negatives small shower cubical[cruise ships showers are bigger] pillows a bit flat and hard,energy saving ceiling lights a bit dim, but no real issues.
We would recommend these apartments to friends also families, groups and business people we will stay here again on our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasmaniaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you James for your recent review of Quest on William. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our property location and facilities perfect . Looking forward to seeing you next time you visit Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    208
    82
    13
    5
See reviews for
175
68
13
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The room was great with everything we needed. So central to everything. Right in the heart of Melbourne that you just walked everywhere or hopped on the tram just outside the hotel. The staff were wonderful. We even had a room service meal which was yummo.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiPartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you Nikki, for your recent stay and review of Quest on William.
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our apartments and our location.
We hope to see you next time you travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you like the space of an apartment and don't need the full services of a hotel, this apartment hotel ticks the boxes.

My one bedroom apartment was well appointed with a big bedroom and bathroom and combined kitchen, dining and lounge.

It was all very comfortable and good quality. Not luxury but good quality.

Value was good and reception staff friendly and helpful.

probably better located for business than pleasure, but that said, its in the city, so everything is relatively close by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK_M_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for your review of Quest on William. I'm so happy to hear you found our rooms perfect for your stay. We look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is a short walk (a couple of blocks) from the Bourke Street mall area and in the other direction a couple of blocks from Spencer Street (Southern Cross Station). So it was quite convenient for our purposes. The room was quite roomy, however the shower cubicle was very small with the shelf intruding into the limited space. There is a small café next door that does breakfast from 7am on weekdays no sure about weekends. A colleague advised that there was free WI FI but there was nothing in the room we had to advise this was the case - best to check.

Room Tip: A room on the higher levels is recommended as there is a little tram noise on the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyS04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and review of Quest on William.
Yes the showers are on the small side - however we are planning a future refurbishment of the kitchens and bathrooms which should rectify any size constraints in these areas.
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your apartment, our service and location.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our family of two teenage boys stayed here for a weekend. We had a two bedroom apartment which overlooked the back of the Supreme court. Our room was very comfortable and clean. It is an older hotel but I have stayed in newer 5 star hotels before and they haven't been as clean. Kitchen is small but had everything in it. I liked the extras such as cheese, biscuits, chocolates, cereals (which you had to pay for but was handy if you arrived with no food). The shower is small, as mentioned in other reviews, but it just makes you appreciate your shower at home! No big deal.
We were 10 minutes walk to Bourke St Mall and also close to Etihad Stadium for the footy. We had dinner at Hardware Lane. Fabulous place. Great atmosphere. We dined at Max's. Lovely food and great service.
Staff at the hotel were very pleasant on the phone and checking in/out.
Would certainly stay here again for the location and cleanliness.

Room Tip: We stayed on a high level looking into a courtyard at the back of the Supreme court. More natural li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location so central . Looking forward to seeing you next time you visit Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I've stayed in a few apartment hotels in Melbourne and I was looking forward to staying in our 2-bedroom, 2 bathroom room at the Quest. The living area was spacious enough and the master bedroom too. The second bedroom was a fairly tight squeeze, but manageable - just. My main disappointment were our showers which were appalling. There was little to no pressure and finding a balance of hot and cold was near impossible. The system in the main bathroom would cut out and my elderly mother had to fill a saucepan of hot water from the kitchen to rinse her hair. In a Melbourne winter this is not a comfortable prospect. To be fair, we reported it and it may have been corrected now but we were all looking forward to coming home to a good hot shower. The air conditioner was also not very effective and could probably be replaced with a newer model. So overall it, unfortunately, wasn't a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilsde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Lilsde, Thankyou for your recent review completed on your stay at Quest on William.

Your feedback is very important to our efforts to continuously improve guest satisfaction: we strive to do the best job we can, and feedback like yours makes it all worthwhile.
I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with me. I have sent your comments to the relevant departments to address the areas for improvement you mentioned.
This is great insight for us to overcome issues at a property level and discuss development strategies with our team.

Thank you again for your feedback. Should you have any questions, or wish to discuss this further please contact me directly.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in room 806 in a 1 bedroom apartment. It was super quiet and had a nice outlook. The location is fantastic, close to all shopping and sporting venues as well as Southbank and Crown Casino. Has a full kitchen, comfortable bed and a bath in the bathroom. Check-in was quick and easy. Had a great weekend, came for the weekend with friends who were in a 2 bed apartment next door from Perth. Has parking if needed as well. These apartments come up for sale occassionally, if I had the money I would definitely think about it. Only negative is that I could not open any window and I'm a bit of a fresh air freak!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you Robyn, for your recent stay and review of Quest on William.
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our apartments and our location.
We hope to see you next time you travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
1,650 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
#40 of 159 in Melbourne
460 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#44 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on William

Property: Quest on William
Address: 172 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on William provides a delightful 4 1/2 star experience, superbly located in the legal and banking heartland of Melbourne. Just minutes away, experiences of a different kind can be found at Melbourne's Crown Casino, Southbank, Etihad Stadium, Queen Victoria Market and The Arts Precinct, all within a short walk or tram ride. These spacious apartments boast many features, including wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities along with separate living and dining areas. There's space to work or entertain, making your stay as pleasant as it is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On William Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing