We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Ranked #9 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens. We arrived early in the day we were checking in and were quickly greater by the concierge - Darryl who took our bags and showed us to the front desk. The manager on duty was equally as friendly and surprised us by telling us our room was ready.

Overall, the room itself was quite like any hotel room. The fee for extra bedding for a child is a little excessive (we made do with what was available in the room). Putting a rollaway bed in a standard room would have been quite tight.

The location, practically next door to the Queen Victoria Markets is great if you are looking for a quick and tasty meal. it's a bit of a walk into ChinaTown or toward the SouthGate area of the city. That said, it's only a couple blocks from either the train or the city circle free tram. The inclusion of wifi in the room rate is a definitely bonus, and somewhat unusual to find in Australia.

What makes this hotel stand out is the outstanding service. Darryl, in particular, went out of his way to ensure we were always well taken care of. He always made us feel as though he had all the time in the world to talk and make recommendations. Our son always looked forward to chatting with him about our day, AFL, etc. His recommendations for where to eat and what to do were spot on. He appeared to readily identify with our interests and make recommendations that were sure to meet our needs. His genuine interest and personality makes him a huge asset to this hotel.

We enjoyed our stay at the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens and would definitely recommend this location to friends or family travelling to Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jill,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay & that Daryl was able to assist with various things to see and do whilst visiting Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,706
    901
    190
    39
    19
See reviews for
423
1,093
228
746
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
XENIA
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is quiet, comfortable, and reasonably priced. It is in a good location, with easy access to local transportation and the Queen Victoria market. The hotel staff provide excellent service, and the restaurant is good. I would stay here again if returning to Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Joanne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

It is pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great location, excellent staff, beautiful clean rooms and yummy breakfast. Free tram nearby, Queen Victoria markets 100 metres from hotel, within walking distance to good restaurants, harbour town shopping precinct [outlet stores] just a tram ride away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 458juleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We're pleased to read that you had an enjoyable break in Melbourne.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Clean rooms friendly staff. Central to Melbourne CBD. Next time will bring cossies and exercise clothes to take advantage of rooftop gym and spa. Very inviting. Good experience. The radison was a mystery deal on wotif. I was very happy with result.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Even though it was wet and miserable outside, the reception staff were warm and inviting. Room service was promptand delicious, and the breakfast buffet is great value. The cappucino I had at breakfast was excellent, the barista was exceptional. Check in and checkout was smooth and easy. Great showers in the rooms too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Collin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Collin,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review.

We're pleased to read that you had an excellent stay at the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I booked six rooms for my friends and colleagues during the hari raya season. Wonderful front reception staffs always welcome you with a smile. Rooms spacious n clean n the bathroom is sparkiling white, no sign of stained or dirt. We have a very wonderful stay of 3 nites.

Very nearby to the Queen Victoria Market, just a 5 mins walked away. If u are hunger for some fresh fruits n fresh oysters ,this is the place for you.

Will recommend to friends n all family members, and would definitely come again for my next trip to melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedykl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We're delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back to the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good location -- you're just a few blocks from cafes, shopping, and grocery / drug stores, and near the downtown walk-around areas. I was only a 20 minute stroll from a guy in a giant bunny costume playing electric bass for cash outside a Subway (he even played the riff from "Good Times" on request!!). This hotel also comes blessed with wonderfully helpful and patient staff. They have insider info on how to get the most for your money in terms of your touring and for navigating the city, and they showed amazing resolve and professionalism when bombarded by large groups of loudmouthed guys in turbans, or when assaulted by pushy gangs of Chinese tourists (no offense meant, but the loudmouths were indeed wearing turbans, and the worst offenders themselves did happen to be both pushy AND Chinese -- that's just the way of it). Good hotel -- as long you can figure out how to work the TV remote ...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Nathaniel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, as well as visiting some of the fantastic sites in which Melbourne has to offer.

I hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,414 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,833 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,723 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Property: Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing