We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to get too excited about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We stayed here for just one night. Nothing wrong with the hotel, room was clean, a little small but fine. The staff were helpful, location ok, about a 10 minute walk from the centre of things. Would stay somewhere different if in Melbourne again, hotel just lacked something!

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank LizzyKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,810 - 2,816 of 3,016 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2009

Excellent experience at his hotel! Staff was super nice and extremely helpful. Located conveniently by Queen Victoria Market.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnellLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

The hotel is situated by Flagstaff gardens on the edge of the centre. It is within easy walking distance of the free circular tram that circles the city centre. The rooms are nicely furnished with everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The hotel has a gym and spa with a small roof terrace which was great to use after a day out around town. The staff at the hotel were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Rob the concierge is a wealth of information. The only thing I could think of to be improved would be for the rooms to be services a little earlier. Twice we came back at around 3.30 - 4pm and the rooms hadn't been cleaned yet.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianjm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on way from Sydney to Adelaide. Arranged through Trailfinders. Good location near the Queen Victoria Market, which is a must!! Opposite the Flagstaff Gardens which is pleasant. But as we were only here 2 days, did the 'free' trips on the tram and bus and hopped on and off as necessary! [ near hotel] Having used city buses in many cities to explore, and paid quite considerable sums to view cities, this gem is amazing!! The concierge at the hotel are brill and will arrange or advise you on absolutely everything! Do not feel you need to take taxis or walk your socks off, both the tram and the bus stop at nearly all major sights around the city with easy access points. We hopped off at the Royal Botanical Gardens for 2 hours and just got back on to go into the centre, easy!
The hotel has a restaurant, but we didn't use it [although it apparently was good] as we prefered to go looking for a meal elsewhere.
Didn't use the spa or gym, as we were only there a short time, but generous with 'goodies' [soaps, shampoos, tea, etc] and bedding lovely quality. [have a couple of photos which I shall put on when I get home]

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cariad6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

What a lovely place to stay in Melbourne. It was the little things that made this special. Nice selection of gourmet tea in room, a pillow menu (comfy /contoured/ support etc) and prompt attention from housekeeping staff to extra requests made this a special overnight stay. Staff were polite and well spoken, all the staff spoke English very well, and were very helpful and appeared to really enjoy their job. Rooftop spa gym and steam room has a fantastic view of the Melbourne skline and is open till almost 10 pm. Complimentary papers and shoe shiner in the lobby. Concierge was helpful and attended to our bags in the luggage room unlike what some other reviewer mentioned. Our room was roomier than other city hotel rooms and overlooked the park. Very nice and most comfortable. I would come back here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiesinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

I have stayed at the Radisson now a few times and have had a great experience. I always book a premium room so I can't comment on their standard guest rooms (not sure how different it is).

The staff at the hotel make you feel very welcome when you stay at the hotel. The concierge, in particular, is fabulous and made each morning a breeze when battling to get a taxi. My initial room smelled of cigarette smoke so I was immediately switched to another room without a problem (it is a non-smoking hotel!). The rooms are quiet and roomy with enough room for a side table and comfy chair. The premium rooms are also equipped with a large flat screen TV.

My only gripe about the room are the beds. They really need to be updated/changed. The sagging in the middle is not great on the back. Woke up each morning with a lower back ache. Please Radisson, change the beds!!!

The location is great if you want to be near the Queen Victoria Markets and Flagstaff Gardens. Not so great if you want to be central to the shopping area/new convention center. But for me it's worth the extra 15 min walk to stay at this hotel. Plus you can always hop on the tram which is close by.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucidlilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

A 4 star hotel with 6 star service, from the staff to management and even general manger whom I had the pleasure meeting while our stay.
We operate a small business and were treated like absolute royalty.
The rooms were sparkling clean and plenty of room
Location absolutely fantastic from the beutiful parks across the road, restuarants, buisiness district and sporting venues at a stone throw away it really is the perfect location - it certainly hasnt got the hussle and bussle of the city with its spacious surroundings - might I say a perfect venue for buisiness and pleasure.
Next time I will bringing my Wife and 4 childen to stay when we visit for the annual national junior basketball tournament held every year in Melbourne!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kozak001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
5,693 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 162 in Melbourne
3,285 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,266 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £97 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing