We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Ranked #9 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great service”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed here in February 2011 for three nights and had a great time at the hotel. Its located well to catch the tourist tram which runs free around the main town centre, its a 5-10 min walk if not to the main shopping street, or alternatively not expensive to catch a taxi to the waterside area or Lygon St for food. The rooms were comfortable, clean and furnished well, the room staff were great, and the reception staff could not do enough to help with any queries. However, the best of all was Brad who was efficient, polite - on arrival our rooms were ready as our flight in was early in the morning, but he offered us the ability to shower and change if we wanted and then immediately produced maps and gave us some options on what and were to go while we were waiting (great advice). My husband wanted to surprise me with a nice meal on my birthday, and Brad came up with some great advice re italian meals (La Camera on the waterfront) and rang and booked for us so we managed to get a room outside (on a busy saturday night - no mean feat!) Then to follow he arrived at our room door with a complimentary bottle of wine in the afternoon to celebrate. We had a lovely evening and the attentive service by him and willingness to help was much appreciated throughout our stay. OUr stay in Melbourne was great and this is a good hotel choice. The jacuzzi pool on the top floor is lovely and big and gives a great view of the city both during the day and night time and the steam room attached is probably the hottest I have ever used!. The gym is small, but we managed to get on all the equipment we needed so I dont think that many people use it. Our friends had breakfast at the hotel and stated it was good and filled them up for the day with lots of choice

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,750
    906
    190
    39
    20
See reviews for
435
1,105
231
765
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

This hotel looks boring from the outside but it's a totally different experience once you step in. The staff are very hospitable and welcoming! We were introduced to the free Wifi right away during check-in. And, there were more than 4 types of newspaper available for guests.

It's very convenient. The tram line is just outside the hotel. QV Market is just 5min walk away, just walk across for a jog at Flagstaff Gardens... it's beautiful! If you'd like to stay in the city but also prefer somewhere quiet, this is definitely it.

Room is very comfortable... they even have a pillow menu available. Amazing!

If you are driving, this hotel has easy access to the airport, to the city, to the suburbs, etc. It's just 10min drive to Toorak, Hawthorn area. The hotel offers valet parking at AUD30 per day, or self park at AUD17. Otherwise, if you return to the hotel after 830pm, just park right in front for free till the next morning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleliew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Well positioned. Nice rooms , especially those overlooking Flagstaff Garfdens. Excellent breakfast, dodgy coffeee machine. Poor service in restaurant in evening but plenty of others in walking distance. Excellent reception staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, England
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This was in a great spot, close to the subway and tram stops, so getting around the city was really easy. It was also easy to walk to the city. We were staying a week, and had our room upgraded and were welcomed with a bottle of excellent quality sparkling wine on the house, which was a lovely gesture. .

Rooms were spacious, beds large and comfortable, and there was enough space to sit and relax in the room. Staff were friendly and helpful, the bar was reasonably priced and decent bar snacks were available through the night. The bar staff and concierge in particular were welcoming and had some good suggestions about the city.

Although this appears to be a hotel that deals with mainly business people, they also had plenty of information for holidaymakers in the reception area. There were good offers for set lunches for those on a fixed budget, that may have been desigened for the businessmen, but were suitable for anyone. All in all a more than decent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swampduckgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Our room was nice but wouldn't recommend the hotel restaurant. Selections were limited and expensive. We attempted to find and walk to another restaarant for dinner but most were closed during the evening hours. We ended up at the hotel for dinner two nights and were not particularly impressed either night. We went around the corner to the Lunch Room for breakfast. It has good food and is less expensive for breakfast..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Pros:
- Opposite the historic Flagstaff Gardens.
- If your room overlooks the gardens, then a great view.
- Service is wonderful.
- With in walking distance of most tourist attractions around the CBD. Melbourne Aquarium was a 20 min walk, Docklands also a 20 min walk, and Melbourne Central Shopping Mall (and Meyers) a 10 min walk.
- Free tourist tram rans right by it.
- Free in room internet (well in our room anyway).
- Rooms were clean and modern. They are also a decent size.

Cons:
- On the edge of North side of the CBD. Not good for walking to sights such as Botanical Gardens, Museum or entertainment venues.
- Is uphill from all the sights if walking.
- Buffett breakfast is limited (but yummy)
- Windows were doubled but the inside one not cleaned properly so there was a white haze on the window.
- No other real food out lets/restaurants nearby not even take away like MacDonalds.

A lovely hotel to stay in the city. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the centre CBD, but close enough to still get around easily. There are some draw backs which may be huge if you are in Melbourne for night life and dining. But they are only minor set backs and you could still easily stay here and do what you need to.

Sight seeing and shopping i pretty easy from this hotel, but if you want to walk to the majority of sights this might not be the hotel for you.

North Melbourne seems to have a lot of business like the court houses, and bank offices. So if your office/business is near by this is a great hotel as everything in that regard is really close.

The staff are really friendly and accommodating of children.

Overall a good hotel which I would recommend for most people.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cap3tt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Decent hotel to do the city tour. At first you need to get your bearings but a short walk away there are plenty of restaurants. The city tour bus also goes past the hotel so you are handy for that.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,473 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
2,961 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
7,868 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#44 of 160 in Melbourne
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Property: Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing